We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Theatre for Families”

King's Wharf Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled within Discovery Harbour on Georgian Bay, the King's Wharf Theatre is a pleasantly rustic, 385-seat venue that offers all the comforts of a modern facility. Flanked by the historic buildings of a 19th-century British naval and military base, the theatre is located at the end of a beautiful boardwalk that looks on to the homeport of replica ships H.M.S. Bee and H.M.S. Tecumseth. A visit to the King's Wharf Theatre takes only 45 minutes from Barrie and Orillia, or just over an hour from Collingwood. While in the area, explore the communities of Penetanguishene and Midland, which offer unique shops and dining establishments. You'll also want to discover such treasures as Ontario's first European Community at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat was a delight, we wish we'd brought the young grandchildren, they would have loved it!

Thank CarolandGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Best community entertainment for the price. The seating is good and the volunteers are always smiling and making us feel welcome. We keep going back for the shows.

Thank mardus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hello! Thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled you enjoy attending our professional theatre productions at the Kings Wharf Theatre and hope we can entertain you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This theatre is a real gem. I have attended productions there for the last four years and each one has been terrific. I found the theatre to be comfortable and with great views to the stage. Attended Joseph and the Technicolour Dreamcoat this summer, it was excellent. Put this on you to do list, you won't be disappointed!

Thank CLbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are really proud of the quality of theatre we offer and are always thrilled when audiences agree. Thank you for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This is a spectacular venue and a wonderful live theatre.
Set right on Georgian Bay with replicas of old British sailing ships in "Discovery Harbour.
There really are no bad seats in this theatre- the acoustics are really good. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.
As a local, I've been there many times. A real gem.

Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hi Bert, Thank you so much for taking time to review the King's Wharf Theatre. We are thrilled to be a part of the community in Penetanguishene and hope we can entertain you again soon! See you in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Any production by Drayton Festival is outstanding! Kings Wharf is a wonderful venue and our recent visit to see 'Joseph' was a great experience with another fabulous production with outstanding talent. Well done!

Thank mobutton861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonEnt, Public Relations Manager at King's Wharf Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for the five star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Wharf Theatre also viewed

Penetanguishene, Ontario
Penetanguishene, Ontario
 

Been to King's Wharf Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing