We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class”
other travellers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scods2018
Wem, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The barn is first class and the location superb. The owners Phil and Jill are very friendly, not intrusive, and offered some excellent tips on where to visit, eat etc. We would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil location
Liked least: There was nothing, even the sun shone!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rural bliss with every home comfort”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We wanted a relaxing holiday and this turned out to be the perfect base. The cottage has been furnished and decorated with modern style and flair, and the owners have thought of everything you might need for a comfortable stay. What a cosy place for a romantic candle-lit dinner, or to settle down with a book, or to work your way through the excellent selection of DVDs provided. We couldn't resist lighting the wood burner, even though it was only September.

The cottage provided privacy, but the owners were conveniently close at hand, as were the village shop and pub. And it was a fine location for exploring towns, villages and walks in this attractive part of Hampshire. Altogether irresistible!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great cottage in lovely village location”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a fantastic holiday in this cosy cottage in a quaint village. The owners were helpful and friendly and the cottage was all you need for home away from home and more. The best I can say is that I would have loved to stay longer and will book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely weekend at Shaft's Barn. The cottage was beautifully presented and very comfortable. The village was pretty and secluded, but with easy access to the road network, so that we could easily travel around and explore the area. The owners were also very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Shafts Barn. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed making the most of your time exploring this lovely area and that you were well looked after by the owners. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewer1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at the barn over the Apr/May bank holiday weekend.
The barn is lovely, very well equipped, cosy and warm. It is beautifully decorated with stunning views. We were welcomed and shown round by the owner (Jill) which was very useful.
It has two double bedrooms, each with good size bathrooms. My elderly mother could move around the barn with ease. It has a large kitchen area and good size lounge with wood burner and TV.
The barn is well situated for visiting local attractions such as Lyndhurst/Burley, Winchester etc. There are many good restaurants in the area.
I would recommend this barn and would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your bank holiday stay at Shafts Barn. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed making the most of your time exploring this lovely area. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ybf2016
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Cottage, beautiful scenery, lovely hosts.”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A well thought out cottage very tastefully converted. Beautiful surroundings, a little wet when we were there but never the less amazing. Jill and Phil were very helpful in locating some horse riding schools in the area for our daughters. A wonderful break, would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Shafts Barn. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad your daughters managed to find some horse riding nearby and that you enjoyed making the most of this lovely area. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireC...
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was my second visit to Shafts Barn, this time with two of my siblings. The barn is warm, comfortable and very well equipped. The village has all the amenities needed for a short break - shop, post office, pub, butcher. It is conveniently located for many local attractions. We did Winchester, Jane Austen's house and a trip to family graves in Gosport. The owners are very helpful and kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds and furniture
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your second stay at Shafts Barn. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in this lovely property again and that you enjoyed exploring some of the sites this interesting area has to offer. We hope we will be able to welcome you back for a third visit in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;