We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Anniversary trip worth taking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Casper
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Anniversary trip worth taking.”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel stay was all that we had hoped that it would be. They upgraded our room from the Prima to a little larger room overlooking the beach. The room was beautifully appointed and the amenities satisfying. We stayed for 4 nights mostly spending beach time but did take a trip to Manuel Antonio State Park where we had a great guide with good eyes to find the well hidden wildlife. Important to note is that the beach is well cared for and never, ever crowded. In fact we never saw more that 6 people at a time on the beach even though the hotel was full. Recognizing that this was an anniversary trip the staff sent us a nice bottle of wine on the date and when Barry and Fernando, two of the owners, found out that it was our 50th they sent a beautiful flower arrangement to our room. If we were to choose one outstanding feature of the hotel it would have to be the reception and dining staff. They are always accommodating with "Mucho Gusto". If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful spot with great service give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyobill82601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    88
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
126
237
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our first impression of this hotel was not stellar. In fact, I emailed my travel agent , Roxanne at Travel & Transport in Des Mones and let her know we were not happy. As soon as the staff at Alma heard of our displeasure, things began to improve! We found out that the hotel has recently been sold and is in the middle of a transition. We could see that the property has great bones and when just a few renovations are complete, it should be spectacular. There are 20 villas, 11 of which face the ocean. It is worth the extra $$ to get the ocean view. The beach
there is long, wide and nearly deserted. The menu at the restaurant is quite limited, but they assured us they would try to prepare anything we requested. The fish tacos they made for us w/mahi mahi and mango salsa were incredible! The whole red snapper they serve is unbelievable! The grounds of the hotel are landscaped with lush tropical plants and the pavement has beautiful ceramic tiles set in it. One day while we were at the pool a flock of wild scarlet macaws flew over. (There is a macaw refuge close-by). Michael, who runs the beach bar and is sometimes a waiter took such good care of us. We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front villa. I This place is somewhat isolated; if you want to leave the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

When our driver pulled down a dirt road off of the main coastal highway, I was pretty sure he was lost. Nope--at the end of the path, sandwiched between two pastures and hugging a wide, sandy beach, was Alma.

The villas at Alma are well spaced out, and we checked into the most basic one, which was MASSIVE, before they upgraded us due to a broken A/C unit (we would have never noticed this little fact as we didn't even need the A/C...the villa was so open and airy that it felt perfect inside). The next level up, the Beachfront Prima Room, was just a bit bigger with an amazing sectional couch, perfect for sprawling out and reading a book. There were two really nice pools on the ground and a full-service spa, though truth be told, we spent all of our time on the beach: It was just so empty and relaxed that we couldn't resist. We actually didn't leave the property at all during our two-day stay--we just couldn't motivate ourselves to leave!

We ate three meals at the on-site restaurant, and the food was phenomenal--I was not expecting such gourmet fare in Central America. (Everywhere else I've been in the region--Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras--was lacking on the culinary end.) We had the most delightful server who spoke perfect English but communicated with me in Spanish (slow, patient, repeated things if I misunderstood the first time) even though I never told him I spoke the language...it was as if he had a sixth sense! I definitely recommend whatever the catch of the day is, as well as the plantains to start and the dulce de leche for dessert.

Things to know: You definitely need a car or a driver. There's nowhere to walk to nearby if you want to eat out, shop, etc. There are plenty of tours of the surrounding national parks and attractions, however, that will do hotel pick-ups, and instead of renting a car, we had this awesome driver who picked us up and dropped us back off who the hotel arranged for us. The resort is located about 45 minutes south of Carara National Park and about 45 minutes north of Manuel Antonio. When we were there (December 2011), they were just upgrading the WiFi. We stayed in two different villas, and in one the WiFi worked great, and in the other it didn't. We asked for a router, and they brought it to us and the Internet worked great then.

More pictures of our stay at the resort here: http://tinyurl.com/79f9228

More pictures of Playa Esterillos (the beach in front of Alma): http://tinyurl.com/7b45d4s

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krysleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The area is quiet, wide expansive dark beaches and the most people we saw on the beach at any one time may have been 10 which was spread out over a half mile or so. we had the smaller ocean front room which gives you private access to the beach, private patio, all room have a private gate to their room and the beach was only about 25 yards away. After traveling from Arenal to Monteverde to here we were able to truly unwind from all the traveling. The dinners were excellent and the Parga Entero was the best I've had... and I've had some wonderful whole fish asian, mexican and latin style. My husband had the seared ahi and the lomitos gaucho steak which he thoroughly enjoyed. The staff is respectful, nice and fun ... as well as know how to keep their distance. The only thing negative I could say is the jacuzzi needs to be hot, they haven't figured that part out, or we couldn't figure out where to turn on the heat. Other than that the pools were sparkling, the grounds were immaculate, but not presumptuous. We could really unwind and relax. Loved the shower with the glass sliders that opened to a private garden ... wonderful!! It's really designed for privacy. We would return.

Room Tip: Its worth getting the ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpathian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We didn't stay here, but we did eat breakfast there once and dinner on another occasion. The restaurant is great, with a wonderful view under a classy palapa. The decorations are exquisite for a beach-front location as non-commercial as Esterillos. The hotel was impeccibly clean, even the bathrooms, and it looks as if all rooms have an equal view of the ocean through large picture windows. Quite beautiful.

Our breakfast was delicious and relaxing, and the dinner was even better. If ur in or around Esterillos, its worth a stop for a candle-lit ocean view dinner. And a stay in this classy hotel would definitely not disappoint.

Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, all rooms have an equal view. I can't remember, but if the room on the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From5280ToZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this wonderful property over the Christmas and New Years holiday. With so many hotel/resort options in this outdoor activity-oriented country, this place is just right. While not light on the wallet or purse, Alma delivers the kind of experience you imagine of a tropical Pacific setting, done with a touch of elegance and intimacy. Formally Xandari, Rock Resorts took on the management role and it has re-branded "Alma Del Pacifico"-affiliated with the Del Pacifico properties just down the road. With their reputation, I would expect the standards to be pushed even higher.

All single level residences with the exception of a few, face the ocean with a generous lawn area in front of each leading to the palm tree lined black-sand beach. The two pools and spa form a zen garden-like central buffer between the inside units and the beachfront. Imagine a boutque-style Four Seasons approach, with local styling. Perect for couples or families/family gatherings with older (10 and up) children.

The only downside would be-from our perspective-the quality and diversity of dishes related to the output from the kitchen. The food was acceptable, and the service very polished. It's just that the expectations for a resort of this level are set higher than the results. Same goes for the wine list.

Every activity imaginable can be co-ordinated with the very professional staff-from surfing lessons on your beach, deep sea fishing for Marlin, to zip-lining through the tropical forest canopy-all at a moments notice.

Room Tip: Unit numbering begins near the outdoor dining and bar area, so depending on your desires for initmac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpeterman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We where staying in quepos and where looking for a beach to hang out on with our kids for the day. We stayed for the afternoon enjoyed all the facilities and would return again for an overnight lodging looks great! They where ever so accommodating!!! We like beaches at hotels with services , chairs, towels, drinks and more!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashore1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.3 km away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
34.5 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
27.2 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
34.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing