We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the countryside”
Review of Le Mas Jorel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas Jorel
Ranked #1 of 6 Gargas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This wonderful spot was the perfect place to explore the small french villages in the area. The swimming pool was fanastic and a great place to relax. The hosts were super and gave us lots of good information. The accommodation was lovely and the breakfast was superb. What a magic spot in the south of France.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have great views over the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

We highly recommend Le Mas Jorel and would return in a heartbeat. In quick summary- 1) perfect location for touring the Luberon, 2) extremely reasonable rates, and 3) beautiful grounds/gracious hosts/fantastic breakfasts.

Room: Pastel room (5 nights). Located on the 2nd floor, view of courtyard, pool, and rolling countryside. Very large room and bathroom. Comfortable bed with mattress that can be remotely adjusted to different horizontal heights; cozy quilt for cool nights. Spacious hallway closet for storing luggage. Potential negatives, depending on the value you place on these elements: No safe. No shower, although there is a shower nozzle on the bathtub. No A/C. We didn't need A/C in late May. While the room did get quite stuffy when we closed the shutters at 10pm, it was chilly by 7am. Essentially no WiFi in room. If you went into the 2nd floor hallway next to the stairs, you could connect to WiFi and hold your breath as you walked back to the edge of your room, but inevitably connection was lost. There was usually a large congregation of guests in the downstairs common area- not because everyone suddenly wanted to be social (although that eventually became secondary to the effort, which was actually quite nice), but because everyone was in need of WiFi.

B&B amenities: As stated in many other reviews, Marc and Veronique are gracious hosts. Marc is fluent in English and is the emissary for the B&B and surrounding region. Check-in is not until 5pm, but you are greeted with a cold glass of a local sweet white wine once you arrive. Marc also provides a list of restaurant suggestions and a map of the region, which also includes his attraction recommendations, the morning after your arrival. Both were very generous and helpful. He is also a great resource for any other restaurant/attraction/regional questions. Breakfast is outdoors on a patio and it consists of the normal European breakfast fare (bread, cheese, meat, croissants, yogurt, fruit, granola), but every morning also has a special surprise. It may be the special candied fruit from Apt or a wonderful quiche, compliments of Veronique and the 2 resident chickens. The pool house has a refrigerator that guests may use to store food, as well as a wine fridge. If you haven't yet picked up a local wine, Marc has bottles available for purchase on the honor system. There is also a Nespresso machine with pods available for purchase (1 Euro each) on the honor system. Glasses, mugs, plates, silverware, and basic condiments such as oil/vinegar/salt/pepper are also provided in the pool house. Additionally, a washer is located in the pool house (5 euro/load- honor system; bring your own soap) and a laundry line which receives full morning and afternoon sun, is located behind the garden. The grounds are simply beautiful- a grand invitation to forget your car/regional exploration and just sit down in one of the many lounge chairs in the garden or around the pool and relax. Potential negatives (depending on value you place on these elements): Breakfast is somewhat late, not until 9am. Upon your arrival, Marc offers to arrange a very nice dinner for you, he can call and make the reservation. This will be Chez David in Roussillon ($$-$$$). Seems like a nice gesture, but you soon find that every guest is sent here on their first night. Perhaps the better gesture would be to ask guest what type of meal or budget they would prefer and then make a few recommendations within a short radius. I feel low for mentioning or criticizing this, as Marc is most helpful in planning any aspect of your trip, but after 5 days hearing this same evening welcome to new guests (or hearing new guests talking about the restaurant their first morning at breakfast), it seemed more like an arrangement than a nice gesture. Of course, you are free to accept the recommendation or not! That being said, all of his other restaurant recommendations ( a long list of choices in numerous villages and towns) were spot on and very appreciated.

Location: I really felt that Le Mas Jorel was perfectly located for our many day trips throughout the Luberon. And Roussillon is perfect for dinner after the end of a long day- merely 5 minutes down the road. We most enjoyed exploring the smallest villages such as Oppede Le Vieux, Saignon, Caseneuve,and St Saturnin Les Apt. My last recommendation- in regards to the most sought after treasure of Provence- Lavender! Thanks to Marc, we discovered Jean-Claude Guigou, right outside of Apt. Meeting Mr. Guigou and browsing through his inventory was one of the highlights of our trip- I imagine, much better than buying the same products at the lavender museum or the distillery. Ultimately, if you are planning a trip to this region, I do hope you too enjoy a wonderful stay at Le Mas Jorel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moments4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Le Mas Jorel might just be the closest thing to heaven on earth. My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in early June during the last four days of our trip to France. Pulling into the driveway, I instantly knew that our stay would be wonderful. As soon as we got out of the car, Marc greeted us with a warm "Hello, my friends!" as if we had known him for years. After Marc took us on a short tour of the house and property, Veronique prepared welcome cocktails for us, and we sat outside on the terrace, soaking in the view of the mountains.

Marc and Veronique's property is picture perfect—there are countless places to sit, take in the stunning view of the mountains, and breathe in the Luberon air that Peter Mayle made so famous in A Year in Provence. Care to sit inside and admire travel books or magazines about the region? Marc and Veronique have set up a lovely sitting room for guests to enjoy. Want to relax outside and gaze at the mountains? The terrace, just beyond the reading room, fulfills that and more, with its comfortable tables, chairs, and charming fountain. Wish to sit poolside? You can do that, too, while visiting the bar, packed with everything you need to prepare your own meal or pop open the bottle of wine you just bought at the local vineyard. Want to picnic outside and indulge in all your goodies from market day? Go on a walk and find the hidden tables, chairs, and hammocks scattered throughout Marc and Veronique’s 15 hectares of land.

Essentially, though Le Mas Jorel is in the perfect vicinity to explore highlights of the region, you never have to leave this slice of heaven if you don't want to. The entire property is dotted with charming touches and fun antiques, many acquired from the region (L’Isle sur la Sorgue is known for its antique shops). Our room, perfectly deemed the “Chambre Juane” or the "Yellow Room," was lovely, with a gorgeous view of the mountainous landscape. In the morning, the early morning sunlight would stream into our room, signaling that we better wake up soon or miss Veronique's breakfast!

Breakfast was served every morning on the terrace at 9am, and Marc and Veronique sure took care of us and the other guests. Provence specialties, croissants, coffee, tea, yogurt, nuts, cheeses, charcuterie, bread, quiche. . . the list goes on. (Prepare to indulge -- this is not the time or the place to be counting calories. You're in France, after all!) On our first morning, Marc greeted us on the terrace before breakfast with a map of the region and a list of his favorite places to explore, including "secret" and romantic dining spots, look-out points, windmills, ochre footpaths, vineyards, and castles. Thanks to Marc, we not only had full bellies and happy taste buds, but saw some of the loveliest and storybook-like hamlets and villages of the Luberon. (And lots of poppies, cherry trees, and lavender, too!).

All to say, stay at Le Mas Jorel. You simply cannot be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Liz Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Marc and Veronique have created a magnificent experience for visitors to Provence. Each day begins with a breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee, croissants, and Veronique's delicious surprises like a tomato egg tart and homemade fig or cherry preserves. Next, Marc offers advice on the best villages to see on that particular day and suggests restaurants for wherever you might be going. The evening ends back at Le Mas Jorel in the garden where you can play with the cats or sit by the fountain to enjoy the night with a glass of whatever wine you found on your daily adventure. Sunshine brings tomorrow morning into your room again, with a view like a painting to start the new day.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tel Aviv, Israel
1
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Great location, nice crew, unbelievable views. Very friendly people, very recommended. We were 2 couples from Israel and very much enjoyed, the weather was perfect and the places around are wonderful. Very quite place, help us every morning to plan the day.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Everything was OK in this lovely house, including the owners Marc and Veronique.
They were very helpfull in advising us about the nice spots to visit, clean rooms, nice swimmingpool, outstanding breakfast and delicious dinner ( twice a week).
Our group of 8 persons all were excited about this MAS JOREL !

Room Tip: Quiet place, nice panorama from breakfast room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gouweneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Marc and Veronique are as special as the grounds of this wonderful B&B. Marc is very helpful planning day trips and arranging dinners. He is very welcoming and you feel like a guest. The grounds and pool are large and sunny and full of flowers. The location is very quiet and we felt like we were in our own home much of the time. Breakfasts at the big table with the other guests was a great way to start each day. We met people from Germany, Brazil, France, England, and the US. A truly special place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargas
1.7 km away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
585 reviews
14.8 km away
Domaine de Fontenille
11.6 km away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 52 in Gordes
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Le Parfum Des Collines
Le Parfum Des Collines
#1 of 1 in Auribeau
220 reviews
15 km away
La Bastide st Victor
La Bastide st Victor
#1 of 2 in Puyvert
197 reviews
7.6 km away
Les Terrasses du Luberon
Les Terrasses du Luberon
#1 of 15 in Bonnieux
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Jorel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Jorel

Address: Hameau de Tartuguiere, 84400 Gargas, Apt, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Apt > Gargas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gargas
Price Range: $173 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mas Jorel offers an exceptional panoramic view opened up over the Luberon and the mountains of the Vaucluse. You are at the golden triangle of the Luberon, fiew minutes away from Roussillon, Gordes and Bonnieux. Pool 6 x 12 m in the earth of a big garden with fantastic view on the Luberon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Mas Jorel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Jorel Gargas, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing