We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, relaxing place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Gardens Self Catering Accommodation
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Some five or six years ago, my wife and I discovered Ascot Gardens and have been returning there each year since, staying for some four or five weeks, each time.

As other reviews of Ascot Gardens have highlighted, the properties are located in a secure, pleasant, thoughtfully chosen and planted, garden village setting. Have stayed in some three different units at Ascot Gardens, all comfortable, well-appointed and clean.

Barry Edkins and his staff team work are some of the best I have come across, at ensuring that the needs and expectations of their Ascot Gardens guests are fully met.

Earlier reviewers have commented favourably on the other guest facilities at Ascot Gardens, ranging from good wi-fi reception to, use of swimming pool; washing machine, etc., etc. All of which contribute to a relaxing and enjoyable holiday experience. We echo those positive views.

Again, as reflected by earlier reviewers, Ascot Gardens is within easy walking distance of the local shopping centre, restaurants and, other facilities. Attractions ranging from Groot Constantia to Cape Town City Centre, V&A Waterfront, Kirstenbosch Botanical gardens, wine routes and famous beaches such as, Hout Bay also Fish Hoek, to name a couple, are only minutes away by car.

Room Tip: Large variety of properties available; if asked, Barry will provide objective, sound advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017

We've stayed here several times and as the publicity says it is "home from home". All the apartments are good from the bed sitters to the luxurious apartments. This time we stayed in three different ones as we booked fairly late. Queen, fountain and Africa are all good. Barry and Lesley are wonderful hosts. The location is great with shops and restaurants in walking distance and the peninsular, constantia wine lands and the city within 25 minutes. It is very secure and lots of guests pay repeated visits. We knew 4 couples we had met before. It is not 5-star luxury but very comfortable. If you are staying in the area for several weeks as we did it is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a nice self-contained, self-catering place, this one is great. It felt secure and the road it is in also feels safe. The gardens are well laid out, relaxing and taken good care of.
We stayed in "Fountain" with an impressively well equipped kitchen. I could not have asked for any other utensil or appliance for our 6-day visit.
Mary, who does all the running around for Barry and Leslie, is an absolute gem! Very gentle and sweet and always on the ball.
Whilst all the beds had lovely winter sheets, warm linen and hot water bottles, the air was too cold for an asthmatic, but the only heater available was an outdoor gas heater. We were very grateful to have the use of it, but do feel that something more suitable should be on site for times like this.
The children were desperate to swim in the pool - it looked really inviting ... But alas ... Winter in Cape Town ...
The garage is quite a tight squeeze. Nothing more than a sedan will fit in there.
I didn't see in any of the other rooms / units. The gardens are so well laid out that I don't know exactly how many others were around us even. It's a great set-up!
Thanks for a lovely visit!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Morogoroites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We had a large group stay in ASCOT LODGE consisting of adjoining King, Queen & Jack self catering units and it was a wonderful experience. Barry was flexible in accommodating the group size with beds. The large area in King made nightly dinner easy to prepare, serve and eat together. The smaller lounges in the other cottages made it nice for people to have their own space since the weather was a bit chilly. We hired a private driver which made accessing the city a breeze. We have also in the past used public transit from Heathfield Train Station which is a nice trip to the beaches (Surfers' Corner all the way to the access point to Boulder's Beach). It's a little longer to get to the City Center and Waterfront, but a taxi is not too expensive. The nearby Constantia Valley is gorgeous! Even if you don't like wine the estates are beautiful. There were other groups on the property which we hardly heard because of our location. The ease of the private entry made it simple for us to leave early and arrive late without disturbing others. I would highly recommend staying at Ascot Gardens (just don't take my booking!).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

A little gem of a place to stay! Really like a home away from home! Great hosts in Barry & Leslie! With no complaints! This is a must as a single traveler or family. My family and I will be using them again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the Ascot Gardens. Location was good for us as I was visiting family in Tokai.
Very clean and nicely furnished in a secure garden location.
Barry was on hand for any questions and to offer assistance with any problems.
I would stay there again on my next visit.
Accommodation was excellent for the price.

Room Tip: all the apartments are ground floor and very spacious. Each with their own garden seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davudsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Ascot Gardens Lesley & Barry - Exceptional hospitality and friendliness are your - Exceptional hospitality and friendliness are your strengths . Your garden is close to none , nature flows and its easy to relax in that environment . Our two week stay at Ascot made us to appreciate God more . Your staff are professional and friendly . Will certainly come again . Constantine , Senzeni , Makatendeka & Munotidaishe -ZIMBABWE

Room Tip: All units are quite as travellers observe rules set by Lesley and Barry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Senzeni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ascot Gardens Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Gardens Self Catering Accommodation

Address: 8 Eksteen Avenue | Constantia Valley, Bergvliet 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bergvliet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bergvliet
Price Range: $60 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Gardens Self Catering Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 16 kms(20 minutes drive) from Cape Town and the Waterfront and Beaches . Ascot Gardens Self Catering , surrounded by a lush garden , is situated in the quiet residential suburb of Bergvliet in the Constantia Valley. Our central and safe area makes it a good base for touring around Cape Town and surrounding area. We offer free WiFi internet, secure off street parking , a shared laundry , library and swimming pool. Each suite has its own LCD , Premuim DSTV television, DVD, music center, bedside clock radio , ceiling fans and safe. Units have own private entrance and patio with table and chairs and BBQ. Prices differ per season, and start in low season from R720 per unit per night in a Standard suite for sleeping 1/2 persons and in high season from R820 /night/unit for 2 persons and from R940/night/unit to R1190 /night/unit in a Deluxe suite for sleeping 2 or 3/4 persons. A 2 or 3 bedroom house OR Entire 4/5 Bedroom Villa sleeping up to 14 persons are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascot Gardens Self Catering Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing