We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding hospitality with attention to detail...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kabuis Apartment

Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen
Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Shawbost in another wonderful sunset, just at the back door.
The very start of the Coastal Walk - Shawbost to Dalbeg, Dalmore or even Garenin Blackhouse Village.
Lighthouse at Port of Ness
View of the Main House, Chalet and Kabuis Apartment
Our local beach here at Shawbost - an expanse of white sand.
Your our coastal walk heading to Dalbeg, Dalmore or Garenin Blackhouse Village.  A very long wall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter C
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding hospitality with attention to detail and quality”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a lovely rental property! The quality of the furnishings and fittings, and the attention to detail was excellent. We were greeted by the landlady who provided tea and cake on our arrival, and then showed us two salmon platters that she had left for us in the fridge as well as a cake that she had baked for us. She was extremely hospitable throughout, without being in the least bit too overbearing, and we were delighted to be invited into her house on our last night to join her and her husband for drinks and a chat. We learned a lot that night about crofting and the way of life of the people of Lewis.
A thoroughly enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality provided in connection with a rental property
Liked least: Nothing not to like, apart from the weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well-equipped apartmernt with attentive hosts in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Rhoda ensured that our stay was exceedingly comfortable. She was always available to answer our questions and made sure that we had all we needed. She was generous making us feel that we had come to a special place. We were well positioned to walk to a beautiful beach and reach many other wonderful places by car. The apartment is very well equipped and was always cosy. It was the extra small touches that made all the difference. Thank you, Rhoda and Neil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vin1892
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Sheila, myself and our daughters two Westies enjoyed a fantastic week in the cottage. The cottage is tastefully decorated and right from the welcome we received from Rhoda on booking in we enjoyed an idyllic week. The owners have exactly the right attitude in that they will leave you to enjoy your holiday in peace but are always available if required.

On arrival we were presented with fresh and smoked salmon in the fridge, fresh flowers and fruit and Rhoda's famous banana loaf. All were very much appreciated and half way through our stay we were brought fresh mackerel caught that day together with some delicious home made cake. They do go the extra mile in making guests welcome and we enjoyed drinks with Rhoda and Neil in their cottage on the last night and heard some wonderful music from their dearly departed son Innis.

We couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough.

p.s. Rhoda - Sheila is still tickled pink with the Harris hand bag you gave her. Many, many thanks for everything.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan F
Portree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb, and dog-friendly too!”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The hospitality was excellent and I and Mini, my dog, were given a warm welcome when we arrived.
The house, an extension tacked onto the rear of the family home, was very comfortable and up-to-date with wi-fi, a small hi-fi unit in the kitchen/dining room area. There is a fridge/freezer but the freezer is very small. Rhoda told me that if I had anything that wouldn't go into the freezer, that she could put it into their own.
On cold nights, or just when the weather is not so warm, there is an electric blanket on the bed. I didn't discover this until the second week, but it was most welcome when I did use it as the weather was often cold. Yep, in May!
Because of the adverse weather conditions, sometimes it was impossible to go out and do anything useful, so being a keen photographer, I busied myself with photographing the still life subjects around the kitchen/dining room area. The small, traditional cottage-style windows – three in total, were just ideal for natural light illumination.
I was able to visit the Callanish Stones, Carloway Broch and the Blackhouse fairly easily as they are within a short driving distance from the house. As it happens, I was able to visit them more than once to see if I could get some better shots.
One thing I didn't like was the cooking facilities. The cooker was gas. I don't have a problem with that, but the oven was a little strange. There was an instruction manual in a drawer that showed a diagram of the oven, but when you looked at the front of the oven, there were no numbers at the knobs, like temperature, etc. How do you decide what temperature to put the oven at if there aren't any numbers? Well the problem didn't arise for me as I didn't need to use it. So don't buy anything that requires to be oven cooked. The oven appears to work, at least the fan came on and a light lit up the interior, but I didn't investigate further. I need numbers and there weren't any so...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Accommodation and hospitality
Liked least: The oven without the numbers
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Upon arrival the guest had been shown around the property, clearly outlining that the markings, had been removed from the cooker, as a result of another guest using solvents to clean the cooker. We are ever so sorry that our gas hob was not acceptable, however, having guided our guest to the instruction manual, it was not rocket science to be able to use the cooker, like all our other satisfied guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
photolass
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Apartment and Spoiled Rotten by Rhoda”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely apartment in the owner's house with your own entrance into the kitchen, diner lounge. One step up to the bedroom with its compact ensuite. Good design has given plenty of space in the main area. Welcomed by Rhoda and Neil with lovely salmon both fresh and smoked and home baking kept coming in. A good base and central for the various beaches to visit on Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy sitting room
Liked least: A little bit of a trail to the entrance door but no problem for younger fitter guests.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthesimm...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation and such welcoming owners”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

had a brilliant holiday here with our dog. Rhoda and Neil were so welcoming and full of great information and tips to ensure we got the most out of our visit to the outer hebrides (including an unforgettable trip to St.Kilda!). The accommodation was idea for the 2 of us and our dog and although attached to the main house, it felt very private and we came and went as we pleased. Would recommend this highly to any couple looking for a place to relax and feel at home after a busy day exploring the island.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all first rate and therefore I cannot single out any one thing I liked best.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing