We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel in a natural environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Punta Teonoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a natural environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Living in Managua my wife and I spontaneously decided to spend a weekend at Punta Teonoste. Quiet secluded, the hotel is located at a stunningly beautiful bay unspoiled by mankind. All amenities are arranged with great care, and your "Honeymoon Villa" (Oregano) - the closest to the beach - lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    19
    12
    12
See reviews for
35
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just came back from a yoga teacher training at this resort. It was perfect for our group, as it was extremely secluded and had a lot of space for us to spread out.

The villas are amazingly beautiful! I highly recommend sitting in the hammock and taking an afternoon siesta. The food was great and they were always very accommodating with all our special requests.

One disturbing thing I did see, would be sea turtles nesting their eggs on the beach, and whoever sees that turtle first gets to take her eggs, so a lot of locals scope out all the beaches and claim a scary large amount of turtle eggs. The hotel has no say in this, so if you see this happening, you may be able to buy the eggs off the poacher. I'd highly recommend you do buy the eggs, and if you do, give them to the security guard or hotel staff, as they have a safe place to hatch the eggs and will release them into the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missalicia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Missalicia001,

Thank you for your comments.

It was a pleasure to host the yoga retreat at our resort. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodation. Our restaurant was proud to be able to provide your special diet requests.

We are making big efforts to protect the sea turtle eggs from any depredator. Nowadays, humans are responsible in lager scale for their endangered extinction. Traditionally, locals have eaten the eggs. The new laws of Nicaragua prohibit this practice. However, since the coasts are of free transit to everyone by law, we cannot close the access to the locals, who try to take the eggs. All our staff is committed to the eggs protection. We have also hired special staff to protect the eggs and guarantee their birth in our hatchery. Many of our guests see the problem of protecting the eggs, and decide to “buy” the nest from the locals, when we were not able to arrive first. We do not believe this is the best option, but unfortunately it is the only one left to save the nest.

We want to thank you again for your support, since you have contributed to save more than 100 newborn sea turtles, making a contribution to the wild life of our planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had the privilege of hosting our most intimate yoga teacher training to date at Punta Teonoste in Jan, 2012. The service and food were fantastic, the venue was wonderful and the private beach was a perfect backdrop for sinking into nature. Our group was very well taken care of like family.
The beautiful, warm Pacific Ocean and beach allowed us to experience (5!) sea turtle nestings and a timely hatching of 100+ newborn baby turtles, we couldn't have had a more divinely timed stay for our immersion.
Despite rumors of petty theft, not one single incident or security issues for our 22 day program.
Whether you are planning a long stay like us or an evening of seclusion, Punta Teonoste is a great destination not to be missed in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: All villas all oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Yogisurf,
Thank you very much for your comments!
We feel very pleased you enjoyed hosting your yoga teacher training at our resort.
It sure was a great experience for us too!
We had the opportunity to learn many new things with your visit, and we thank you for all the feedback we received during and after your stay. We highly take into consideration your opinions, and we are committed to give our best in all for the next retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I can't even describe this experience I went throught at this place. I enjoyed being there.Therefore,I strongly advise people to pass by this place & you are gonna like it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Franky23,
Thanks for your comments!
We are happy you enjoyed your staying with us.
We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Like a lot of the other reviews on here, our experience of Punta Teonoste was disappointingly hit and miss.

The beach is stunning, a really beautiful and peaceful setting. The staff are very sweet. The steaks are delicious.

HOWEVER

When we arrived, we were shown to a villa that was full of wasps buzzing around. We complained and they offered to move us to another villa. We went to the beach for an hour whilst they set up the new place. When we went back to collect our bags, the wasps were all dead and all over the bed - see pictures.

The new villa was much larger and very nice. However, there were some dangerous looking naked wires and dodgy electrics - see pictures. Not qhat you would expect from a 4 star resort.

The prices for food and drink, which, because of your isolated location, are your only options, were surprisingly expensive for Nicaragua i.e. $9.50 for a club sandwich. You feel like you're being ripped off everytime you see the menu. We took to having 2 meals a day to keep our costs down!

Also, they may say the menu is over seen by a Parisian chef but the food isn't anything special and apart from the steaks, I don't think it justified the prices. And also there must be a french cooking style called "Le Ping" judging from the microwave sounds coming from the kitchen.

Overall it's just not up to the standard you'd expect from a 4 star resort: service is slow, a bamboo sunbed snapped when I tried to change the angle, there's no hot water in those outdoor showers, the mosquito nets had holes in / didn't cover the beds completely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gin_barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Traveler,
We feel sorry we did not match your 4 star resort expectation.
As you know, our resort is located in the middle of the wild nature, isolated from large populations. The nearest village, El Astillero, with only over 1,000 inhabitants is about 6 miles from the resort. We believe the beauty of our location is to be integrated within the nature. Therefore, some of the villas we offer are very open to the outdoors, which was the case of the first villa we had ready for your arrival. Because of the wasps´ problems, we moved you to another villa more protected from the outdoors with mosquito nets on the windows.
About the loose wires, we really do not understand what happened… As a responsible hotel, we are inspected once a year by the local Fire Department, in order to have all our permits in order. We do thank you for you collaboration with the pictures. Our restaurant prices are higher than typical Nicaraguan restaurants. We do worry about keeping high quality and top local natural and some high quality imported ingredients. However, are prices are far lower than 4 star resorts worldwide. I can assure you that the delicious stakes you tried are NOT prepared in the microwave…We do have a small oven to warm bread, which is served warm and crispy at the tables all the time, while clients wait for their meals.
We regret you were not able to enjoy and discover the pure natural beauty of our resort. We regret even stronger you were so disappointed in your trip in Nicaragua, reading from all other reports you wrote in Trip Advisor about all other places you stayed during your trip. Nicaragua is a true gem still to be discovered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

6 of my Friends and I spent a few days here over new years eve. The hotel itself is ok. The private beach is nice. The food is not the best. But the resort has armed guards for a reason. There is a small village just outside the hotel that is extremely poor and desperate. While traveling to the resort a group of individuals attempted to rob us with guns. We were able to get away barely. We called the police who did not come at all. We spoke to the resort manager the next day who informed us that this has happened before and guests have even been shot at. While the resort was decent, there are much better get-a-ways in much safer areas. Additionally at check out they tried to slam us with several extra fees equalling more than our entire bill! I will never go here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear traveler,

It is always a great pleasure for us to welcome any guest and provide the best possible service at Hotel Punta Teonoste.

Our hotel has a great location right in front a splendid beach, where all areas are completely open, with no fences or walls closing the access in all surrounding the property. This applies to the beach, to the woods, and to the road on one side of the property. We the staff at Punta Teonoste, who live in this beautiful property all year round, do not feel it has been necessary to build walls or barriers because we feel perfectly safe here.

The Hotel has been over 14 years operating under the same management, and we can confirm that it has never been any incident of any kind with any of our guests nor the personnel working here.

International Police records show that our country is the safest in the region, with the lowest indexes of crime in any category.

It is well true that the hotel has a security operation that involves guards 24 hours a day. We find this to be the best security service we can provide our guests, since it is very common that they leave the door of their villa unlocked, and often sunglasses, ipods and cameras outside on the terrace unattended. As we said before, there is free access form the beach to the resort, and there are often locals who walk by. On the other hand, we feel very satisfied with providing jobs to the communities surrounding the Hotel, and that all security guards who work at the Hotel are local labor. It helps our customers to feel free to walk around the beach, trails and the property any time of the day or night. Our 24 hours staff is very happy to provide security and assistance of any kind.

Our security uses only hunting firearms, which are registered and are continuously inspected by the national police.

About the charges: The Hotel never makes charge to any guest that has not previously been approved and confirmed before leaving the hotel. For this very reason, our guests are always presented, with no exception, with their consumption voucher for signature while their stay, and asked to perform a formal check out. It took us by surprise to find out in the early morning that our guests had left the hotel with no notice. As part of our hotel policies we inform our guests that room visits are not allowed. All people staying in the hotel must be registered. We understand that this may cause some inconveniences for some of our guests, even if it will be for their own safety.

The Hotel has been a true pioneer in the region, giving new carrier opportunities to many people in the communities, who had formerly been engaged in more traditional activities such as fishing, farming and hunting. Our communities in Nicaragua may appear relatively poor, but we encourage a direct contact with the people, because we believe this the best way to discover how captivating it can be to live very happy with just covering the basic needs of life. It is true that country has suffered many natural disasters, and civil wars in the past, but we are very happy that we find ourselves now in a recovery stage. Locals are humble and gentle people who are very happy and courteous with all the tourists who visit their communities.

We hope your next visit to Nicaragua or Central America will be a better experience, such as the ones that have lived all our other guests who have visited us before and after you.

We wish you a happy day.

Hotel Punta Teonoste Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

My husband and i enjoyed our stay here. It started out a little odd, we had set up a transfer to the hotel from airport and the Marlon was there to pick us up, but we had been expecting a different vehicle. But they had car trouble of sorts and the the Chef Janine's husband I believe Francious (not sure on the spelling) was so sweet to drive to pick us up in his personal vehicle. It was nice to be able to spend the time getting to know him, Marlon and Janine in the almost 3 hour drive, however the only air was from the windows being down but we did stop for some much needed water which was nice. Because of the inconvience they did not change for the transfer.
The food we enjoyed, breakfast was wonderful, and our favorite thing on the dinner menu had to be the beef with onions, very large portion and great flavor. I very much enjoyed the tuna salad also. However the prices were a bit pricy. During lunchtime we decided to go into town, to Quasacate (sp?) and there was a wonderful little resturant, and Raquel drove us into town and she was so much fun, Loved her.
The beach and surroundings were wonderful, did the hiking trail and watched the sunset ver beautiful. Enjoyed all the little hermit crabs and sealife around, loved getting to release baby sea turtles.
Also loved the hut, the bed a bit uncomfortable, and loved the the bathroom definately interesting, made me feel in tune with nature, came back home calling it the patio bathroom and wanted one at my house LOL. We did however have some difficulty with the mosquito net but were able to get it to work well by our last night.
Overall definately a must do, Staff were all wonderful. would love to come back again sometime, Hopefully a softer mattress would be available in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaTeonoste, Gerente at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thanks a lot for your comments.
We apologize once again for the transportation inconvenience. We regularly offer transportation in our Toyota Prado 4x4 with A/C, but as you mentioned, we had an unexpected problem.
We feel pleased you enjoyed our food. Our restaurant prices are higher than the average in Nicaragua, but we use only the best possible ingredients in order to offer the best possible food. This includes the use of only fresh ingredients when possible, and best quality imported products for the preparation. As you mentioned in your report, it takes about 3 hours to come Managua, where we must bring most of the restaurant products from. This makes extra costs.
Our villas are equipped with orthopedic matrasses, which truly are a bit stiff. Some of our guests prefer this kind of beds, however, we are sorry you did not enjoy it so much. We will take your comment into account for future matrasses changes. Thanks again!
Punta Teonoste Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
17.2 km away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
16.4 km away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
31.9 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
35.0 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
34.8 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Teonoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Teonoste

Property: Hotel Punta Teonoste
Address: Del puente de Salinas 6 km hacia el Astillero, Tola 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Punta Teonoste 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Punta Teonoste. We created a place in which to reconnect with the pure energy of the elements, in a setting of incredible natural beauty. It's our desire to make you indulge into the luxury of an unspoilt surrounding, to see you enjoy our stylish yet cozy atmosphere, the delicious food and the various activities. At the end of your stay we want you to leave with a relaxed smile on your face and a heart full of unforgettable moments. Nicaragua is a year-around destination. All seasons are great for diving and surfing or exploring land and culture. While the months from December to May are completely dry, the months from June to November can produce the typical tropical rain showers which makes the surroundings lush and green. A setting of rock formations, small bushes and trees as well as the ocean promote the significant life forces of nature's energy and welcome you to enjoy your stay with all senses. Punta Teonoste is intimate and relaxed, offering an emotionally intelligent approach to service that begins with empathy. The responsible and caring attitude of Punta Teonoste is the key to an unobtrusive yet attentive service that makes guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Punta Teonoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge And Beach Spa
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Hotel Tola
Hotel Punta Teonoste Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing