We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest out at the farm”
Review of Ukholo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ukholo Lodge
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Rest out at the farm”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My family and I visited the Ukholo Lodge when our son was a few months old. It was really peaceful and a perfect getaway to recharge as a family. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we returned with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday and again a few months later with 5 other couples as a "family retreat". The lodge offers not only beautifully decorated rooms and stunning scenery, but it is also a safe place where children can play and it is really family-friendly. The owner Eddie is great company and hosted us so well. We will definitely return many more times in future. It's one of our favourite get-out-of-town destinations!

Room Tip: The "Love" room is really spacious and has a great view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindydeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We found it very difficult to find accommodation that was pet friendly - some were advertised as such, but were unwelcoming when we enquired about bringing our pets along. Ukholo Lodge was very helpful & accommodating to us & to our pets! It was also lovely to spend days swimming & lazing next to the Olifants River. Thank you Edmund for a lovely stay. Mark, Dee & the three dogs

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The first thing that hits you is the amazing smell of the orange blossoms - the second thing that hits you is the wonderful hospitality! The rooms are gorgeous but I think it's the fact that the lodge just instantly feels like family, a home away from home. We sat under the stars with a burning camp fire and just enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. I would highly recommend the lodge, and I will certainly be going back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Perfekt situiert um die Cederberge zu erkunden, oberhalb der N7 zwischen Citrusdal und Clanwilliam und nahe Algeria gelegen. Wunderbare, aussichtsreiche Lage umgehen von Zitrusplantagen. Wir wurden herzlich aufgenommen, zum suedafrikanischen Barbecue eingeladen und im Kartenspiel unterrichtet. Hier kann man die Ruhe auf der bluehenden Terasse oder vor dem offenen Kamin im Wohnzimmer finden und trotzdem gesellige Abend ums Lagerfeuer mit Gastgebern und Gaesten verbringen.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharina_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Set amongst an orange plantation, Ben really opened his home to us as we camped in the gorgeous grounds of the lodge. Great facilities with awesome dorms and rooms for those who wanted a bed, we were really made to feel welcome in this home from home. Being winter and really chilly out meant that the roaring fire indoors was a real treat and the cheap, fast internet was a total bonus! Cannot reccomend Ukholo Lodge enough!

Room Tip: Camping facilities are good, warm showers! The rooms and dorms very comfy and large so plenty of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsIvelja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Lovely, simple accommodation - just what we were looking for. Roaring fire inside for the cold evenings and shady lawn space to relax on in the afternoon. Mountain biking nearby. Welcoming owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Lovely place hidden in Orange trees. We pitched our tent there for the night and were warmly welcomed by the owner. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotter_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Citrusdal
0.0 km away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
0.0 km away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
108 reviews
0.0 km away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Citrusdal
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.0 km away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ukholo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukholo Lodge

Property: Ukholo Lodge
Address: N 7, Citrusdal, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ukholo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing