We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
29
22
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
22
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel on our tandem. When we checked in and securely stowed our bike we were given a laundry basket to our all our dirty washing in and it was laundered free of charge by the owner. A real bonus. The room was clean and comfy and the hotel was in a good location.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helenstansfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked three rooms at the Hotel de la Gare for myself and three friends as a stopover on a cycling tour from Bordeaux to Calais. We found the hotel to be immaculate and the hosts exceptionally welcoming. We were immediately offered safe storage for our precious bikes in the owners garage before being given our room keys. To our amazement, we were also asked if we would like any laundry doing by the hostess, free of charge! Travelling light, we willingly took up this offer and were given fresh cycling clothes the next morning. We took a drink on the patio overlooking the train station, which is a surprisingly pleasant location (the station is very quiet and decorated in an art-deco style). We then found a local restaurant at the hosts' recommendation. The rooms were immaculately presented, being newly decorated, and the beds were very comfortable and the showers worked excellently. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel and service and would definitely return. Thouars is also a beautiful town worthy of exploration.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Owners very welcoming, Room very clean, bathroom very clean, excellent shower. Bed very comfortable. Tv had an english news channel. The breakfast was well worth getting, as the cafes in the town can open and shut very randomly.
My only reservation was the room was quite small but we just wanted to rest and wash, not hold a public meeting!
All in all, we would definately stay again.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColJanWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed twice since my last review, most recently last week. As others have noted, the public spaces and several bedrooms have been renovated very tastefully (we were told that more will be done by next year). We stayed in one of the renovated rooms which was extremely comfortable with a very nice bathroom and separate toilet. Prices have risen a little and you now pay extra for breakfast - though it is well worth it in my opinion - but even so it is very good value for money. The owners are charming, welcoming us like friends, though we have only ever stayed for one night at a time. The final cap was a present of M Galas' homemade jams when we left. I am sure a fourth visit will occur.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked more than a week in advance and had our reservation confirmed by Logis de France. Two days before our arrival Mr Galas, owner or manager of this hotel, e-mailed me to say our booking was cancelled. No explanation given. He offered to reserve us a room in another hotel in the town. I asked him to do so but had to make sure of a room by booking it myself through the Logis de France website as that hotel was closed that day (unfortunately all too common in France even during the high season) This man seems to have a history of cancelling bookings -see another review from a French traveller. Avoid!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews