We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northern Ontario Railroad Museum & Heritage Centre
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to see inside old trains!

Really cool place! They have a museum in the house and it shows some of the old train equipment... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2021
naikfor
via mobile
love the history

This is the best experience ever, in the Sudbury area. Love the history and collection of... read more

Reviewed July 10, 2021
644herminah
Read all 70 reviews
  
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
50
14
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
14
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sudbury area tea room fire station model train history collection jail conductor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 70 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had a good visit at the museum and Sara was a great guide. Overall, it doesn't appear to be a big site but there is a lot of history packed in it and it was well worth waiting an hour for it to open.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank njoynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORMHC, Manager at Northern Ontario Railroad Museum & Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Glad you guys had a great visit and decided to wait for us to open! Our volunteers do an incredible job of ensuring a visit is well worth the price of admission. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

We always enjoy our time here. Will be back maybe in July. Always find interesting. A must at Halloween. Always fun scaring tie kids.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank 640jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

This is situated in the Greater Sudbury community of Capreol. About a 35 minute drive from downtown Sudbury.
If you've ever worked for the railroad, and your into the history of the railroad industry, This is for you! There are full size locomotives that have been restored to their original look as they were when they were riding he rails of Northern Ontario. Inside there are displays of what life was like back in the railroad industry in the 1800's and early 1900's The reason I was here was it was the opening of the museum for the season. Just a block away on young st. There is another museum. The Police and fire museum. It has old fire Engines that have been restored. Another section has the history of policing in Capreol. There is a jail where you can go in and get a feel of what's it like to be locked up. There is a special entrance where the prisoners enter the police station. It's pretty daunting when you imagine what it was like back then.
Down stairs there is a miniature railroad set up as it is from one end of the Country to the other. There is about 400 square ft of track where there is a train that goes all over the place. The detail of the miniature structures is amazing!! The people who built it are there to answer any questions you have. Up stairs there is a section of the history of the town of Capreol itself.
The reason I gave this an average rating is because I am not big on the history of railroad. If I was I'd give a very good to excellent rating.
Do I recommend this place? If you're a history buff of trains, Yes. If you're not don't go.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Bob373
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

I definitely reccommend visiting the Railroad Museum on October nights for their annual Terror Train! They turn the museum and train cars into a terrifyingly fun haunted house. It's so scary, but so much fun! Well worth the trip out to Capreol. But, be aware, the line up for the Terror Train can be really long.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Meriko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORMHC, Manager at Northern Ontario Railroad Museum & Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Thanks for the review! Lines can be long, especially the closer we get to Halloween. Heading out in early October or even on Sunday evenings will help reduce wait times

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

This was a great choice! We were looking for something to do that would also entertain some younger kids. You can't fail with train!
The Northern Ontario Railroad Museum and Heritage Centre is located in Capreol, part of the City of Greater Sudbury and home to the hub of rail travel for decades. Quite a commitment by a group of volunteers to provide us with this look back to the age of rail life in this area. The engines were incredible, but, the real treat were the cars that had been converted to school rooms and living quarters. It was a very austere life style to be sure, with an entire family living in a box car turned into tiny house.
Our guides were knowledgeable and this made the tour that much more enjoyable.
The property also boasts a amusement park of sorts, complete with fish and frog pond and a toy train set that runs through the property.
The old house on the property contains other memorabilia surrounding the development of the area, including logging and mining pursuits in addition to containing more rail memorabilia.
The tour doesn't end at this property as the old fire hall a couple of blocks away is also part of the look back at Capreol.
We actually misjudged the amount of time this tour could take and consequently did not spend the amount of time we would have liked to peruse all of the artifacts and memorabilia. Give yourself a couple of hours at least. You will enjoy it.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews