We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know the pros and cons of this place”
Review of The Zuri Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zuri Kumarakom
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Know the pros and cons of this place”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We booked 4 delux cottages and 1 presedential suite with pool for a total of 4 nights in Feb 2012.

Pros: Its a beautifully designed property by the lake and all the cottages are along the man made lagoon of the resort. The staff is polite. The rooms are clean and large. The infinity pool is gorgeous. They provide bicycles for quick movement. The spa is relaxing.

Cons: Food is unappetizing. We craved for good food by the end. Service is extremely slow and at times not given ( i had asked for a knife to cut fruits for my kid which never came). Never got wi-fi in my room. Called for technician 3 times and then gave up when no one showed up. For room service we were served in cheap faded cutlery. when we spoke to the GM in our room he was apologetic and gave us a gorgeous seafood dinner. However the same night the AC in our room conked off at 12am and we had to pack and shift rooms with an infant! There's really nothing to do at the resort except go for a dirty spider infested paddle boat ride...apart from the paid activities they have in Kumarakom in general. Entertainment during dinner is so poor. Sheets were not changed during housekeeping, just re-used even if they were visibly dirty. empty Water bottles were never replaced automatically, we had to keep requesting. ANY service just took FOREVER. At that price we should get the world and more!

OVERALL: NOT A 5 STAR EXPERIENCE. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IF THATS WHAT U R LOOKING FOR.

Room Tip: the presidential suite villa with pool is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFMluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and I’m sure that we will improve these points mentioned. The only substantiated incident was of the air conditioning failure, our team were happy to move you to a presidential pool villa with our apologies.
I also hope you enjoyed the gala dinner that was especially prepared for all in your group, which was complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    367
    104
    40
    33
See reviews for
526
499
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an excellent experience. We arrived a little early and were made very welcome by Neenu (who always greeted us warmly throughout our stay). We were perfectly happy to wander around the beautiful grounds and go for some lunch while we waited for our rooms and we were kept updated as to what was happening.
Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable with a fantastic bathroom. We had a balcony with superb views over the lagoon and gardens. The pool area was attractive and never overcrowded.
However the absolute best thing about the hotel was the hospitality of the staff especially in the restaurant. Joseph and the other chefs we spoke to were very informative about the food as were the rest of the staff, Rinish, Sree, the great Faseela, David, Sebu and all the others. They were exceptionally welcoming and took time to talk about the food and make suggestions about what to try. The food was delicious and the choices many and varied.
Just one little downside was the checkout but I think this was something out of the control of the hotel.
A fantastic stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Always so nice to improve and at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the Zuri in February. It is about a 3 hour drive from Cochin, and located on a large lake in the Kerala backwaters region. The hotel has a bunch of cottages, and also some condos, situated around a man-made lagoon. The best part of the hotel is the pool, the dining room and lobby. The cottage was dark, and in need of updating. The bathroom was fabulous with a rain shower outside as well. The buffet spreads were plentiful and well stocked with a good selection of kerala dishes. They offer a free boat ride on the lake at sunset - but there is no guide or anyone to point out things to you or provide some local color. Also the boat did not have any life jackets, which seems outrageous for a fancy hotel. The hotel felt a bit sleepy, so it was nice with small children. I would book a separate house boat ride, not with the hotel - that was a fabulous experience. I should also mention that the waiters are fantastic - very attentive and interesting to talk to. The spa is fantastic - the exercise room has a sauna, hot tub, etc - free for use and absolutely great. The ayurvedic body massage was okay, I think the person was not very skilled. And it was very expensive. I think overall, the hotel could offer a lot more value for the price. They had the same boring musicians every night - no dancing or other cultural performances even on the weekend. And instead of a happy hour, they had tea in the hot afternoon with 2 types of biscuits and carrot cake. A bit lame.

Room Tip: I would ask for a cottage overlooking the Vembanad Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NG_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The pool rooms at zuri are amazing. Although a bit expensive it's worth the indulgence if you are stinting on other elements in your holiday. This is a luxury one must indulge in just to feel like you are on the sets of an episode of lifestyles of the rich and famous!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josam1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We went there on our honeymoon and the very first moment we entered this amazingly situated property, can't be forgotten!!! Everything was just so beautiful.. i am from a hospitality
background so therefore i can see those small things there, which made our stay simply amazing!!
By chance, there was some issue with our room AC, I spoke to the concerned staff but somehow i was still not satisfied..After an hour so i got a call from FOM, and the good news was that they upgraded our room to a Private pool villa!!!!!!
This was just mind blowing!!

Food was great with classy service!! I am definitely going to stay in ZURI in my next trip to Kerala!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarinderAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and it was superb. We upgraded to a zuri cottage which was well worth it for the incredible outdoor shower alone. The only downside to the zuri is that you're limited to eating in the hotel as there's nothing nearby - so worth getting meals included in your rate as it probably works out more cost effective

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amynmalachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Do not book this hotel! I arrived here at 9:00 and had to wait for 3 hours for our room. The reception staff neenu did not keep us inform at any point of how long the room would take despite several request-her answer was perpetually 10 minutes! In addition to this she refused to give us access to wi fi! My family and I have travelled all over Kerela over the past 2 weeks and this is our last stop. It is unfortunate that our holiday has ended with this hotel!!! The room is a 3 star not 5 star - only redeeming factor is that the view is nice

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natashahur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael s, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
I would like to thank you for your feed back and to clarify a few points.

As you would know from your booking check in time is 2pm (14.00hr) we do our best to accommodate you with your unexpected early arrival, but would have been prudent to advice the hotel of your early arrival.

Wifi can only be connected once you are checked in the hotel. You were offered the free used of the business centre but you declined letting all know in reception.

You were also offered a spa pass which at the time you refused, but later after you had calmed down, you enjoyed with your good feed back

I thank you for your kind comments, about the other aspects of the resort facilities, which you passed on to other members of the resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
3.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.3 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
689 reviews
1.8 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
707 reviews
2.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
334 reviews
2.3 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri Kumarakom

Property: The Zuri Kumarakom
Address: V - 235 Karottukayal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If heaven was a place on earth, it would be on the banks of a breathtaking Vembanad Lake that spreads serenely over 205 square kilometres of picture perfect beauty. And it is. Set in 18 verdant acres on the shores of the Vembanad Lake and just 2 hours from the Cochin International Airport, The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala, Resort & Spa is a five–star deluxe spa resort in Kumarakom, set at the heart of the beautiful Southern state of Kerala–fondly referred to as ‘God’s Own Country’. Standing directly beside the Lake, this Kerala resort offers spacious living–dining rooms, traditional Indian–style bedrooms and individual gardens with private plunge pools.Opened in 2006, The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is the winner of the 2007 and 2008 ‘Best Resort Spa Hotel in India’ title. Home to the largest spa in South India, Maya Spa offers not only western and oriental therapies but also authentic Ayurvedic practices at our resort in Kerala. The distinctive Body Temple, picturesquely situated on an island in the centre of the lagoon, is the perfect location for yoga, meditation or simply quiet contemplation.The Zuri Kumarakom, Kerala Resort & Spa is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic location and world–class amenities. The hotel offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool with water–spouting elephant sculptures and a luxury spa in Kumarakom with Ayurvedic treatments. The Lime Tree, Laguna Bass and Trunk Call Bar serve very good Indian and international cuisine. Experience the heavenly beauty of Kumarakom in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken every sense… to experience pure bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Zuri Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Hotel Kumarakom
Zuri Kumarkom Kumarakom
Radisson Kumarakom
Kumarakom Radisson
The Zuri Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing