We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Windsor House(Bergvliet)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
44
22
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
22
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homecape townon arrivalwashing machinecomfortable stayswimming poolascot gardenshout baybarryunitspropertyconstantiafacilitieswaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 77 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We've stayed here several times and as the publicity says it is "home from home". All the apartments are good from the bed sitters to the luxurious apartments. This time we stayed in three different ones as we booked fairly late. Queen, fountain and Africa are all good. Barry and Lesley are wonderful hosts. The location is great with shops and restaurants in walking distance and the peninsular, constantia wine lands and the city within 25 minutes. It is very secure and lots of guests pay repeated visits. We knew 4 couples we had met before. It is not 5-star luxury but very comfortable. If you are staying in the area for several weeks as we did it is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a nice self-contained, self-catering place, this one is great. It felt secure and the road it is in also feels safe. The gardens are well laid out, relaxing and taken good care of.
We stayed in "Fountain" with an impressively well equipped kitchen. I could not have asked for any other utensil or appliance for our 6-day visit.
Mary, who does all the running around for Barry and Leslie, is an absolute gem! Very gentle and sweet and always on the ball.
Whilst all the beds had lovely winter sheets, warm linen and hot water bottles, the air was too cold for an asthmatic, but the only heater available was an outdoor gas heater. We were very grateful to have the use of it, but do feel that something more suitable should be on site for times like this.
The children were desperate to swim in the pool - it looked really inviting ... But alas ... Winter in Cape Town ...
The garage is quite a tight squeeze. Nothing more than a sedan will fit in there.
I didn't see in any of the other rooms / units. The gardens are so well laid out that I don't know exactly how many others were around us even. It's a great set-up!
Thanks for a lovely visit!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Morogoroites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016

We had a large group stay in ASCOT LODGE consisting of adjoining King, Queen & Jack self catering units and it was a wonderful experience. Barry was flexible in accommodating the group size with beds. The large area in King made nightly dinner easy to prepare, serve and eat together. The smaller lounges in the other cottages made it nice for people to have their own space since the weather was a bit chilly. We hired a private driver which made accessing the city a breeze. We have also in the past used public transit from Heathfield Train Station which is a nice trip to the beaches (Surfers' Corner all the way to the access point to Boulder's Beach). It's a little longer to get to the City Center and Waterfront, but a taxi is not too expensive. The nearby Constantia Valley is gorgeous! Even if you don't like wine the estates are beautiful. There were other groups on the property which we hardly heard because of our location. The ease of the private entry made it simple for us to leave early and arrive late without disturbing others. I would highly recommend staying at Ascot Gardens (just don't take my booking!).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2016

A little gem of a place to stay! Really like a home away from home! Great hosts in Barry & Leslie! With no complaints! This is a must as a single traveler or family. My family and I will be using them again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the Ascot Gardens. Location was good for us as I was visiting family in Tokai.
Very clean and nicely furnished in a secure garden location.
Barry was on hand for any questions and to offer assistance with any problems.
I would stay there again on my next visit.
Accommodation was excellent for the price.

Room Tip: all the apartments are ground floor and very spacious. Each with their own garden seating area.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davudsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews