We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
43
35
14
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
35
14
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf contest great bar costa rica secure parking great surf rooms are spacious comfortable place to stay great view of the ocean stayed longer fun to watch air conditioned hot water hermosa beach surfers surfing waves pool
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 107 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Loved it! Didn't want to unload our truck so the secure parking was great. Reception lady was very nice. Very clean pool and grounds, lots of flowers. Super clean. Best location, great surf right out front.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick K, Director de Recepción at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Thank you for the choosing the Backyard Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

My husband and I stayed there one night on our way south to take a break from driving. The hotel is right on the highway although you do not hear the highway noise. It is right in front of the beach so you can be in the pool and see the ocean or in the restaurant and see the ocean. The ocean in that area is pretty rough so it is really for experienced surfers only but it was great to be able to sit in the yard (with grass) and just stare at the water. The rooms were large, clean, with hot water, AC and WiFi.

It was the perfect place for a pit stop. I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SamaraInfoCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick K, Gerente at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for the choosing the Backyard Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

The rooms are large, nicely decorated and very comfortable, a/c, hot water, tv, security box, small personal patio and a pool. Breakfast is included and served in their restaurant and bar next door. Located on the beach, too rough for swimming but great for surfing. Secure parking too. We will be back.

Room tip: I like #2 next to the bar but there are others that look upon the pool or beach
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEC131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick K, Director de Recepción at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you very much for the choosing the Backyard Hotel and for your comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope for you return of the hotel again, you are welcome to the hotel any time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

The hotel seems charming but is not an ideal place to stay because of comfort and noise issues. The beds were very uncomfortable. There wasn't much privacy for the rooms because the restaurant is on one side and the pool is on the other. It was very noisy due to people swimming in the pool late and loud music at the restaurant. It was however fun to watch the surf competition taking place on the beach on Friday/Saturday afternoons. Hermosa beach is a cute quaint beach but doesn't have a ton to offer other than surfing for skilled surfers. In addition, the service at the hotel was good.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the second floor for more privacy.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollylynch1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick K, Director de Recepción at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for the choosing the Backyard Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

The rooms were great. Loved the pool right outside our back door and the lounge chairs with an ocean view. We loved hanging out with the iguanas poolside and named the biggest one "surf dog" while we were there.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick K, Director de Recepción at Backyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you very much for the choosing the Backyard Hotel, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope for you return of the hotel again, you are welcome to the hotel any time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews