We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George at Easingwold

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George at Easingwold
Ranked #2 of 13 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I enjoyed my stay here, it was for one night the food was excellent, although I thought the wine expensive, pity they dont do a bottle of house wine as an option. The staff are pleasent and made us very welcome.
The rooms ar very clean, I had a corner bath with shower attachment and missed having a Shower cubicle, we were a party of 8 and all missed having a conventional shower.
I would certainly come back again, and recommend the George.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We have noted your comments. All our wines "by the glass" are also available in bottles. All our ground floor rooms have power showers over the bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    97
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
40
171
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We have spent many a happy weekend here. Kay and Michael and all the staff are very friendly and very helpful. The meals are excellent and the rooms very clean and comfortable. After a day out in York or surrounding area there is nothing better than going back to the comfortable surroundings of The George. We have also celebratedfamily birthdays there and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in making them memorable. Looking forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments - we look forward to welcoming old friends and new guests to The George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

A two star hotel overlooking Easingwold market square. The George Hotel is an old coaching house. A clean, well maintained pub/hotel with rooms tastefully furnished & decorated in a style befitting to this historical building. Room five didn't have a shower as such, but the en suite bath with mixer tap & hand shower head was a pleasure to use during my three night stay (memories of childhood). Telephone & TFT screen T.V with free view, generous tea/coffee making facilities, comfortable bed & quality solid wood furniture. All things considered, I couldn't find fault with the room. The pub is cosy, in a traditional style with a log burning fire. Frequented by regular local clientele, who are friendly, & a pleasure to meet. A large selection of quality drinks including, Bombay Saphire Gin, MacAllans whiskey, continental lagers & no less than four quality real ales, at the time of my visit. A traditional quality bar menu, with an innovative specials board. the quality of the food was faultless (veg was cooked to perfection). The "Coup de grace" of The George, are its staff & owners. They simply cannot do enough for you. They state they are proud of their staff, & in my humble opinion, rightly so! I stayed here on business between 6th & 9th March 2012 on business, but am looking forward to staying with friends for pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deathach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope it is not too long until we see you again.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and were very impressed by both dinner and breakfast. I would have expected some restrictions on dinner as we were on a package but there were none. We felt the dinner was excellent value for money, clearly all homemade and locally sourced with friendly service. Its country style with good portions and a friendly atmosphere rather than a 4 star restaurant but overall the food was great.
I know other reviewers have comments on the chipolata breakfast sausage. The sausage was small but the scrambled eggs were the best I've ever had.
The bed room was okay; its a georgian building and had plenty of character but its not a high end hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the shower if you prefer a shower to a bad. Our room (no.7) had a shower attachment on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
We are proud of our food and our chefs that produce it. Thank you.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I spent a night here on a dinner B&B basis off the internet price which was quite acceptable. The full price I think would have been excessive but then the periphery of York lives off York and The Dales so I suppose it's a case of supply and demand.
The chalet type bedrooms are unfortunate to say the least but how else could the Hotel expand. They are small and poorly ventilated but clean tidy throughout and certainly overpriced at the full rate. The saving grace for this establishment is the welcome and friendliness of the owners and their staff. Irrespective of other reviews condemning the food, I can only say that few hotels or B&Bs supply such a good menu for both breakfasts and dinners and moreover the food was excellent.
I hope to stay here again in the near future because apart from being the only advertised accommodation the owners don't take advantage of that and strive to supply very good catering, a clean and tidy hotel, a good bar and a very friendly ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djb4439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
We have noted your comments, and are disappointed that you found your bedroom poorly ventilated - the rooms are not air-conditioned, but all have windows that open. We are pleased you enjoyed dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked this hotel very much at the last minute through booking.com. We had a fabulous deal but would have been happy if we had had to pay the full rate.

We easily located The George and were very pleased with what we saw. The town of Easingwold is beautiful and peaceful, bliss after a heavy working week.

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service and the ambiance. The food was excellent and superb value for money.

We stayed in one of the outside rooms - it looks like a converted stable block but I'm sure it is a modern addition to the hotel. The room was large, very clean and had a small table and an easy chair, perhaps a second one would have been nice, the bathroom was a great size with lots of hot water and toiletries were a nice touch.

The only thing that let it down, in my opinion, was the towels and bedding although very clean they were a little grey and careworn. They do need replacing.

We would definately stay again. Thanks for a relaxing weekend.

The town is very small and has only two restaurants one is the Indian Garden and the food was excellent when we ate there on the Saturday night. The main course was a little late in arriving and when we asked for the bill they didn't charge for our 2nd drinks - what a great gesture. There is also a little place facing the hotel called The Snug it is only open until 9pm and, unfortunately we didn't have time to try it but it did always look busy and must be a good sign.

Room Tip: We didn't see the inside rooms but the outside rooms were excellent. We were in room 19 which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodymcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at The George.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We chose this pub on recommendation, and arrived before it was open. Spent half an hour wandering round waiting until the bar opened at 6pm. The restaurant itself didn't open till 7pm which was disappointing as it looked very nice.
We both ordered haddock and chips which was about £12 each and came with mushy peas and a salad garnish. The batter on the fish was lovely (I think it was a beer batter), but we were both disappointed in the chips which were bog standard frozen ones. The fish was quite small and didn't have a great deal of flavour. Extremely disappointed in our meal as we were expecting it to be so much better. Wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpoolgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are at a loss to understand why you "wandered around" waiting for the bar to open, as The George is a hotel with residents coming and going at all hours and the bar is open from 11.00am. Food is available in an evening from 6.00pm.
The deep-fried haddock in Black Sheep Batter comes in two sizes at £7.80 and £10.95. The menu does not state that we make our own chips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easingwold
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
14.8 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.1 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
14.5 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.3 km away
No93 Oower Hoose
No93 Oower Hoose
#3 of 13 in Easingwold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Easingwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Property: The George at Easingwold
Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George at Easingwold overlooks the Georgian cobbled Market Place. The inn is owned by Kay and Michael Riley and offers a warm welcome, ensuite accommodation, meals in both the Courtyard and Market Place restaurants, good wine and a great choice of cask ales. Log fires in cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing