We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Horshader Shop and Cafe - CLOSED

Horshader Shop and Cafe
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Description: This is now closed due to the Community Development making staff redundant. All of the 5 star reviews received since October 2017 were in relation to food and service delivered by staff no longer there. The staff were told that the tripadviser reviews were irrelevant as it concentrated on people outside of the community area.
Restaurant details
Description: This is now closed due to the Community Development making staff redundant. All of the 5 star reviews received since October 2017 were in relation to food and service delivered by staff no longer there. The staff were told that the tripadviser reviews were irrelevant as it concentrated on people outside of the community area.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Had a wonderful tasty, home cooked lunch, even the ice cream is home made. Dog friendly, good prices, fabulous service. Well stocked local shop. Can't recommend it highly enough. thanks so much. Open on a Monday as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atownley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food (we had both coffee/cake and lunch) with a focus on local ingredients & suppliers. Everything is very reasonably priced and staff (Julie & Rachel) were extremely friendly (even with our boisterous toddler). Baby change facilities were really well equipped and very clean. We especially like the emphasis on reducing the impact on the environment (compostable take away packaging, free water refills etc.) and being a facility (there is also a small shop) for locals as well as visitors.

1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C, Manager at Horshader Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Hi Ian

Thank you so much for visiting the Horshader Shop and Cafe and for our lovely review. Your "boisterous" toddler was a joy to have in the cafe and we are glad that the baby change facilities were appreciated. We try very hard to think of our customers first and appreciate any comments left for us or suggestions on how we could do it better. We hope to see you again in the future, Julie and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Very affordable.
Quality ingredients for traditional quality food. Homemade bread is superb.
Very pleasant staff.
Can't fault in any way.

Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C, Manager at Horshader Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Hi Derek S

Thank you for your review. So glad you were happy with the food and the service and it will be great to welcome you back any time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Happened to see this place at lunchtime and decided to pop in. Throughly enjoyed our experience. The menu choices were excellent including V Ve and GF items. We tried some of their own delicious homemade ice cream for pudding(several unique flavours available)
The couple who have been running the establishment for about six months were delightful-friendly, helpful and obviously passionate about the cafe and shop. They deserve to succeed.

1  Thank MurdoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C, Manager at Horshader Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon, Julie and Rachel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

Best chips ever, all hand peeled and cut, burger was amazing too. The location is so convenient as there's nothing else like it nearby, there's fresh cakes and quite often, fresh warm bread too. The fact that pretty much everything is locally sourced, home made and all the take out packaging (including the cutlery) is compostable all helps too.

Genuinely good people who will make you feel looked after the minute you step in the door.

Thank SallyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C, Manager at Horshader Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Hi SallyKitty
Many thanks for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visits at the Shop and Cafe. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horshader Shop and Cafe also viewed

Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing