We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summer Island Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We had our honeymoon there (premium beach villa). It was heavenly. The staff do everything they can to make every wish come true! The sandbankpicknick is not cheap, but the money is definitely worth it. I would like to praise the staff of the Hiya restaurant, especially our waiter Hafiz and the Singapur chef Sandy! They were always very friendly and attentive and the food was always delicious! I can only recommend it to anyone. It's really a dream! The beach, the sea, the room .. just everything perfect! keep it up! :)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Vanessa O,
Thank you so much for your time in reviewing Summer Island. We are very happy to hear that you had a lovely time with us.
We do hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards,
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

23rd February to 6th March
A superb ten night stay on this island in the Male atoll chain. The resort is a class act with the staff being top notch, being polite and attentive to the guests needs and requirements. I stayed in a Superior Beach Bungalow (370) which has a comfortable modern decor and situated in a great position walking out onto the beach and a great cove for snorkelling. The food is buffet style with great choice and excellent quality, a big thanks to the chefs and waiters especially Dhawa. The bars have a relaxed atmosphere and are well served by the staff.
The Spa is very good offering a number of pampering treatments very expertly applied by the lovely ladies who run the Spa. The resort run a boat out to the 'house reef' which sadly has been bleached by El Niño but the marine life is still active. Scuba diving is available but is expensive.
The majority of guests are German then French with Japanese and Russians running joint third, there is a number of British and nationals from Arabia and Malaysia. Most are couples with honeymooners a component although there are family groups but with a small number of children.
Would I go again? Most definitely!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Warren S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time.

We look forward to having you back with us again.

Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Staying on Summer Island is like being in paradise. The island is beautifully kept and the accommodation is top class. We were in a water villa which was amazing, it felt like our own little home on the water for 10 days - perfect! Just by the the water villas and premium bungalows are the Hiya restaurant and Avi bar which are on the water and attached to the water villas by wooden walkways. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic. A special thanks to our friend Zameer who looked after us so well and made us feel so welcome during our stay! All the staff are so friendly and this creates a great atmosphere. We also treated ourselves to a candle-lit dinner on the beach which was an unforgettable experience - the table was beautifully decorated and I can’t think of a more lovely location for a romantic dinner, with the beach for ourselves by the water. We felt so special. Zameer was also waiting on us and he was very kind and attentive, we really appreciated it. We also ate at the Samuga restaurant which is also excellent and the Nevi bar next to it is a great spot to have a drink whilst watching the sunset. Just next to the Nevi bar and Samuga restaurant is the infinity pool which is one of the loveliest pools I’ve ever been in. We did a lot of snorkelling and also diving and there is much to see and do. There are a few great snorkelling spots around the island with some live corals and many beautiful fish. Just snorkelling in the shallow water around the island you can see stingrays, moray eels, octopus, reef sharks, lion fish, we even saw an eagle ray just off the north tip of the island! The diving is great too, the dive guides Arian, Maha and Lukas are excellent and are very careful about diver safety and protecting the environment. There are many great dive sites close by (30-45 minutes boat trip). The diving team also run excursions to sites for snorkelling - we did the turtle snorkelling and manta ray watching which were awesome, especially the manta rays where at one point we had 8 circling around us in the shallow water at the snorkelling spot!
Thank you so much to all the staff and Summer Island and the Diverland team for making our stay so unforgettable!

The only negative things I can say are about diving pricing and general lack of safety information:

In regard to the diving pricing, the diving is expensive if you’re used to diving in Europe and you have to pay extra for the boat trips and for equipment hire, including dive computer which is mandatory. As we didn’t have our own equipment this meant that we ended up paying around $100 per dive, which seems very overpriced. Having said that, the team were great and it was an awesome experience!

In regard to general safety, on the first day I fell down the steps of the water villa and into the water as the bottom few steps are covered with algae and are extremely slippery. I didn’t hurt myself and after that I came down the steps really slowly and carefully every time and it was fine. I think though that it would be good to put a notice warning of possible danger. Also the sea is not always calm and there are often strong currents around the water villas. Sometimes it was pretty tough to swim back at high tide with the current pulling you out to sea. I was surprised there was no safety information on this or a safety briefing of some sort to warn of the possible dangers. There is a flag at the end of the jetty signalling the danger level, but there was no information given about this and we learnt about it only 2 days before our departure. It seems strange that the Diverland team who organises dives and snorkelling trips are so careful about advising on safety, but the hotel doesn’t seem to care about even providing basic safety information. Although this did not affect our stay at all and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, I thought it was worth mentioning because a safety briefing on arrival and/or a few safety notices could help avoid possible future accidents.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
2  Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Mark,
Thank you so much for your valuable review. We appreciate your honest comments and we will make sure to do more about the safety information in general to all guests. Slippery signs are not being put in the Water Villa stairs as a warning.
We thank you again for visiting us, and very happy to hear that you had a lovely time.
We do look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

It was perfect. I stayed in the superior beach room and I was very pleased with the staff and the place. We had one issue which was quickly clarified. We booked a full board room, the staff said that it includes all meals and beverages but it turns out that it does not include any beverages only water and we had to pay for our drinks which doesn't make any sense. other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear SHStravel,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I apologize for the confusion on the meal plan, and glad that it was sorted out.
Thank you again and hope to have you with us again.
Kind regards
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Summer Island in the Maldives was the most wonderful place we have ever visited.
Relaxed atmosphere with barefoot restaurants, good food & drinks and the most wonderful beaches around the whole island and beautiful reefs for snorkeling.
We saw several reefsharks, mantas, stingrays, moray eels and beautiful fishes in all the colors you can imagine.
We booked a garden villa, but upgraded to a water villa after 5 days, and this was absolutely a wonderful way to live.
We can highly recommend Summer Island for your next holiday, we will for sure return, very soon.
Best regards,
Anita & Jörgen from Sweden

Room Tip: A room close to the water or a water villa is best, there is a generator in the middle of the island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitakurucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear anitakurucz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and very glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay.
We hope to see you again at Summer Island.
Kind regards,
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Everything was perfect !! don't change anything ! Thank you for your hospitaility, your kindness, for all ...
I just come back from this paradise, and my head is still full of the pictures of this atoll, full of memories. Summer island is flawless. My children were very happy and still talk about this trip.
i will be back InchaAllah. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank divafatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Divafatima,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday with us. It was great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time. We do hope to see you again in Summer island.

Kind regards,
Mariya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Good Food, nice beach, perfekt snorkeling with the boats, modern rooms, perfekt service, nice people, a small Island with a Restaurant you can dress down the whole day and a romantic bar.
the meals are tasty and spicy. A really nice place to relax. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ellybis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Ellybis66,

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us. We are glad that you had a good time and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Thank you

Kind regards,
Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ziyaaraifushi Island
36.8 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,842 reviews
11.5 km away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,149 reviews
7.9 km away
smartline Eriyadu
smartline Eriyadu
#1 of 1 in Eriyadu Island
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,799 reviews
39.2 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,334 reviews
33.9 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Island Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Island Maldives

Address: North Male Atoll, 08460 (Formerly Summer Island Village)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Ziyaaraifushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ziyaaraifushi Island
Price Range: $417 - $1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Island Maldives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Island Maldives is a truly beautiful, new 'barefoot' resort owned and managed by people from the Maldives. Truly the perfect Maldivian Barefoot Holiday where Summer Never Ends. A holiday at Summer is really a journey of discovery more than a holiday. Take a seaplane to a fairytale lagoon and walk barefoot on fine sand the colour of icing sugar and feel it tickle your soles. Learn to navigate a coral reef and fulfil your Maldivian adventure with dolphins and turtles. Live in ocean villas suspended over jewelled waters or stay in land villas with sublime ocean views - the choice is yours. Feast on international cuisines touched with a hint of Maldivian flavour and unwind at our over-water spa with our classic offerings to knead your tension away. Discover your destination playground at Summer Island Maldives where Summer Never Ends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Island Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Island Village Hotel North Male Atoll
Summer Island Village Maldives
Summer Island Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing