We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ellen B

A piece of heaven

Review of Orca Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 26, 2023
This is our second visit to Malcom island. Our first visit staying at Orca Lodge….but not our last. We were pleasantly surprised to see how bright and comfortable our accommodation was. We had both suites on the lower floor for our family of 7. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you need. Very happy. The beds are very comfortable ….falling asleep with the sound of the ocean so close was very peaceful. The linen was fresh and soft. No shortage of blankets or pillows.
We were extremely lucky to see a humpback whale swimming only 150 away from our deck when we first arrived. So exciting!!!! Porpoises swan out front every day. Eagles 🦅 nested in a near by tree.
Lynne is an amazing lovely host. Thank you Lynne for accommodating our family. We will return soon.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Atkinson, Owner at Orca Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Jul 27, 2023
Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review!! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Stay and Greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you got to experience the Wildlife "right out front of the Lodge"
We hope that you will return for another visit in the Future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Orca Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$150
  • Algotels
7.0 km from Orca Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
10.1 km from Orca Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our nice cabin
Contact accommodation for availability.
32.3 km from Orca Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
9.4 km from Orca Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.7 km from Orca Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
12.4 km from Orca Lodge
View more hotels in Sointula
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2023

From the moment we opened the doors this place had us! The sound of the crashing waves, the bright open kitchen and living room, a very thoughtfully stocked kitchen and bathroom. This place is the place to stay on Malcolm island. Free wifi, big comfy couches and TV (should it be a beautiful rainy west coast day) if needed. The lodge is a short walk to the downtown area where Sointula residents proudly boast the oldest Co-op in BC where you have to go to get your Sointula swag!
The island is amazing to explore and I would say both Beautiful bay and the lighthouse are a must.
We will definitely be back to explore the island more and enjoy the peacefulness of the amazing Orca Lodge!

Room tip: Bring food with you, the lodge has thoughtfully put essentials and more in the suits but the Co -Op isn't cheap!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tamsin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Atkinson, Owner at Orca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2023

We appreciate you taking the time such an amazing Review of our Property. Thank you! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Stay and exploring Malcolm Island.
We welcome you to come back and visit us again in the Future. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the smaller suite and it was great. When we walked in, we were very impressed with how clean and well kept it was. They have everything you need including a small BBQ on the deck. It rained pretty much the entire time we were there so we didn’t get a chance to sit on the deck for any length of time, but when we did, we thoroughly enjoyed the view and listening to the waves right below us.
The host was great, called us the day before we were to arrive to let us know about the suite and the island and places to see, she also text us on the day of arrival to ensure we arrived and were able to access the suite. The washroom was a fair size and had wonderful heated floors. We would definitely recommend staying here and will stay again the next time we are on the island

Room tip: If going to the lighthouse, the road is closed make sure you plan to go at low tide.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VanIsland357
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Atkinson, Owner at Orca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2021

We thank you for taking the time to Review our Property. We really appreciate your Great feedback We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Room and Location. We welcome you to visit us again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Loved this great accommodation in Sointula. I stayed in the double room. It had a beautiful deck which got the sun all afternoon and was hard to leave! The mist rolls over the water in the morning, it’s so mystical to watch, then burns off by the afternoon. A little otter popped up on the beach below one day and at night there’s a lovely view of Port McNeill all lit up across the bay. Inside, the room was beautifully decorated and equipped and with the wood finish, felt like being on a (very nice) boat! The best part was when at full tide the water laps under the house which is on stilts. Pure Magic! The location between the town and marina is great and there are free bikes in town so I was able to ditch the car for my stay. Well worth taking the ferry over to Alert Bay too if you have time during your stay. It’s free and there’s a great First National museum there.
Really loved my stay here - so comfortable, different and the hosts were really welcoming. I would love to go back some day. Top marks, and some!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 78jennib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
atkinsol, Owner at Orca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing descriptive Review of our Property. We so appreciate your positive feedback, it warms our heart to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and exploring Sointula, Macolm Island and surrounding area.
It was truly a pleasure meeting you and we welcome you back to visit anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2019

We recently rented one of the larger suites and it was perfect for a larger group - lots of comfortable places to sleep and also in a great location. We were also accommodated in terms of an early arrival. We will definitely stay here again if we go on a similar trip in the future!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank LainaH305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne A, Owner at Orca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to write a Review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed Orca Lodge. We welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2019

First trip to Sointula and the Orca Lodge was a spectacular place to call home for the night. I took my mother over for Mother's day 2019 and we were thoroughly impressed. We arrived on a beautiful but extremely windy day! So after exploring the island by car we cozied up on the covered balcony and wined and dined while enjoying our waterfront view. Lynne the host is very friendly and just a text away if there are any issues. The unit was well equipped with any amenity you could think of and above and beyond what most Air BnB's contain. We watched cruise ships sail by in the evening and walked to the burger barn in the marina for a late lunch. The Lodge is easily biking distance from the ferry and town centre and would be a fabulous place to launch our kayaks if we brought them (watch the weather and winds though!). We would highly recommend the Orca Lodge and would stay again!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaclyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adventure813133, Owner at Orca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Jaclyn, I apologize for the delay in responding. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a well written , descriptive Review. We are very pleased to hear you and your Mom enjoyed the Lodge and exploring Malcolm Island.
We would love to see you come back and perhaps stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews