We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and tranquility all wrapped up in a...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Open plan lounge, kitchen, diner with surround sound and real fire plus v well equipped kitchen
Inspiring decor, squashy sofas, great walks from your doorstep, games, DVDs, books, magazines
Second cosy double bedroom, Crisp white cotton sheets, complimentary robes and toiletries
Heald Country House between 2 great pubs one has been voted one of the best rural pubs in Britain
Double height vaulted ceiling looking up to the mezzanine bedroom
All the luxury of a hotel suite with the privacy of a country house - a seceret celeb hangout!
Ultimate Romantic Retreat
Relax by the fire
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Welcome
The Old Parlour Boutique Retreat
The Old Parlour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cholmondley, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FB1989
Holyhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and tranquility all wrapped up in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

When Rachel opened the door to this beautiful cottage it took my breath away. It was perfect.
It is so apparent a great deal of thought, love and attention has been given to this cosy restoration and once the wood burning stove comes to life it take to you another level. In a hectic world this place is such a haven. Our hostess was so welcoming - continue as you are Rachel, don't change a thing ! She was there to help but at the same time kept her distance. Thank you for sharing the Old Parlour with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: furnishings and ambience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jojo5580
london
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

One of the most perfect places we've ever stayed in. Rachael and her family couldn't be more friendly and helpful, we left out car lights on and went to the local pub and Rachael phoned to say her husband was in the pub and we could borrow his car to nip home and turn them off!

We stayed in the Old Parlour which is a beautiful barn conversion containing everything you need for a cozy/romantic weekend away. Full of touches that make you feel as though you're staying in your own (although better decorated and tidier) home!

Can't wait to go back. Rachael also recommeneded some gorgeous pubs so definitely listen to what she says!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and friendliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Really glad you enjoyed The Old Parlour so much. You must come back and try The Garden Room next time and bring the bikes again as soooo many more beautiful cycle routes (and lovely pubs) to explore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wistaston
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback Emma. It was lovely to meet you and your bridesmaids! We were so honoured you chose The Old Parlour as the place to spend your pre-wedding night. I hope you had a fantastic big day and please do send us a photo if you remember when you get back from your honeymoon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Don't forget to like us on Face Book if you get a chance as we list lot of local special offers on there which may be useful for any future visits such as the current half price steak and fizz in our local lovely canal side pub! Very best wishes, Heald Country House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we were so honoured that you chose to celebrate your special birthday with us. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Rachael Hill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
Thank you so much Diane. We love the fact that you feel so relaxed here and really look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincolnshire
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time at Heald Country House. As you know, both The Old Parlour and The Garden Room are both seperate, self contained barn conversions but it's lovely to see a family such as yourselves taking advantage of the fact they are next door to each other and all chilling out together! Very best wishes, Rachael Hill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;