We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of atmosphere”
Review of Muse

Muse
Reserve with OpenTable
Muse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Wakefield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Perched over the MacLaren falls, our two restaurants offer dramatic views and a true gastronomic experience with menus based on a traditional French and Quebecois style, using local produce with exciting international influences.Muse, our fine dining restaurant, is open daily for breakfast and dinner. On Sundays, enjoy our famous Sunday brunch buffet from 9am-2pm. For something more relaxed, the Heron Room restaurant offers a Wine and Tapas bar alongside a popular bistro menu. The Heron Room and adjoining Bar Lounge is open daily from noon and features live music on Fridays and Saturdays from 7-10pm.Please visit our website for our most up to date menus.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

It is lovely to eat at the Muse in the Wakefield Inn because you can overlook the waterfall as you dine. Music is low, allowing for conversation, and larger parties are in a different room - this was all much appreciated! The room near the falls is attractive and comfortable.
Service was pleasant and efficient.
The food, within the three course meal, was variable. We each enjoyed our starter, presented attractively and delicious - the chevre mousse. The main course was lacking something - more seasoning? something to hold the mushrooms in the ravioli together and add flavour? It was somewhat bland and disappointing. The desserts were also well presented and tasted very good. Both of us enjoyed our wine. I mention the main course because this restaurant is not inexpensive, and this should have been better. The rest of our experience was very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Public Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear OttawaCatLady, Thank you for letting us know about your recent meal at Muse and for your detailed feedback about your menu selections. We strive to ensure that every course exceeds expectations and we regret that your main did not. Your considered comments are much appreciated, and we value your fairness and balance it noting all the elements of your experience which were enjoyed. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review. We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 335 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2017

We were very satisfied with the service. The seating was also good. The food was tasty, but my dessert left a lot to be desired. They advertise Lemon Mousse, but my mousse was as solid as frozen ice cream. I thought mousse was soft!!! One hour after our meal, both my wife and I suffered severe stomach pains. These pains lasted for quite a while and made sleeping very difficult! This was a first for us to both suffer the same thing after a meal. Co-incidence?? I think not! What was in the food? Who knows!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Wonderful place except if you and spouse both get ill right after eating at "The Muse" and are up ALL night with nausea and severe sharp abdominal cramps. And then the next morning after wife wakes up with a severe case of pink-up that was picked up there as well. Not even the smallest token of compensation for an expensive weekend obviously ruined by the food we ate.

    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank T3634WRcharlesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to the restaurant and the first time was a wonderful experience with great food and service. This time however we was severely disappointed on most fronts. My fiancé and I were staying at the Mill for our anniversary and he had proposed earlier that day, he had made reservations at Muse for a wonderful celebratory dinner. We arrived and were seated at one of the worst tables even though the reservations had been made weeks in advance. Off to a bad start, but we aren't ones to complain and weren't going to let that spoil the evening, but it just went down hill from there. We had the three course table d'hôte and ordered a bottle of champagne. The champagne came first and the waiter poured it without letting either one of us taste it. Then did not place it in an ice bucket. We thought he would bring one later and we he didn't we asked for one. He replied, don't worry it doesn't need it and wouldn't bring us one. Very inappropriate for a high end restaurant and an expensive bottle. It was quite warm by the end. We were first served bread. It was good, but we were not offered one piece each. There was a lovely amuse bounce next. Then came the appetizers, we ordered the scallops and tartare. Both were good but the portion of the scallops was very tiny, but can be expected in a French restaurant. For the main course I had the vegetarian ravioli and my fiancé had the seafood. His was good with a good portion but was quite spicy and was not advertised as such. He could handle it but I could eat more than a bite. My ravioli was disappointing. It tasted like cardboard and the whole dish was three medium sized pieces. Dessert was also lacking. I had the chocolate dessert with was not very chocolately and had a layer of something quite tarte that did not go well at all. I left not being full. At the end of the meal we were not offered coffee or tea eve though it came with the meal. Throughout this the server, who's name I don't know because he never introduced himself, was absent and aloof. We had to pour our own champagne and were rarely check in on. Twice when he did come he reeked of cigarette smoke. He has clearly just come back from a smoke break as paid so regard to stand away from the smoke or wash his hands. It was quite disgusting and literally left a bad taste in your mouth. This is supposed to be a well reviews and high end restaurant. What a disappointing end to what was a lovely day. We will never be returning or recommending this to any friends. If you're staying at the Mill I would makes plans for dinner elsewhere.

3  Thank Harrison0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Public Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Dear Harrison, We very much appreciate your more favorable review of your overall stay left on the hotel's main TA page, and we appreciate the detail and time your took in leaving these comments for Muse. We truly regret the service your received, which was absolutely not our standard, and your comments have been forwarded to the maitre d' and head chef for review with their staff. We will be making every effort to reach out to you privately, if you have not already heard from us. Again, our sincerest regrets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

The food was ok, the service was ok, The view was the best part. No complaints about the experience, nothing stood out either.

Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoulinWakefieldMill, Public Relations Manager at Muse, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Dear Eva, We appreciate the time you took to leave your review, and while we are grateful you enjoyed the view, service and cuisine, we will make every effort to improve upon it so that, with our sincere hopes, your next visit will earn another star or two. Our goal is to always stand out. Wishing you continued great dining experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse also viewed

Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
Wakefield, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing