We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COMO Cocoa Island
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Biyadhoo Island Resort(Biyaadhoo Island)
US$209
US$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Raakani Villas(Guraidhoo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kaafu Inn Guraidhoo(Guraidhoo)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Kaani Grand Seaview(Maafushi Town)
US$95
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$984
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fun Island Resort(Bodufinolhu Island)
US$156
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort(Dhigufinolhu Island)
US$537
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Naladhu Private Island Maldives(Naladhu Island)
US$984
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,383)
Filter reviews
1,383 results
Traveller rating
1,280
76
22
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
76
22
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villaour honeymoonfishmarine lifethe general manageroutdoor showersunset cruiseginger teahuge bathroomlow tideprivate jettyunderstated luxurysmall resortrobinson crusoescuba divingheaven on earthyoga classes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,383 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 7 days at Como Cocoa resort.

We arrived late at night at the airport in Male. We were met by a resort staff member and brought to the transfer speed boat. When we left, resort staff supported us from the resort all the way to the passport control area. They made the entry and exit procedure very easy.

The resort is stunning. We stayed in a loft villa. The villa is beautifully appointed and very practical. It incorporates little luxuries like a Nespresso machine, an inside and outside shower, a beautiful bath, fresh fruit every day and freshly baked biscuits. (The list in no particular order).

All the rooms are on stilts in the lagoon. It was wonderful to see the a vast array of fish swim past our dwelling day and night. To go snorkeling you walk down steps into the lagoon.

We are divers. The dive centre is professional, safety conscious and the staff very well trained. The largest group we dived in was four, with one being the dive master. Your equipment is taken care of, all you have to do is walk to the boat, check that your equipment is ok. Everything else is done for you. After the dive you get water, fresh towels and fruit.

The coral is unfortunately a bit bleached but recovering. The diversity and abundance of fish are wonderful. We also had very good visibility and were fortunate to see eagle rays on almost every dive, green turtles, reef sharks and too many different fish species to recount. The positive impact of banning net fishing is visible.

Now the food
The restaurant is beautiful, the service excellent and the food wonderful. You can even request specific dishes if you want. We had tuna sashimi on a few occasions and it was absolutely stunning. It is caught by local fisherman and as fresh as can be.

We ordered fish and chips for lunch one day and I can honestly say it was the best fish and chips I’ve had in a long time.

The curry dishes, the local fish dishes, most things we tried were stunning.

When we visit the Maldives again, we will certainly stay at Como Cocoa again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay_trip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jay_trip69,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very happy that during each and every interaction with you, we were able to create an everlasting impression- from the arrival, to our Villas, to the dives and of course with our exceptional cuisine. The banning of net fishing is truly tangible when diving or snorkeling, and it sometimes feels that words have spread within the fish-world to seek refuge in these beautiful waters, much to all our benefit and joy.


Dear Jay_trip69, we certainly do hope you re-visit the Maldives and that you stay with us once again. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you in the meantime travel to another destination where you find a COMO Hotel or Resort - happy to assist you at any time.

Best wishes,
Benjamin


Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll,
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have to start by admitting that I just visited this island on my trip to Maldives. Although, I stayed at Guraidhoo island, which was equally good, but this one, truly blew me away.

My family loved it too, and we ended up visiting this place more than our local island as it was pretty close by.

The exotic feel that you get at Cocoa is value for your time.

Plus, when you are on a dolphin cruise or snorkeling through this island, it adds icing to the cake.

Pristine waters, aqua creatures, and the whole essence of just being natural and not even an inch of artificial flavors, adds to the overall experience !!!

Room Tip: Check your best rates on TripAdvisor atleast three months prior to your trip !!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameer7772015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sameer7772015.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are thrilled to have created unforgettable memories for you and your family. Thank you very much for visiting us and we do hope that next time you stay on COMO Cocoa Island to be able to fully experience all there is to our little paradise.

With best wishes,
Benjamin


Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had a glorious romantic vacation at Cocoa Island, on our first trip to the Maldives. The staff was superb, in particular Joy—our butler. The food was consistently excellent, and they catered thoughtfully for a gluten-free diet.

Only thing to be aware of is that the mattresses are quite firm—in keeping with the holistic philosophy of the resort. But we slept perfectly well regardless—perhaps thanks to the gentle waves lapping beneath the villa.

We would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Rob L,

Thank you very much for your review and especially for your kind words about our team, in particular about Joy. He truly is an amazing Ambassador of our COMO Cocoa Island. Personally, I make sure to share your feedback with him.

Thank you as well for your feedback in regards to our mattresses. Those are indeed designed to provide an excellent support for your back, enhance your sleep experience and thus compliment our well-being philosophy tying in perfectly with our daily complimentary Yoga classes. Having shared this, we do have soft toppers available for our guests wishing to sleep less firm. We have made a note for your next stay with us to provide you with one of those.

Dear Rob L, best wishes from paradise and we hope to see you again in a heartbeat.

Kind regards,
Benjamin


Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

A genuinely personal experience. A tiny unspoilt island with great sand, sea and snorkelling. Very relaxed experience and one we would recommend to anyone who likes being chilled, eating great food and seeing wonderful sea-life.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonandAlison650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear SimonandAlison650,

A perfect summery of what it is all about to stay with us on COMO Cocoa Island. Personalized, relaxed and an unforgettable experience to be shared and recommended to everyone.

Thank you very much and please do return for to your "Desert Island dream" once gain.

All the best,
Benjamin


Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We stayed at Cocoa with family/friends and none of us wanted to leave! This place truly is paradise which is kept in pristine condition. I have never been anywhere where the attention to detail, the incredible staff, the food, the facilities, the scenery, the snorkeling was just phenomenal!!

When people say 'above and beyond' Ben and his team were like nothing I have ever come across before. This is 5-star customer service at its best and to boot all done with a genuine smile at all times!

Thanks to all at COMO Cocoa, I can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Having been into all the varying rooms, I can honestly say you can't go wrong with any of them!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Rob926,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We feel blessed to have crated such a wonderful time for your family and friends. Truly has been our pleasure. At COMO Cocoa Island we try to do our utmost each and every day and are proud to excel in so many ways. Thank you very much recognizing our commitment.

Dear Rob926, we also cannot wait to welcome you all back again for much more snorkeling.

Best wishes,
Benjamin

Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews