We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small town entertainment”

King's Wharf Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled within Discovery Harbour on Georgian Bay, the King's Wharf Theatre is a pleasantly rustic, 385-seat venue that offers all the comforts of a modern facility. Flanked by the historic buildings of a 19th-century British naval and military base, the theatre is located at the end of a beautiful boardwalk that looks on to the homeport of replica ships H.M.S. Bee and H.M.S. Tecumseth. A visit to the King's Wharf Theatre takes only 45 minutes from Barrie and Orillia, or just over an hour from Collingwood. While in the area, explore the communities of Penetanguishene and Midland, which offer unique shops and dining establishments. You'll also want to discover such treasures as Ontario's first European Community at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Went to see Peter Pan and thoroughly enjoyed the production. It was very interactive with the audience. Stratford and Shaw should look at these productions. They would be very impressed. I believe that this play can be seen at one of the other Drayton theatres. A should see production.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank poppadoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"million dollar quartet"
in 13 reviews
"toe tapping"
in 5 reviews
"first rate"
in 5 reviews
"no bad seats"
in 5 reviews
"great music"
in 4 reviews
"great play"
in 4 reviews
"high energy"
in 4 reviews
"carl perkins"
in 4 reviews
"opening night"
in 4 reviews
"singing and dancing"
in 3 reviews
"great evening"
in 3 reviews
"standing ovation"
in 3 reviews
"excellent performance"
in 3 reviews
"last night"
in 5 reviews
"great summer"
in 2 reviews
"during intermission"
in 2 reviews
"a real gem"
in 2 reviews
Filter

157 - 161 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was visiting the area for a beach weekend and chose to see the Johnny and June show at King's Wharf. I love local amateur theatre, and wasn't disappointed here. The setting is just gorgeous on the lake in Penetanguishene. The little theatre is lovely. The performance was very decent amateur theatre. If you go expecting a Mirvish or Broadway event you will be disappointed. But if you want a local experience, this is great. The price was a little steep for an amateur production, but at the same time it does cost to put off such a show. Worth the visit for sure.

I also had dinner at Captain Roberts Table next to the theatre, and thoroughly enjoyed a homey dinner.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank lorib900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My Husband and I had the pleasure of seeing the Johnny and June show last night at the Kings Theatre in Penetanguisine.The show was very well done and it was great to be able to hear all the songs from that era of Johnny Cash and June Carter.The Singers were all fantastic as was the band.
We had never been to this theatre before,and wow it is a beautiful spot and a very comfy old theatre.It was nice to be able to get a drink before the show or at the intermission and sit out side and enjoy the spectacular view.
Very enjoyable! But the thing that we were most impressed with was the wonderful young people they had working there!!!!!Every single one of them was professional ,warm and just couldn't have done more in the way of customer service!!!I hope the management of the Kings Theatre recognize what a great assent these young people are to the business !!!!
We thank them for a great night out and will certainly recommend this theatre to our family and friends!
Lynn and Larry

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank 48LynnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Saw Big Band Legends - a great show. Performers were fabulous - loved the music. Well done and very enjoyable.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank ChillyWilly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

King's Wharf Theatre is found on the grounds of Discovery Bay in Penetanguishene. It is a fairly new constructed building with great seating. We managed to get front row centre seats for the same day performance of the "Love List." They even have shuttles taking you from the parking lot to the theatre.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank KathrynJaneway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Wharf Theatre also viewed

 

Been to King's Wharf Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing