We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week in Normandy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Welcome to the Coachhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Coachhouse
living area (3 sofas) Dining/Kitchen area - doors to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Welcome to the Coachhouse
living area (3 sofas)
Dining/Kitchen area - doors to garden
Master bedroom
View of church from master bedroom
St Aubin, Christmas 2102
Young guest and Derek in conversation
Another young guest getting down with Thelly
A guest enjoying the wild life
Our local town of Orbec
One of our fly fishing beats
Guest and Risle brown trout
guests at lunch in Trouville
From harbour side ...
..... to plate
Guests walking off lunch on Trouville boardwalk
Aerial of Trouville
Honfleur
Champs de Bataille golf course
Trouville beach
Trouville harbour
Etretat golf course
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Saint-Aubin-de-Bonneval, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris H
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful week in Normandy”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was our first trip to Normandy. The main purpose of our trip was to fly fish some of the rivers in Lower Normandy, visit the historic Normandy beaches and to relax. We had a terrific time doing all three. The Normandy invasion beaches are about an hour and a half away, so we visited them prior to arriving at the Coach House. The Coach House was exactly what we expected. A terrific personal lodging in a quaint, quiet village. We felt that it was our own Normandy home for the week. Our host, Kadi, whose house is right next to the Coach House saw that we had everything we needed for our stay, including fresh eggs and a bottle of wine upon our arrival. The Coach House has a nice yard behind it, with a patio; very conducive to a late dinner, a bottle of wine and star gazing at night. The location is close to local fishing, beautiful Normandy villages, beautiful countryside and fun local markets. Kadi had arranged for us to fish with Jacky, the president of a local fly fishing club. He was one of the most personable, knowledgeable guides we have met. He even went so far as to invite us to his house for a barbecue one evening. We felt very much at home the entire week and it passed much too quickly. We would definitely recommend this locale and rental for a relaxing get away, whether you are interested in fishing, or just disconnecting from the world for a while.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kadi, the owner, was very welcoming and of great assist in helping us with our daily activities in the area. The nice backyard. Location was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Peaceful, glorious, relaxing in comfort”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had an OUTSTANDINGLY brilliant time here - we stayed for 2 weeks during the summer (just 2 of us) . The coachouse is kitted out perfectly with several comfy sofas, great open plan kitchen and huge bed in the master bedroom which has a beuatiful vaulted ceiling, 3 other bedrooms all well furnished. 2 shower rooms, very handy! The garden is enclosed and is a good size. We ate outside a lot and used the BBQ to cook up various meats we found in the local markets. The garden has lots of roses and lavender which look pretty. The owners also put a big jug of hydrangeas (and a bottle of wine - THANKS!) in the property just before we arrived, which stayed in bloom throughout our stay. Property is very clean and tidy and everything is in good order. The coachouse comes with a parking space just outside the door, which is a bonus and very convenient.

St Aubin is small and quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for. The donkey and the pony in the field next to the garden provided an ample source of amusement for us, and we were often persuaded into handing over 'just one more carrot' !! Other than that the only other passing amusment is the odd local villager wandering past. There is only a very small TV in the coachouse, and it only plays DVDs, you can't get any TV signal. This didn't bother us ONE BIT, as we came loaded with books to read and plenty of conversation to catch up on which we somehow fail to do enough of when we're back home - but thought it should probably be mentioned in case it's a disappointment for anyone else.

The local town of Orbec was more than we could have hoped for. it's JUST the right size to provide everything you want on this kind of holiday - 2 supermarkets, a local farmers market weekly and several REALLY good local restaurants, plus an lovely Italian restaurant and several local bars which also serve food. In addition to this, there are several villages within 10 minutes drive which also have excellent restaurants. WE ATE WELL on this holiday - and we're foodies, so finding good restaurants is one of our priorities on a holiday - we weren't diappointed!

We visited Monet's house at Giverny (2 hours drive) which I can recommend as one of the most beautiful, peaceful and inspiring places I have ever visited. We also visited Versailles (just over 2 hours drive) which was also impressive in a very different way. LOTS of lovely local towns and villages to explore.

Owners live next door + are very friendly and helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilly L
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Family Holiday in Normandy”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked our stay at the Coach House for an extended family holiday. The Coach House was a perfect place to stay - peaceful, tranquil and comfortable. The area downstairs was lovely and roomy - plenty of space for us all to hang out in. And we loved the outside area too - again, lots of room for us and the little ones to run around! The highlight for the kids were Derek and Thelly (the donkey and Shetland pony), who were incredibly sweet and just a little bit fond of carrots!

The location of the Coach House is great. We spent all week visiting local towns and villages, and had lots of fun at the local markets which owners Kadi and Kim had recommended. The local countryside is really pretty and one of our favourite afternoons was spent splashing in a stream only 10 minutes away

We would definitely recommend staying here, and hope to return another time soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living area and outside space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coach House”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Coach House is well equiped and a comfortable place to stay, Idealy situated for exploring Normady.Within easy reach of the coastal towns of Honfleur and Trueville a seafood lovers paradice. Can highly recommend" Le Vapeur" in Trueville.
Closer is the town of Orbec which has several Super Markets Bars, and Resturaunts.
A highly recommened place to spend your holiday In Normandy.
Don'y forget to take some carrots for Derrick the Donkey and Thelly the Shetland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: Goihg hone
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing