We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Retreat”
Review of Fairshaw Rigg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairshaw Rigg
Ranked #1 of 1 Low Gate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2016

If you are looking for a exceptional B&B look no further. Paul and Kathryine are the perfect hosts, friendly, charming and so helpful no matter what your needs are. The bedroom was fantastic spotlessly clean and the colour scheme very pleasing on the eye. There was not a single thing you could have wished for to make the stay more perfect. An excellent breakfast freshly cooked together with warm homemade bread and homemade preserves. What not to like!!! nothing. They have Alpacas which are in a paddock near the house which makes for a wonderful opportunity to view these unique animals close at hand.
Going to Northumberland then make this your port of call a must for every traveller.

Room Tip: All ground floor I had the twin-bedded which was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Fairshaw Rigg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Thanks so much for the prompt and very kind review. Hope to see you both back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

This is a top class B&B, the accommodation is lovely, immaculate and very comfortable. The owners are so friendly and the breakfast is top class. They also have a fridge in the hallway with free bottles of milk and water, a nice touch. This is our second visit but wont be our last. The Alpacas are an amazing sight when you open your curtains in the morning. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My grand daughter and I stayed here 17 & 18th September. Beautiful place, owners very pleasant. Breakfast was really nice ! Alpacas stole the show though!! Will definitely return here if ever have to go to Hexham.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank gina255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Fairshaw Rigg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Pleased you enjoyed meeting the alpacas and seem to have liked your stay at Fairshaw Rigg. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We were made to feel very welcome at Fairshaw Rigg by Paul and Katherine. It is a superb location and a lovely place to stay. The breakfasts were great. Lots of nice little extra touches made it special. Very comfortable,clean and spacious room. This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in, if not the best.

Room Tip: All are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1MilesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Fairshaw Rigg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Such a positive review is really appreciated - thank you Miles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Have just spent 4days at Fairshaw Rigg first time we have made a visit but certainly not the last, I could not fault anything about the place from arriving to leaving. The comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms the quality and choice of the breakfast, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff just amazing.
Location great and not to far from local pubs also great to be greeted by alpacas, friendly black labs and chickens when you open your curtains on a morning.
Would well recommend this place to anyone.
Thank you Paul & Kathryn Shrimpton.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinagrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Fairshaw Rigg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thanks so much Tina - it was a pleasure hosting you and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed for four nights as we had work in Newcastle. I cannot find fault with either the facilities or the welcome we received from Paul and Katherine Shrimpton. The breakfast was superb and the room was a welcome retreat from the day's work in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Hughenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Fairshaw Rigg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thanks Steve - hope you can come for a leisure break next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The room was lovely, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owners were very friendly and so helpful. Great breakfast with a good selection of food including freshly baked bread and really fresh eggs. We could see the chickens from our bedroom window. Lovely view having breakfast in the orangery. Loved my Alpaca experience. Informative and so brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Fairshaw Rigg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Many thanks Sylvia for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your time with the animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Low Gate
3.6 km away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.5 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,181 reviews
15.3 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
12.3 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,086 reviews
5.5 km away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairshaw Rigg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairshaw Rigg

Address: Low Gate, Hexham NE46 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Low Gate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Low Gate
Price Range: $122 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairshaw Rigg 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairshaw Rigg is an exclusive 5*, silver awarded, bed and breakfast establishment near Hadrian’s Wall, Northumberland. Our guests always enjoy a warm and friendly welcome and accommodation of a very high standard. Relax in our luxurious bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms whilst enjoying tranquillity, privacy and individual service. Fairshaw Rigg is a small working alpaca farm where we specialise in breeding top quality black alpacas, most of which graze happily next to the house. Situated just 2 miles SW of the famous market town of Hexham, Fairshaw Rigg is near many places of natural beauty and historic interest. Hadrian’s Wall is very close by together with numerous other Roman sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairshaw Rigg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairshaw Rigg Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing