We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayview Wildwood Resort
Nearby Hotels
Gold Pine Inn Motel(Gravenhurst)
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinedale Inn(Gravenhurst)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Resort(Orillia)
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone Gate Inn(Orillia)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Motel(Orillia)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
95
80
38
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
80
38
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbayview wildwooddining roomsparrow lakethe cottagesping pongindoor poolget awayhot tubpaddle boardsfriday nightwater trampolinemeal planlight sleeperchildren's programsgeneral storeentire weekenddirty dancing
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just returned from a lovely night at this resort and have mostly positive reviews to report. The moment we walked in we were warmly greeted by the receptionist. She was extremely friendly and helpful. Next we went to our room which I found to be rustic and cozy. It really gave me the true cottage country experience. My only complaint was that our tv only had 3 channels and the internet was down.
We then enjoyed the use of their pool and hot tub and were glad that we had the area to ourselves. We took a peek at the gym and were quite satisfied with their equipment as well
Now for those who complained about the trains passing through- we barely heard them and they were nowhere near the disturbance which they were made out to be. However, we were in one of the cottages facing the lake so your best bet would to request one of these if you're concerned about the noise.
Overall this was a great getaway and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow as theirs are quite uncomfortable
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angieToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for visiting our resort this Fall! We appreciate your positive comments about our staff, cottages and the activities available to you.

We apologize for the TV channel situation - we switched from the TV tower signal to digital recently. We have 16 channels operational now (much better than 2-3!). Our internet service is sometimes a challenge in our location - so sorry that you had a "internet down" time.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

All the best,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

From the front desk check-in to the waterfront/recreation director to the employees in the dining room, Bayview Wildwood's staff sets the tone for a relaxing stay at their rustic Muskoka resort.
This resort is not new, so the rooms are a bit tired in decor and furnishings, but think "cottage" and it all comes into perspective. Spread across several buildings on a large, lakefront property, Bayview Wildwood can accommodate over 200 guests, but is unlikely to feel crowded.
So much to do there on an autumn get-away that we extended our stay by one night. Basketball, table tennis, swimming pool, hot tub, a pontoon boat ride around the lake, an orientation walk with staff and a 2.5 hour hike on a well marked trail on the Canadian Shield broke up our reading and relaxing time.
Many guests were kayaking or canoeing on the calm lake, even in early October.
The buffet breakfast included two types of eggs, potatoes, french toast or pancakes, bacon, sausage, yogurt, many fruits, cereals, breads (even croissants!) juices, and on some days, an omelet station. For lunch, all we needed was a bowl of soup from the takeout menu.
Dinner offered 4 appetizers, 4 entrees and 4 or 5 desserts. There was a new menu each day.
Highlights? Wholewheat raviolli stuffed with mushrooms and on another night, beef tenderloin with sundried tomatoes and blue cheese.
We parked the car on Monday and drove away on Thursday. No need to leave the resort for food or activities.
This was our first visit, and we will likely return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packingandunpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you so much for visiting with us this Fall. We appreciate your comments on our staff service, food and beverage offerings and recreation activities. We hope that the weather cooperated while you were here!

We hope that you will visit us again, perhaps to see what the other seasons offer on Sparrow Lake.

All the best,

Dianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I`m not writing this to focus on the obvious inequities of this "resort complex" because that is so subjective and represents only my personal viewpoint.
However before I move on to my main focus, be advised of the following. (1) You are a captive audience... the nearest choice for alternative dining is a 25 minute drive.. Dinner for 2 which was "excellent by the way", won`t leave you much from a $100 bill, after an appetizer, main course,desert,coffee, tip and taxes. Oh and don`t forget, lunch and breakfast costs as well. (2) The resort is located at the south end of Sparrow Lake which is predominately the leeward end... it is weedy, algae ridden and not very pretty. (3) The tv reception provides 1 channel + a single video feed of old movies from the main office. Apparently the switch from analog to digital still is not completed, even after 10 months of working on it..(the tv`s are so old, they are almost the original RCA`s (4) If you pick an upgraded suite with a fireplace you are provided with 1 paper log... additionals are $4.00 ea...... so come prepared.
(5) The staff is their biggest asset... "kudo`s to them", the waitresses, front desk, chef and kitchen staff work darn hard and are great. (6) The long and large dining room accommodates a lot of people in the only 6-7 pm eating timetable... the ambiance is just a cut above cafeteria dining... no candles , no dimming of the overhead bright pot lights....

I will move on to the main focus of my review....... PETTICOAT JUNCTION ...2011 STYLE

Apparently this is the 4 th generation of this family owned property/resort. Purchased in 1884 by Mr. and Mrs.Thomas Stanton...a few years later, Mr. Stanton in his wisdom, gave some of the property to the railroad to entice visitors to the area and to visit the resort. However in 1955 the railroad station was torn down.
And guess what you have today...... THE "MAIN LINE" FOR CNR`s FREIGHT TRAINS RUNNING ACROSS OUR GREAT NATION FROM COAST TO COAST,,, IN FACT THERE ARE TWO SETS OF TRACKS TO ENABLE FREIGHT TO MOVE IN BOTH DIRECTIONS AT THE SAME TIME.... THESE ARE MONSTER FREIGHTERS... I COUNTED TRAINS WITH 10 POWERED ENGINES IN TANDEM, PULLING APPROX 150 RAIL CARS AND TRAVELING PAST THE RESORT AT ABOUT 80 KMS PER HOUR.
This is no longer the steam powered "Hooterville Cannon Ball Express on it`s journey to the Shady Rest Hotel.
Have you ever heard the noise of 10 engines pulling 150 rail cars with steel wheels on steel rails.... well you will, if you stay there, because some guest lodging buildings are a mere 50 feet from the tracks....... and yes these Monster Freighters run 24hrs... 7 days a week, and frequently. My wife and I had the special experience of having 2 trains cross in the night at 2:30 am ( one heading west and one heading east).... we awoke afraid for our lives... thought the world was coming to an end... If one of those rail cars ever jumped the track it would wipe out the whole resort and everyone with it.
Now the owners have been proactive and no longer does the CNR blow the whistle when approaching the lodge area..... isn`t that just great. ( must have been some special wheeling and dealing done there)... we did notice where the tracks cross the road leading into the property...... drop down protective gates.

IN SUMMARY:
So much for a nice peaceful visit to the southern shield of the Muskokas. Unless you are either totally deaf or a real "Casey Jones" fan.....avoid this place like the plague.
Save up a little more money for your Muskoka getaway and pick a resort that represents what this area is really about. Do your due diligence....... I wish we had.
This resort may not see a 5 th generation of ownership.
It is BWR vs CNR ..... and guess who is going to win....

Room Tip: Don`t go there... period
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank suebill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Thank you for sharing your views on our resort. I am certainly glad that you enjoyed your dinner in our Echo's Dining Lounge and the customer service you received from our staff throughout the resort. We do apologize that your overall resort stay did not provide you with a pleasant experience.

After 25 years of having TV service provided from an antennae, we had to switch over to digital. This process took much longer and was more painful than expected. As such, we had clients, such as yourselves, who were caught "in between" the old and new system. We sincerely apologize for this. We now have the new digital system in place with 16 channels available to our guests.

As the 5th generation Stanton who now operates this resort, I have a true appreciation for my ancestors who gave up their land in the early 1900's to bring tourists to Sparrow Lake by rail. Our small tourist village would not be here and thriving without this decision being made.

Our resort is very fortunate to have a 60% repeat/referral rate due to us providing a resort experience that provides natural beauty, fun activities, lakeside dining and friendly staff. While we cannot change certain facets of our resort, we do continually strive to improve the areas we can affect.

My best regards,

Dianne Hounsome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a nice family friendly resort with great facilities for everyone. As the high season had just ended, service was reduced. The suite we had was sparsely furnished,i.e. in the bedroom there is only one nighttable and one light. Only one person can read in bed. Daily maid service ranges from a 2 minute job one day to proper cleaning depending on the person you get that day.
The ancient TV provides 3 channels (2 from the same network) and a movie. While we do not expect the same as big city hotels, other resorts in the area provide at least a dozen channels.
Dinners ranged from fair to very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovePV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne2338, General Manager at Bayview Wildwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our resort. We are sorry that you had varying levels of service and will definitely look into this issue.

Our resort was caught up in the switch to Digital Only TV Service that came into effect August 31, 2011. Our system is being updated and will have 16 channels by the end of September.

Thank you again and we hope you will return to the resort for another visit.

Dianne Hounsome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

this is the best place in the whole world! all the staff is super nice and fun there is a lot of great activitys to do and when your there you become part of the family. there is great food that everyone will love.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmcardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews