We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Charmaine S
Great little Inn on the Mossy River
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 1, 2023
We always stay at the motel when we visit family there. Nicely renovated and Love the new menu. Quite and relaxing and a short walk to the boat dock, the Museum or main street.
Not a 5 star but the owners sure try to make it feel like one.
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$135
  • Hotels.com
57.9 km from The Mossey River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
BestWestern.com
C$191
Exclusive member rates
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
58.6 km from The Mossey River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
55.6 km from The Mossey River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Helicopter View Summer 2018
Booking.com
    30.3 km from The Mossey River Inn
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    58.0 km from The Mossey River Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    56.4 km from The Mossey River Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Dining Room
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    0.0 km from The Mossey River Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    69.1 km from The Mossey River Inn
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    274.6 km from The Mossey River Inn
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    72.0 km from The Mossey River Inn
    View more hotels in Winnipegosis
    Reviews (8)
    Filter reviews
    8 results
    Traveller rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 8 reviews
    Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

    Stayed 9 days in a row here and utilized the restaurant as well. Hotel service is great. Rooms are clean. The rooms though need renovations especially the washrooms. The beds look new in some rooms but the one I had they are apear old and are rock hard. Bathrooms have patch work on rusty/broken spots and need updating. One thing I would suggest to the owner is to either get the refrigerators out of the armoire closet or cut a hole in the back of the armoire closet so the compressor can get air circulation. They could turn the bass down a bit in the lounge and it would make the rooms quieter at night.

    The restaurant is average, they need to educate the kitchen staff of how to sautée vegetables especially onions and mushrooms. They need to adjust the pizza oven because every pizza we ordered came out burnt. The cook had no idea different types of ways to cook eggs and when asked for basted they didn’t know what that was. The prices are high for the quality of what is served. However, they do have potential because the cook actually can cook a really good steak seasoned well enough and not over do it plus they cooked perfectly medium and medium rare. They try hard to make things right. is not right they do what they can to fix it. I would suggest they take some time and get their kitchen staff to learn some cooking techniques online or something.

    Overall this establishment is good. I would like to see the owners more visible in the restaurant and the rest of the facility. Maybe more interaction with guests and help out the server who is alone when there’s a little rush happening.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank colindwhitton
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Myrna P, Owner at The Mossey River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

    I would like to express my gratitude for taking the time to write a review, I believe you were at our inn because of business. We are currently repainting the rooms, along with new window coverings. The bathroom's are also getting some TLC.

    I am glad you ordered the steak and enjoyed it. I'm sorry to hear you did not have a good breakfast dining experience. Something we will definitely be working on.

    Hopefully if you are staying with us again, you will stop in and say hi.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed August 8, 2018

    My team was doing work in the area and needed a place to stay. This is our second year staying at the Mossey River Inn and you can see that they are putting time and effort in making the dining space and rooms aesthetically pleasing! The best were comfortable and the linings were clean! Great Inn for the area!

    Date of stay: July 2018
    1  Thank sarinabelle
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

    I was pleasantly surprised at this little gem. I had a few hours to chat with the owner. It is very clean. My room has brand new beds in it. They are in the process of renovating the whole hotel.
    A couple of things that are very important to me are clean and comfortable beds and a good shower. The shower has a brand new shower head which I really like.
    There is a fridge microwave and coffee maker.
    Large flat screen TV with satellite

    I would recommend this place anytime

    Date of stay: September 2016
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    2  Thank STinMB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 10, 2016

    Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had a very bad experience. While the other reviews mentioned the renovations, we could see when we visited that only room 1 had been renovated. Our room was not.

    The worst part of our visit was that the lounge, which is across the hallway from the rooms, played loud music until 2am.

    Other negatives: we could barely open the door to the room, and when we did the weatherstripping came with it; the carpet looked gross; the bathroom faucets were corroded and missing the tops which made it difficult to turn on and off; the walls were damaged; the bed was old and very soft; generally the room was in bad shape and missing finishing touches.

    The positives: the sheets looked clean; the restaurant was clearly fixed up; the wifi worked.

    We stayed one night of our two in the area; the second night we stayed in Dauphin (45 mins away).

    Also, for information there is no cell service (at least with Rogers) except on the main highway (this is obviously not the fault of the hotel).

    Room tip: Ask for room 1, which is the only one renovated; or stay in Dauphin.
    Date of stay: August 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank ERKJWE
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

    Recently remodelled old style hotel. We were happy to find new beds in our room which turned out to be very comfortable. We stayed here to attend a wedding near by and were very happy with the room and service. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very reasonably priced and very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Date of stay: July 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank Bryan C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews