We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
113
20
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
20
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laid back pura vida costa rica black sand beach five minute drive feel like family manuel antonio park walking distance rooms are clean air conditioned nearby jaco an amazing view beach front scarlet macaws cory hammocks surf
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 145 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Pros
Spacious and clean room
Good location for surfing
Fabulous views
Great pina coladas!
Good simple breakfast
Scarlet macaws
Nice people working in the kitchen, friendly.

Cons
No hot water -ever!
Tv doesn’t work
Outdoor furniture needs replacing/fixing
Over priced for what you get- it is more like backpacker accommodation so negotiate on price
Very little information given - need to be prepared to ask.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 823Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

First visited the Sandpiper in 2011 and just went back in June of 2018. It's amazing how it has kept it's charm with the rest of Playa Hermosa. Great spot to stay for families, surfing and ultimate lounging. There's a very friendly staff with a restaurant that makes stellar Costa Rican meals. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Request for room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018

I honestly don't know why I'm just getting around to reviewing the Sandpiper Hotel, as we've stayed at the Sandpiper more times than we can count - literally. At the Sandpiper, we consistently get everything we're looking for from a tropical beach-front hotel; peace and quite, proximity to beach (the sand boarders the property and, depending on tide, the surf can be between 10 feet to 200 feet from the property), typically friendly guests, great owner and staff, lots of nature close by (including twice-daily visits from Scarlet McCaws and occasional visits from Capuchin Monkeys, and lots and lots of Iguanas). The Sandpiper is walking distance to all of the restaurants in Playa Hermosa and is close enough to Jaco to make it an easy five minute drive/ride there, but far enough away if you want to avoid the crazies.

Room Tip: Stop in Jaco or Heradurra to buy ice, drinks and snacks - the hotel provides coolers.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank billnemecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Nothing beats watching the ocean from your bedroom balcony and going to sleep with the sound of the waves! An amazing rancho in the common area will protect you from the sun while you enjoy the sea breeze! This quaint place is home to the owners who certainly make sure you feel at home with their warm welcome!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ExposTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

4 friends and I stayed at the sandpiper hotel for a week and it did not disappoint! We got the second floor suite with the balcony overlooking the beach like 15 meters from the sand. It's not the Ritz, it's a place to relax and fall asleep and wake up to the sound of pounding beach break waves (playa Hermosa, the most consistent break in Costa). Every morning when I woke up, I could see the water right from where I was laying in bed, calling my name saying "get up and surf me".
The main beds are pretty comfy, they give you towels whenever you ask, and clean the place up when you need it and you are out of the room.
By far though, the service from the owners Greg and Sureath is top notch. These two really make their hotel a home and welcoming place for their guests. Theyve got a security guard (not that you need him really being away from the hustle and bustle, south of Jaco on beautiful Playa Hermosa). Oh and in case you drown in the ocean, Sureath just might be there to revive you and save your life (what a woman! Greg's a lucky man). She saved a 72 yrold guy who drowned in the water after sprinting to his unconscious body down the beach and administering cpr. Hell of save!
If you're looking for a relaxing stay that's not going to break the bank, the sandpiper hotel is for you.
Thanks Greg and Sureath!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Wyatt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews