We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect up-market retreat for a luxurious few...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The Kingsize Mezzanine Bedroom in the Old Parlour looking onto sitting room with real fire below
Open plan lounge, kitchen, diner with surround sound and real fire plus v well equipped kitchen
Inspiring decor, squashy sofas, great walks from your doorstep, games, DVDs, books, magazines
Second cosy double bedroom, Crisp white cotton sheets, complimentary robes and toiletries
Heald Country House between 2 great pubs one has been voted one of the best rural pubs in Britain
Double height vaulted ceiling looking up to the mezzanine bedroom
All the luxury of a hotel suite with the privacy of a country house - a seceret celeb hangout!
Ultimate Romantic Retreat
Relax by the fire
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Courtyard Garden
The Old Parlour Welcome
The Old Parlour Boutique Retreat
The Old Parlour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cholmondley, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John Robi...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect up-market retreat for a luxurious few days away.”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Old Parlour is an extremely well presented luxury accommodation with so many nice finishing touches. Lovely fluffy dressing gowns, fresh milk on arrival and delightful furnishings.
Rachel, the owner is extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay in the Cheshire countryside. There are lots of lovely walks, two great pubs within two miles for those who did not want to self cater.
My wife and I will definitely be returning to this wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the accommodatioon had been decorated. Many lovely touches/
Liked least: The smoke alarm was very sensitive but we understand from the owner that this is being sorted w/c 26/1/2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay John. We really appreciate it and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon we hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mick306
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Wonderful experience in an excellent setting. The quality and finish of the barn were first class. All of the equipment was new and modern, and all of the 'little' things were either in a drawer or in a cupboard when you needed it!
The bed(s) were comfortable and the farm is wonderfully isolated, but near enough to great restaurants and pubs when you want them. Rachael was a friendly host, and made sure that we had everything we needed, including lighting the log burner for us before we arrived.
We visited Chester and North Wales whilst there, and Cholmondeley is very convenient for all these places. A great base for exploration and peace & quiet. We would thoroughly recommend a stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Delighted you enjoyed it!! xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSCOW
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect romantic escape!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our 2 night stay was a last minute getaway to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was made perfect by the attention to detail that Rachael and Louis have put into the Old Parlour.

So much thought has gone into making this property a relaxing, luxury and indulgent space perfect for spending time with loved ones. From the candles, cushions, throws, dressing gowns, subtle lighting, luxury bedding and toiletries to the excellent docking and sound system, well equipped kitchen, log burner (coming back in winter) and very comfy bed, it was a surprise we ever ventured out!

We made use of the excellent outside space, small and compact but very private with everything you need. We ate outside twice wanting to enjoy the space and sat under the log store wrapped in blankets in the rain - bliss!

Despite enjoying the Old Parlour so much we did venture out and often by foot heading to the Dusty Miller at Wrenbury and a stroll along the canal and also the Cholmondeley Arms (still on foot although a good couple of miles). We ate at the latter and the food was excellent, so too was the chilli gin! We also made it as far as Dearnford Lake, not a huge walk but a great tea shop and view. We headed to Higher Burwardsley and picked up a map in the candle workshop and walked along the Sandstone trail, excellent views and a great spot for a picnic!

Thank you to Rachael for meeting all our needs despite being on holiday! We will definitely be back to sample the garden room!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna P
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Smart boutique barn in beautiful rural setting”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Finished to an extremely high standard, the Old Parlour has everything you could need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, including fully equipped kitchen and dining area (possible to self cater to a good standard), luxurious lounge with large flatscreen TV, smart wet room and two generous double bedrooms, so easily enough space for two couples. Smart country chic decor. Nice outside setting area and ample parking. Lots of lovely little extra touches such as fluffy robes and fresh milk on arrival. Although we didn't see much of our host, Rachael, during our stay, she was extremely attentive via email in advance of our arrival and was very friendly when we met in person. Security deposit returned promptly. We didn't have much luck with the wifi inside the barn, so a wireless bridge/ booster would be beneficial to improve the signal (although those looking for a complete rural escape might enjoy some time away from the internet!!!!) Overall, a very enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous luxury bedding
Liked least: Poor wifi signal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledfryn
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Old Parlour deserves more than 5 Stars!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Within half an hour of arrival, both my wife and I knew that we would have to come back to Heald Country House for a longer stay some time soon. We had only booked for one night (we were on a walking holiday), but that one night stay was unforgettable. Everything, yes everything was perfect. The genuine warm welcome on arrival from the owner (including a very welcome G&T after a day's walking) and the fridge full of fresh produce (in readiness for next morning's breakfast), was gratefully received.

Rachael the owner is a naturally kind person and clearly loves meeting people as well as the work she does. Whilst there as only the two of us (mature couple), The Old Parlour would suit two couples, or a family of four (in two bedrooms).

There are two good pubs within half a mile (towards the canal) - we eat at the Cotton Arms and had a 'better than normal' pub meal. And as mentioned by other reviewers - tranquility ('hedd' or 'tangnefedd' in our native tongue) is high on the list here.

Can't wait for the return trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Simply the high standards set by the owner.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ant586
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation in a quiet location”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This well executed and characterful barn conversion has it all but if you do run short of anything , it's next to the owners own house and Rachael will ensure you are catered for.
On arrival, you turn in straight off a quiet road and can park right up against the Old Parlour which although it looks basic and quaint from the outside presents a luxury well executed conversion of character inside.
It's very comfortable with some quality touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location is fairly near to two quality pubs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic countryside home away from home - didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The old parlour has far exceeded our expectations and the photos on the website as nice as they were did not do it justice. The decor is beautiful and been done to an exceptional standard. A lovely place to stay where every detail was thought of (even ice was supplied for our cocktails).We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank you Sarah. So glad you had a lovely stay. I hope you managed to check out the lovely local pubs too! xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing