We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pittenweem birthday party”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JJZF
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pittenweem birthday party”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful week staying here for my grandma's 90th birthday. The family squeezed in with 11 adults and 2 children at our peak. The location is perfect with meals out, local shops and a bus stop near by for when exploring further afield. The view from the front is wonderful and the back garden well maintained and pretty. For days out we recommend the garden at Cambo and taking the boat out to the Isle of May to see the puffins.

The down side was the communication. A room with bunk beds described as a twin, no information in the house in regard to heating, hot water, recycling etc. and the outdoor bins were full on arrival. We were also told conflicting information on how we could settle the bill but this was sorted out very quickly. Slight problem with one of the showers but we let the owner know and I'm sure it will be fixed for the next visitor. It was a bonus to have so many shower rooms between us.

All in all it was a great place to stay and I thoroughly recommend it as a holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thank you for your positive review.
If I may clarify some factual errors contained in the review -There are no bunk beds at the advertised property. As Jolene's group was rather large and they would otherwise have been unable to celebrate the grandmother's birthday all under the same roof, I made the unadvertised bothy which contains bunk beds available at a peppercorn rental (and this is the thanks you get!).
- The welcome pack on the coffee table gives easy to follow instructions on the central heating controls as well as recycling. It also gives the network key for the high fibre wireless broadband and as I did not receive any complaint during Jolene's stay I must assume that it was found and read although, it appears, not inwardly digested.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maza28
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“had a great week here :)”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

just returned from pittenweem harbour. enjoyed our stay very much. eight members of my family stayed. plenty room, with the 3 teenagers staying in one room, my sister and her husband staying in the double room, myself and my husband staying in the twin room, and my mum staying in the 'bothy', which had its own working shower and toilet. the house was very clean and well equipped - home from home. beds very comfortable. rooms spacious. nice enclosed garden.
the owners were very helpful, and answered all our queries efficiently.
the house has lovely views of the working harbour. not a great deal in pittenweem itself, but only a 5 minute drive away is Anstruther, where there are more shops, cafes, and pubs, and a couple of supermarkets. St. Andrews is about half an hours drive away.
There are a couple of nice coastal walks, with stunning views.
Would love to return here in the future. The views would be even more stunning in the summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the other properties sharing the heating controls
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison190...
strathaven
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Fantastic house in a superb location - lovely walks all around & magnificent part of the country. House perfect for our family. Had a lovely week there. Thankyou.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skaly
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location and house”
Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We were staying here for a wedding outside of Elie and were thrilled at the house and the amenities available to us. There were enough rooms for all of us to stay which was great - we had looked at B+Bs and most could only cater for 6 people. The garden was beautiful and gave us a lovely area for dinner and breakfast. All the rooms had a bathroom allocated or attached which was essential for 4 girls and partners wishing to get ready for a wedding. My only criticism is that I did have to ask the owner alot of questions before arriving eg how to access the property, how to pay for accommodation, how to get to the property etc that I thought may have come as standard in any response. My main gripe was we were uncertain as the what time check out was and thought, as we were only able to get into the property at 4pm the day of arrival, that 12pm may be a decent check out time (this was not discussed). At 10.30 the owner came into the house stating that check out was 10.30 and that we needed to get out. I thought this was a little rude.
If this information had been imparted before we had arrived we all would have been up and ready and the feedback probably would have been different, as the house and the ameneities are top notch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Communication
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth
Reviewed 30 August 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horsham
Reviewed 9 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol
Reviewed 3 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;