We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a lovely relaxing weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George at Easingwold
Ranked #2 of 12 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Thanks for a lovely relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked this hotel very much at the last minute through booking.com. We had a fabulous deal but would have been happy if we had had to pay the full rate.

We easily located The George and were very pleased with what we saw. The town of Easingwold is beautiful and peaceful, bliss after a heavy working week.

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service and the ambiance. The food was excellent and superb value for money.

We stayed in one of the outside rooms - it looks like a converted stable block but I'm sure it is a modern addition to the hotel. The room was large, very clean and had a small table and an easy chair, perhaps a second one would have been nice, the bathroom was a great size with lots of hot water and toiletries were a nice touch.

The only thing that let it down, in my opinion, was the towels and bedding although very clean they were a little grey and careworn. They do need replacing.

We would definately stay again. Thanks for a relaxing weekend.

The town is very small and has only two restaurants one is the Indian Garden and the food was excellent when we ate there on the Saturday night. The main course was a little late in arriving and when we asked for the bill they didn't charge for our 2nd drinks - what a great gesture. There is also a little place facing the hotel called The Snug it is only open until 9pm and, unfortunately we didn't have time to try it but it did always look busy and must be a good sign.

Room Tip: We didn't see the inside rooms but the outside rooms were excellent. We were in room 19 which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodymcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at The George.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    106
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
43
188
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We chose this pub on recommendation, and arrived before it was open. Spent half an hour wandering round waiting until the bar opened at 6pm. The restaurant itself didn't open till 7pm which was disappointing as it looked very nice.
We both ordered haddock and chips which was about £12 each and came with mushy peas and a salad garnish. The batter on the fish was lovely (I think it was a beer batter), but we were both disappointed in the chips which were bog standard frozen ones. The fish was quite small and didn't have a great deal of flavour. Extremely disappointed in our meal as we were expecting it to be so much better. Wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpoolgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are at a loss to understand why you "wandered around" waiting for the bar to open, as The George is a hotel with residents coming and going at all hours and the bar is open from 11.00am. Food is available in an evening from 6.00pm.
The deep-fried haddock in Black Sheep Batter comes in two sizes at £7.80 and £10.95. The menu does not state that we make our own chips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. The George is in the market square in the market town of Easingwold just north of York. It is right in the middle of the picturesque market square. We arrived just close to the end of the lunch serving but when we asked about lunch the bar server said she would talk to the kitchen about staying open,so we dumped our luggage and had an excellent lunch.

Easingwold is a fairly affluent and upmarket town so prices are a little on the steep side, but the food was good and had all the positive aspects of nouvelle cuisune (beautiful presentation) without the downside (tiny portions).

Our room was fairly large- on Saturday night we were kept awake a little as our room was over the restaurant area and there was a constant hum of conversation. However the George has a policy of closing the bar at 11.30 to compromise between drinkers and sleepers.

Breakfast was high quality (suggestion to the George- you obviously use quality local sausages but as these are chipolata size I would put two sausages on the standard plate).

Not many places to eat in Easingwold on a Sunday evening so we had dinner there- again excellent food and service.

I rarely give 5 stars as I expect perfection for this. As I have mentioned there were a couple of minor faults but overall it is pleasant, comfortable, friendly with good food. We will be back.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in other parts of the hotel amy be quieter on busy nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garygillathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We will look at the size of sausages that our local supplier provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Yes, we have just returned from our 2nd visit to this great find in North Yorkshire. This time though we stayed for 3 nights. The George is a most welcoming place. All of the members of staff made you feel special, and it was lovely to meet the owners this time as on our last visit they were away on their holiday. Food as per usual was just the best, and a very good plateful. Diet is being started tomorrow! So very pleased we returned.

Room Tip: Not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Friendly fun bar and pleasant rooms, stayed for 1 night and enjoyed ourselves yet again. The food was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

On arrival try and park in the market place, as there is more room and it is free, we were allocated room number 3 in the main building (remember to duck on entering the room if you are 6ft and over) with a view over the market place. As we were directly over the bar there was a bit of noise, but it did not disturb us too much. The room was as expected, clean and welcoming, We opted for the reasonably priced dinner, bed and breakfast deal and we were not disappointed on the quality of the food. At breakfast you can mix and match from the varied menu. The staff were efficient, courteous and helpful. We will be back in May next year to our favourite part of the country.

Room Tip: Room No 3 is above the bar, quiet after chucking out time. Phone for DBB price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triple333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights as a base to explore what Yorkshire has to offer. The location was great, just a half hour bus ride into York and no hassles with trying to park etc. It was a convenient location to Castle Howard, Rievaux Abbey, the moors for walking and the coast - Whitby and Scarborough. The room we had at the rear of the pub was large and spotlessly clean. It was so nice to come back after a day's walking or sightseeing and be able to relax in the pub with a drink and think about what to have for dinner without having to walk miles or get back in the car. We were never disappointed with any of the meals for dinner and the puddings were lovely. Breakfast was very generous and kept us going all day. Kay and Michael, our hosts could not have done enough for us. This even extended to doing a couple of loads of laundry for us. At 10 pounds for a large basket of clothes, this was a bargain. It saved us from trying to find a laundromat and then sit and wait for a number of hours while the clothes are washed and dried. When you are travelling, this is such a waste of valuable sight seeing time. My only recommendation would be to maybe eventually replace some of the beds with queen size beds as I think generally most people these days have this as a standard size at home, but other than that it was fabulous.

Room Tip: We really liked the room right at the rear of the property. It was large and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Sydney056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
4.6 km away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
16.3 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,563 reviews
9.0 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.3 km away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 12 in Easingwold
40 reviews
3.8 km away
Old Black Bull
Old Black Bull
#9 of 12 in Easingwold
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Easingwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Property: The George at Easingwold
Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Easingwold overlooks the Georgian cobbled Market Place. The inn is owned by Kay and Michael Riley and offers a warm welcome, ensuite accommodation, meals in both the Courtyard and Market Place restaurants, good wine and a great choice of cask ales. Log fires in cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing