We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A bit of luxury down on the farm!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Applebarn

Applebarn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Applebarn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Applebarn
Open plan kitchen
Apple barn private garden patio.
A view of Glastonbury Tor
A birds eye view
Modern fully equiped kitchen.
Dinner is served
Kitchen bench
An original feature of Applebarn
Under the stairs
The lounge
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom with bunk beds
En-suite bathroom
Inside out
Flowers
Applebarn blossom
Applebarn
ApplebarnHolidays.co.uk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Pennard, Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt S
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but the barking dog!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The accommodation is excellent. Hot tub good but not attended too so green by the end of the week if you have small children. Nothing is left for you to attend to the hot tub. The worst aspect of the place is that the dog is kenneled overnight about 15m away from your bedroom window and it barks from dusk til dawn. Be warned and take ear plugs.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We change the water in the Hot Tub every time we have new guests staying with us. Should our guests have any concerns about the hot tub or anything else during their stay, we will be more than happy to help. We do not like to leave hot tub chemicals in Applebarn but will be happy to check the hot tub and add them as necessary. We have since moved the dog (Millie) out of her kennel as she is now getting older, so there should be no barking at night. Jean, Millie’s owner was away at the time so she may have been a little unsettled. The kennel now seems to be used by our cats, Gizmo and Smudge. We do listen to the feedback from our guests and do our very best to make things better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKeddie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of luxury down on the farm!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in Applebarn and loved it. The pictures on the site were impressive but in reality is was bigger and more impressive than we had anticipated. The owners are welcoming and friendly and showed us round the farm which our children loved. We hadn't realised there was a hot tub which was a lovely surprise. The views are wonderful and I am sure we will be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place, view of the Tor, Hot tub, luxury feel, loved it”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing space!

You really can't see how BIG the downstairs is from the photos and the garden and outdoor areas as well, it had a great contemporary look and we got some great family photos against the elegant stone work.

John and his family were really welcoming and fabulous and they had the hot tub ready for us which considering it was the end of November we were so pleased about! the garden lighting was lovely as well.

My 2 young boys loved the toy box full of games and the PS2 and the general warm feeling of the place. The underfloor heating was so lovely and ipads were abandoned for laying on the floor playing board games. The Wifi did get some use, a great bonus.

You guessed it we are really keen to visit again!!

Great kitchen and appliances galore, close by car to all the shops etc and a pub that we didn't get to try at the end of the lane. We are looking forward to booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heat was on full blast when we arrived, it's so spacious and really pretty!
Liked least: What did we like the least? LEAVING to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amim77
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“What a place!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is such a lovely barn conversion
It is right on the farm next to the owners own house In the middle of nowhere with a path over to the Tor.
Everything is great and we loved it - nothing more to add really. Oh - also very nice people to deal with - a great find that we would recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eily N
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Applebarn!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Applebarn is huge, sumptuously furnished and very comfortable. As soon as we walked in we got the 'Wow' factor. The owner has a great eye for detail and we were very impressed with the excellent standard at Applebarn. Every comfort has been thought of and provided. As well as two en suite bathrooms there is also a great walk in shower room. Outside there is a peaceful and lovely walled garden, in which we enjoyed relaxing.

The location is lovely, on a working dairy farm in peaceful Somerset countryside. There are clear views of mystical Glastonbury Tor which we walked to , as well as Gog and Magog the ancient Oak trees on Paradise Lane. A very pleasant walk up the country lane takes you to a very nice pub serving food. Applebarn is located perfectly for touring around this part of Somerset.
We visited ,Glastonbury (which is literally on the doorstep),enjoying the Cathedral ruins and grounds, the Chalice Well Gardens, the White Spring and Rural Life Museum as well as the eclectic mix of shops. Nearby Wells has a wonderful Cathedral and may places to eat as well as a market. Dunster (Medieval village with fairytale castle), Street with its excellent outlet shopping village, Wooky Hole Caves and Cheddar Gorge. For a longer day out you can access the coast and Porlock which is a beautiful little place. Also, you are near the sites of both the Bath and West Showground, and Pilton for the Glastonbury festival.

We were made to feel so welcome by the Turner family and thoroughly enjoyed an excellent stay in one of our favourite UK locations. We very much enjoyed seeing a working dairy farm and also visited their cheese farm and had a fabulous morning watching the cheese being made. The cheese was delicious!

We highly recommend this lovely place and look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M T
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A newly converted detached applebarn, finished to a very high standard, with traditional oak finishes, fittings and staircase. Modern large farmhouse kitchen fully equipped, stone tiled floors to the ground floor with under floor heating. Oak cruck beams to the bedrooms both with on suite and have far reaching views. An attractive architecturally landscaped walled garden with hot tub and dining area which gets a lot of sun during the day. The property has a wonderful feel of light, bright space making the most of its valley location and far reaching views of Glastonbury Tor.
The property is by far better than the photos and is hosted by a friendly welcoming farming family; I can highly recommend the home made cheeses produced by the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very high standard and attention to detail in the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing