We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

King's Wharf Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled within Discovery Harbour on Georgian Bay, the King's Wharf Theatre is a pleasantly rustic, 385-seat venue that offers all the comforts of a modern facility. Flanked by the historic buildings of a 19th-century British naval and military base, the theatre is located at the end of a beautiful boardwalk that looks on to the homeport of replica ships H.M.S. Bee and H.M.S. Tecumseth. A visit to the King's Wharf Theatre takes only 45 minutes from Barrie and Orillia, or just over an hour from Collingwood. While in the area, explore the communities of Penetanguishene and Midland, which offer unique shops and dining establishments. You'll also want to discover such treasures as Ontario's first European Community at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons.
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Best experience my wife and I have had on this town! They put on such a lovely organized performance! Couldn't have dreamed of a better evening and the bartender was lovely!

Thank jomo763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the King's Wharf Theatre. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent experience and look forward to seeing you out in Penetanguishene for another great summer of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment
1-855-DRAYTON (372-9866)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We seen Hilda's Yard on July 5th. Great show, great actors, great comedy. A must see if you are in this area. We have seen many Drayton shows and this is a great one. Thankyou to everyone involved in the show.

Thank Donna77744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the King's Wharf Theatre and Hilda's Yard. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent experience and look forward to seeing you out in Penetanguishene for another great summer of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment
1-855-DRAYTON (372-9866)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This was my first time coming to the King's Wharf Theatre (my two kids had been here before on school field trips.) What a gorgeous spot! It's a heritage building so no parking is allowed right next to the theatre so there is a five or 10 minute walk to it from the parking, however, there is an extended 'golf cart' that does loops and can pick you up from the parking area and take you to the theatre if required. Very handy for my daughter with cerebral palsy and my autistic son and myself. We went to see Aladdin. We were lucky to get seats in row B - A, B and C seats would have been okay for my daughter to manage, but due to the increasingly steep steps going up from that point, it would have been hard for her to cope with the later steps with her braces on her legs. There were three people in wheelchairs and they were able to find space for them at the base of the stairs. The show was really well produced and the cast talented and full of energy. The 'villain' of the piece was especially good. We really enjoyed our time there and will definitely return. Thanks for a great day out.

Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the King's Wharf Theatre. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your recent experience and are glad you found the theatre to be accessible and entertaining! We do our best to make it a positive experience every time you visit. We look forward to seeing you out in Penetanguishene for another great summer of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment
1-855-DRAYTON (372-9866)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I have attended several performances at the King's Wharf and enjoyed them all immensely. The Theatre itself sits on the waterfront and the grounds are beautiful. All the seating is audience friendly. I would highly recommend a visit.

Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thank you for the positive review about the King's Wharf Theatre. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent experience and appreciate your ongoing support. We look forward to seeing you out in Penetanguishene for another great year of live theatre!

Allan Babor
Marketing & Development Associate
Drayton Entertainment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Been three times this summer. Enjoyed all our shows but especially Legends. Location fabulous, on the water. Restaurant on the grounds. Not a bad seat in the house. Looking forward to next years offerings.

Thank Denjo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Marketing & Development Associate at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoy the productions, especially Legends … of Rock ‘n’ Roll, and your experiences at the King’s Wharf Theatre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Wharf Theatre also viewed

Penetanguishene, Ontario
Penetanguishene, Ontario
 
Penetanguishene, Ontario
 

Been to King's Wharf Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing