We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price & quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Africa hits the eye and heart - a lifetime experience! We had a warm welcome and a great lodge. The compound is beautiful and a nice place to relax after your game drive. The hotel services you excellent!

Room Tip: Great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Miriam B,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge, the warm welcome and great lodge.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Good room and location for Kruger park. as well as kitchen in unit, hotel restaurant was good. We did a morning drive and also river safari. Probably we would not do the river safari again.

There are more animals further south in the park, we but saw leopard, cobra, many elephants etc

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kuperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Kuperin,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the room, location, the food and the safaris.
Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Enjoyed our stay here very much! Bit to Dutch though ;-)! Great staff, serving everyone with lots of happiness and smiles. At the bar, when you want a beer, order a "Zammalek" (Black Label).

The ranger Donald was also great and helped us a lot with tips for when driving alone through the Kruger Park.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulvand2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear paulvand2017,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming and friendly staff, cheap and excellent food, and a nice location. We stayed there to rest a bit after driving around Kruger, and it was just perfect for that purpose. We enjoyed spa treatments and drinks by the pool.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank petelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Petelars,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the welcoming and friendly staff, cheap and excellent food and the nice location.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again at our lodge.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I was very disappointed with our accommodation at Aha Sefapane Lodge. We were in a small bungalow some way from where we parked our car so carrying our luggage was not easy. There is no room for a bedside table, we had to ask for a kettle, the air conditioner remote did not work and the wireless was poor. Sitting outside in the evening the mosquitoes were a problem as there are two "lakes"which are clearly breeding grounds for mosquitos. For me the real crunch came when I realised that my brother who had also booked in there was in a very nice 8 bed house and he had paid less than me per night!! Won't be back there again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Anne C,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

We pride ourselves on the offering on a high standard of hospitality, safaris, accommodation and cuisine and are therefore disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, let alone exceed them. All of your comments regarding the room, airco, kettle and Wifi are a concern to us and have been address internal. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

On the property we have indeed our dams, which are located between our Safari Houses and Rondavels. Most people enjoy our dams, as it attracts different birds to see during the day. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy them.

Sometimes when we upgrade guests to a bigger room or different roomtype, this is what probably happened to your brother, he got a free upgrade to one of our Safari Houses.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again in future.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Very nice hotel. Comfortable houses, well furnished and maintained. Friendly staff.
Nice swimming pools, good for children. Excellent starting point for safaris and close to wonderful waterfalls and mountain views.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eFFemeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear eFFemeer,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the friendly staff and the comfortable houses.
Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I really didn't care much for this place

Not from the moment of check in (we had a bit of a grumpy lady) till the moment of checkout.

The word 'dated' springs to mind - as well as user unfriendly.

Let's start with the rooms. Our queen bed is two singles stuck together. The headboard is horizontal bamboo with a big enough gap between the slats for the pillow to fall through. There's a fridge and sink - that's nice - but no table or desk. Oh - there are a number of coffee table height tables - but no place to sit down and use a laptop or write a note or eat anything.

The whole place is ageing and needs an upgrade. Tiles are old and worn, the fixtures in the bathroom are the avocado color that was popular in the '70s. The pool is full of leaves (not really their fault, I suppose, but more effort would help). Doors squeak and creak so you wake each other up if you move around at night. The lighting is poor so it's hard to see what you're doing.

The wifi is decent but you get 2 logons which can't be changed. So for 2 of us with laptops and phones that means we each get one. And once you log in with your laptop you can't disconnect and use your phone - you have to call the front desk and have the laptop one removed and a new one created. What a gong show.

The shower maybe used to have a door - not anymore - so water gets everywhere.
It's pretty quiet, though you can hear the road noise quite clearly in the morning. The grounds are pretty.

I don't know what the other accommodation in the area is like so I have nothing to contrast this with but I would try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkfromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear MarkfromtheIsland,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you found the room you stayed in outdated. You will be happy to hear that we started our upgrade of our rondavels this month. As we have 30 rondavels, this process will take a bit of time, but all our Standard Rondavels should be upgraded by end February next year if all goes accordingly. The upgrade also includes adding a desk in every rondavel for guests to use with their laptops.

Regarding our Wifi - we just changed systems and you do need a different logon code per device, which we can create for you. Unfortunately the system doesn't allow you to use 1 code on 2 different devices, but we are able to create more than 1 logon code per guest. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in future.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
33 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
297 reviews
1.2 km away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
1.5 km away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 7 in Phalaborwa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Phalaborwa
92 reviews
7.5 km away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 27 in Phalaborwa
83 reviews
0.2 km away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Phalaborwa
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa (Formerly Sefapane Lodge and Safaris)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range: $165 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing