We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, Too Short!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elmira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Elmira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here in Fall of 2010 with my husbands parents, and all I can say is wow. What a beautiful home! I pick the B & B we stay at through bbcanada.ca, I had researched this one and viewed all the pictures so I had an idea of the place we were staying. Well let me tell you, the pictures only show half of the beauty. The house was immaculate, our room was more then we could have hoped for. The yard and surrounding area were wonderful, although it was rainy when we were there, we still enjoyed walking the trail and looking at some of the older farm equipment. Mark and Joyce were wonderful hosts. Breakfast by Joyce was delicious, and Mark was very entertaining through breakfast. They recommended we eat at the buffet restaraunt down the road and made the reservations for us, it was incredible. It also had a great gift shop attached. We were staying in the area for the farm show in Woodstock and then shopping in St.Jacobs and found this area to be nice and quiet but close to where we needed to be. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CurtisHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Great hearing from you ! In our busyness we often overlook the beauty of what has been given to us. Thanks for reminding us that we are priviledged to live here. We are truly blessed when we receive reviews such as yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our Bridge group of 8 women friends (ranging in age from 63-77) recently spent two nights at the Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast. We did not have a very good experience; in fact, in 20 years of going to bed & breakfasts twice a year throughout Ontario this was our poorest experience. We had booked the 4 rooms which is what both their internet site and their printed brochure state they have. Imagine our surprise to find that we only had 3 of those rooms plus one in the basement and that there were 2 other rooms with guests in. That didn't start us off well as we know that we talk and laugh a lot for hours and so do not wish to disturb other guests. For that reason we always choose a 4 bedroom B & B. For perspective, I have written a number of reviews on Tripadvisor and this is only the second one that has been negative. Given that background I will outline both the positives and negatives.

The positives - rooms were very clean and nicely appointed and had satellite TV's and ensuites. We were surprised though that rooms were not checked during the day and so used bathroom glasses and towels were not exchanged. This has not been our experience in other B&B's. This would be a nice place to stay as a couple and I imagine that is why the other reviews are glowing. I also believe that it is likely most couples would return from an evening out, settle into their rooms and so do not disturb their hosts. The country setting is lovely and the breakfasts were fine. It is about 10 minutes to St Jacob's so offers a terrific location.

The negatives - unsuitable for groups. We were informed of the "rules" of the B&B after we were given a tour. You must not disturb the hosts as they go to bed in their basement bedroom at 10pm so they endorse a Quiet period that begins at 10pm. The lounges are not available after 10pm as one is outside their bedroom door and the other is directly above their room.. Where is a group of 8 to go after they return from 1. a performance at a local theatre and 2. a dinner in St. Jacob's? We had to resort both nights to congregating in one of the third floor rooms and sitting on the floor. - very unsatisfactory! And to think our group paid a total of $1120 for the privilege! Secondly, we were also informed that someone had the nerve to close a door too loudly at 12:45am and the hosts would appreciate that it didn't happen again! I guess someone at age 77 (or any age) isn't suppose to use the washroom during the night. This was definitely the most inhospitable B & B our group had ever been too over the years. There are many B&B's that we have returned to over and over again - this definitely will not be one of them!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cherpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We, the owners of " Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat " suspect that the one who posted this review, for what ever reason, did so without the groups knowledge. We had not noticed anything from this group that would not be common for people staying at a Bed & Breakfast. In fact, the group appearred to enjoy their stay very much, and the positive remarks written by the group in our guest book stated this. With all the kind remarks and the humour that took place at breakfast, it certainly was a surprise to see the content of their review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I found this B&B on the Internet so I'm always a little worried on what it's going to be like.

It was a great find and we loved it. We took friends of ours that were visiting from England.
The rooms are brilliant as is the food and hosts.

Room Tip: The Heritage and Starlight rooms are both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alsation131965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Your title says "Lovely Place," We say "Lovely People" ! (and I mean you!!) Thanks for bringing your "England Friends" along. Enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Leisure Estates is an amazing getaway in a beautiful location in the town of Elmira. The hosts, Mark and Joyce are so welcoming. Their warm personalities are so wonderful, you will feel like you have known them forever. The incredible breakfast is homemade everyday...Joyce will give you the recipes if you wish! We have stayed here regularly over the past couple of years. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deafcafe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leisureestatesbb, Owner at Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Sometimes it is difficult to remember the faces of previous guests when they call to book another visit, but you "Amazing People" we will always remember! Do not know why this is. Maybe it's the "Bubbly Entrance" you create on arrival. Anyway, love you guys a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat

Address: 1099 Floradale Rd, Elmira, Ontario N3B 2Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Elmira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elmira
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Leisure Estates Bed & Breakfast Retreat Elmira, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing