We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Back to Nature Ecotourism
Nearby Hotels
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$20
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$33
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sinabung Resort Hotel(Pondok Brastagi)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Orangutan(Bukit Lawang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
105
22
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
22
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip lineguest housethe rivernational parkan adventureminute walkcold drinksother gueststhomas leaf monkeysbring your own toilet paperstayed here for nightschicken rendanghis guitarnatural materialspeaceful placejungle trekkingmosquito netting
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

No hot shower, No toilet paper, No electricity(sometimes)... No problem!
In this guesthouse, we can get more precious things than anything.
If you are passive, they have nothing.
But if you love nature and try to enjoy yourself, they have everything.
You can enjoy the greatest time in the world.
Of course you can see wild orangutans, long-tail monkeys, various birds.
You can walk and sing together with their staffs.
You can feel safe and comfortable, because the skilled staffs look and protect you at any time.
This was the second visit here. This time as well, all of us had the greatest time here.
Thank you so much for Baike, Bima, Eddie, Fian, Sri, my jungle family.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 弘樹 永
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Our group of 5 stayed here for a night when visiting Bukit Lawang and we loved it. It was a very different experience from anywhere we have ever stayed before and it will be hard to beat it.

We arranged our trip to Bukit Lawang through Rahman of HarimauSumatraTravel.com so we already had jungle trekking, rafting and 3 nights accommodation arranged. We would have loved to stay longer but we had a tight itinerary. We arrived at Back to Nature after an excellent 6-hour trek through the jungle so we were delighted to have beautiful rooms to stay in, a terrace/balcony outside to relax on and soak up the sounds of the jungle and since the lodge is right beside the river, we were able to take a dip right beside our accommodation to cool off.

The lodge is a beautiful wooden structure with only 4 rooms so our group of 5 had the place to ourselves (so don't forget to book on time!). We had a lovely evening drinking coffee, had a fantastic dinner of lots of different platters of food and definitely our best breakfast of our month long trip to Indonesia. (see photos). The staff here are great - they are looking after the lodge, planting a fantastic garden of fruit trees, building more rooms (further away from the lodge so there is no construction noise) and building paths but in the evening when everything is done they like to relax. So we had a great evening singing and playing guitar with them. We also really enjoyed talking to Acha the Indonesian owner (which is more unusual than it should be) who is passionate about protecting the jungle. Eco-lodges need to tell their guests about their environmental policy and ideas and I was really impressed with Acha's ideas and enjoyed our brief conversation. He is extremely passionate about the jungle and full of energy - I loved it! Its also made me really rethink how we do things in the West.

Back to Nature is located in the jungle but on the opposite side of the river from the national park and it is about 40 minutes walk back to Bukit Lawang on a river-side path. It's a very pretty walk during the day but I would not advise it at night. If arriving at night, there are lots of places to stay in the village but definitely make your way out to Back to Nature the next day.

One more thing, do not miss the opportunity to raft back to the village directly from Back to Nature! It was so fun! Why walk when the river is right there?! They pack up the bags really well to make sure they stay dry, it's really safe (the water isn't very deep) and there are life jackets available for kids.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank CatLoblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after a day trek in the jungle as part of a trip organised for us by Rahman at Harimau Sumatra Travel.
The setting is stunning. The guesthouse sits right beside the river and is surrounded by the jungle.
It is a beautifully crafted wooden structure with a lovely dining/Living area and spacious bedrooms (with mosquito nets). Simple western toilet with cold shower off each room.
The house is powered by generator which is turned on in the evening and shut down at midnight.
Great food and great atmosphere with great views of the jungle and river. We enjoyed listening to and eventually joining in with the guitar session in the evening.
The owner is passionate about the jungle and it's value and we had some interesting and thought provoking conversation on deforestation of the jungle for making a paper products and how toilet paper use in western culture has a huge, huge impact. Struck a chord for sure.

Overall, for us this was an absolutely amazing stay. It feels like you are truly back to nature in the jungle, completely immersed in it. Magical.

I definitely recommend it and think it should be a must for at least 1 night on any trip to Bukit Lawang.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim_Bob_Loblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at back to nature. Its about 20 minutes far away from the village and if you reach the place you'll feel the silence and calmness at this place. The guesthouse is in the middle of the jungle and you can relax totally. Take a swim in the river, enjoy the surroundings, maybe go for trekking and see the orang utans, listen to the knowledge of the owner about ecotourism and sustainability, enjoy massages, whatever comes up to your mind.
The stuff is great and the food is delicious. Special thanks to rudi and his wife and to surya.
By the way: there is a new path to the guesthouse, so the access is quite easy, because you don't have to cross the river like years before.
I will return soon to this place again. Just wonderful!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Dohoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We had an awesome time here. Thanks to reviews we knew to expect the 45 minute walk from the town to the lodge. All the hiking and activities start from the town, so you do go back and forth every day and it does require extra travel time. However, we found this worth it. The place is a gem and we happened to have it all to ourselves. Saw monkeys parading down the river each morning and watched tremendous thunderstorms come through each afternoon. Just know what you're getting - it's definitely off by itself. Oh yes and Tara was awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews