We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beautiful state of the art bathroom
A winter scene showing the stables on the far right.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
UKTourist...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for a week at The Stables and it was very difficult to leave! The accommodation itself is beautifully appointed, and the owner, Vanessa, has thought of everything. The cottage is situated just outside the village of West Meon and has its own grounds, with beautiful views and use of a pool shared with the owners. The location is ideal for visiting Winchester and the New Forest, as well as nearby towns and villages including Chawton, where you can visit Jane Austen's house. Highly recommended for couples visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and high standard of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit Jane Austen's house which has such history and charm. We are always humbled by kind reviews so thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G
1 review
“Prepare to feel pampered!”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Simply amazing! Vanessa made us feel welcome immediately. The accommodation is truly luxurious, with little touches everywhere that helped make the stay feel special.

We came for a romantic week and this was the perfect place, can't recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Liked least: complicated kitchen appliances ;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
It is a truly romantic and wonderful setting and we are thrilled with your comments. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena W
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Total Luxury and Relaxation”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this oasis of peace, tranquility, total luxury and relaxation that has so superbly been created at The Stables. We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the last few years, all of which were carefully chosen and beautiful in themselves, we enjoyed them all, but The Stables really is head and shoulders above. The careful attention to detail and very many special touches really add to the overall experience to make guests feel truly welcome. Sumptuous linens, fluffy towels and dressing gowns, luxury toiletries, warmth, numerous candles, privacy, fabulous views, the list really goes on, and all teamed with the extensive facilities available to make this a truly exceptional find. We are tempted to keep this as our little secret but feel Vanessa's hard work really should be shared with others who are lucky enough to book a break here. The village of West Meon is just a short 10 minute walk down the hill, where you can easily pick up quality provisions from the Butchers or the General Stores. A visit to the Thomas Lord is also highly recommended. If you like a walk then Mark has put together a selection of local walks of varying distances so you can enjoy the local scenery and also take in other villages nearby including their pubs and eateries, all those we visited were lovely. For those wanting to venture further afield, Winchester and Petersfield are not too far away and well worth a visit. Keep up the great work Vanessa we really do hope to return again, many many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at The Stables as this means a great deal to us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and descriptive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rural retreat”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fantastic cottage in a peaceful location with wonderful vies over the South Downs. The owner ensured that everything was available to enjoy a relaxing stay. The welcome pack of freshly baked brownies, scones and biscuits was delicious and there was also a good selection of staple goods such as coffee, teas and basic cooking supplies. The cottage was beautifully appointed with a luxurious bathroom, massive open plan lounge diner and kitchen and a lovely bedroom with a huge comfy bed. Wifi and printer were provided and washer dryer and dishwasher. There was a huge range of brochures maps and local information on walks and things to do. It was close to a walking trail and there were a number of local pubs within a short distance. All in all a fabulous place with a real wow factor!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing and easy”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Lovely well kept destination. Always felt welcomed and nothing was too much effort to sort out for us.

Would highly recommend the stables and the area for a relaxing break with fantastic walks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind review which is much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and the lovely walks around the valley. We are truly blessed with these on our doorstep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason t
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for a treat for my wives birthday , what a find from the moment we arrived and met Vanessa I felt instantly at home , we had a bootle of bubbly and a selection of home made scones and salmon sandwiches on arrival ,the kitchen is very modern with a dishwasher and washing machine ,the bed is very comfortable and the bathroom you've got to see for your self the bedroom has a remote velux window and the view from the cottage is breath tacking and look out for the big white bunny in the back garden ,we will be returning very soon we had a very peaceful stay ,this is the best cottage we've ever stayed in thanks Vanessa xxx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKendal...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Heaven in Hampshire”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have been fortunate enough in our travels to visit some wonderful places in the world but little did we know that a piece of heaven was hiding in the beautiful village of West Meon on the South Downs in Hampshire. Complimented by the area's natural beauty and within easy reach of Winchester, Chichester and Portsmouth (we even made a day of it in Brighton), The Stables was beyond all our expectations. We were warmly welcomed by our hosts Vanessa and Mark Wills and nothing was spared in the attention to detail evident in their preparation for guests. Matches were even left by the many candles! They have created a contemporary country retreat in a peaceful, scenic setting which we will never forget. Don't hesitate....just book it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, the electric blanket and the bathroom!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The Stables. We are blessed with our fabulous location and endeavor to create something a little different for our guests. We feel humbled by your generous comments. Warm wishes Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing