We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$252
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
BRuke1
Davis, California

Great stay. Great area.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 6, 2022
Comfortable and well maintained. We got a friendly and helpful welcome..
We were just yards from the water and we could safely leave our kayaks just above the high tide line.
One added benefit for us (obviously, can’t guarantee this for everyone) while having morning coffee we got to watch a lone sea otter commute to its clan. It liked to swim on its back.
The little town of Sointula, its island and the adjacent island with Alert Bay all have fascinating histories.
We’ll certainly return.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
C$252
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$252
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$141
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$141
  • Algotels
6.4 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Tripadvisor
C$178
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$178
8.0 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
7.8 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our nice cabin
Contact accommodation for availability.
33.5 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paddling up to the  Float-house Lodge.
40.2 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
35.6 km from The Oceanfront Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sointula
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
50
20
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
20
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal alert bay communal kitchen situated right added benefit morning coffee ray balcony meal island locals sea vibe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 76 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2022

Pleasantly surprised with how quiet the hotel was, impressed with the view and conveniently situated right next to the ferry terminal. Would stay again for sure, can't beat coffee on the balcony, even on the fogged in mornings. There was such a calm vibe surrounding the town. The museum is chalk full of awesome history and artifacts and only a 3 minute walk away. Locals are incredibly friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to the next visit and seeing more of the Island!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RichPeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin Smith, Owner at The Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to review us and the community. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2022

Rustic but extremely clean with the most comfortable hotel beds we’ve slept in for years. We were in room 208 with an unrestricted view of the water, right next to the ferry slip and the town core. The communal kitchen is a great feature with everything you need to prepare a meal if you’re so inclined. There is also a mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. We were there for three nights and have never slept so well. Got to meet Ray and found him to be very friendly and helpful during our stay.

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank reidandsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin Smith, Owner at The Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2022

So glad you had a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it and hope you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2021

A beautiful, nice quiet getaway place along ocean, only 25 minute ferry ride from Port NcNeill. Hiking trails on island leads you to peabble beach where orcas frequent.

Owners very friendly. I went during fall seaaon when island co-op grocery store is closed on Sunday & Mondays. Owners let me know to pick up groceries beforehand 8n Port McNeil
.

Would definitely come back again and recommend to friends.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 614michaely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2021

My wife and recently travelled to Malcolm Island and had a very pleasant stay at the Oceanfront Hotel. The ownership was very responsive and professional and were committed to making our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is right downtown with all amenities close by...we highly recommend Coho Joe's for breakfast and lunch! Sointula is a fantastic escape to take your bikes, paddleboards or kayaks, and the Oceanfront Hotel is a quaint and cozy hotel that is priced accordingly.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M5902UKbrianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 11, 2020

We were able to spend three peaceful nights at the Ocean Front Hotel. Perfect location right on the water a few steps from the ferry. Covid has restricted life a little but friendly people abound. We did the two major walks from Bere Point and to BIg Lake. Never a smooth path to be seen. Enough choice on finding food as the Hotel has a take a way and there is the Burger Barn at the harbour. Interesting museum to learn the history. Always helpful owner and the dog loved it all.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank newagincourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin Smith, Owner at The Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2020

So glad you enjoyed your stay here. We love it when the dogs are happy too.
Thanks for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews