We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
11
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 13 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gautois Inn for two nights in July 2013. Upon our arrival at the inn we were greeted by Susan who was extremely friendly and made sure we were well taken care of. The room had spectacular views from both windows and was extremely clean and comfortable. The restaurant had a great menu which was diverse and satisfied two picky eaters. The meals we had were prepared by Ruby who is a great cook and was happy to answer our many questions. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and spacious with great views. We had a great time at the inn and won't forget our stay. We went to McCallum for a night in between and we were able to leave our extra bags at the inn which was a big help. We felt that the workers of the inn were truly concerned with making sure we had a nice time and we enjoyed the conversations we shared with them. We felt very spoiled! We can't wait to return to Gaultois!

Room tip: Choose a room with an ocean view it is well worth the minimal increase cost.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very special place with personality, soul, excellent service and delicious food!!! Did visit the place in 2005 on business trip to Fortune Bay, Newfoundland. This was a nice way of working and relaxing. This place is a hidden secret. Really hope to go back some time in the future! Good luck with keeping the high quality of service and cooking the home made delicious food!

Very special place with personality, soul, excellent service and delicious food!!! Did visit the place in 2005 on business trip to Fortune Bay, Newfoundland. This was a nice way of working and relaxing. This place is a hidden secret. Really hope to go back some time in the future! Good luck with keeping the high quality of service and cooking the home made delicious food!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ballstad-Lofoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our view at this friendly inn overlooked a lovely picturesque harbour lined with fishing boats and shoreline homes. The residents, many who were born and raised in this authentic outport, welcomed us warmly and were eager to share their unique stories. We enjoyed home cooked meals, leisurely strolls around the outport, and a hike in the region. The owner and her staff were helpful and friendly. This 'piece of Newfoundland' is truly a jewel. We highly recommend the Gaultois Inn to anyone seeking a taste of authentic outport life.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank binnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place is truly a hidden gem on the south east coast of Newfoundland. What an absolute joy the ferry ride was which we took from Hermitage taking the longer route via McCallum. The Inn was beautifully appointed and we were very comfortable. The Inn staff and the local residents were delightfully friendly and helpful. Make sure you stay at least two nights so you can walk the entire village or even the charming trail to Piccarie. You will be enchanted and we will be back!

Room tip: Our room was No. 1 and had two windows one facing south and the other east. Charming views.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluecharminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2012

You can't reach this inn by car -- you take a passenger ferry from Hermitage for the 20 minute ride to Gaultois. The small inn has 6 or 7 rooms, all nicely decorated and furnished with en suite baths. A harbor view is accessible for most of them. The inn features a dining room with an excellent chef name Emily. A continental breakfast is included in the price of the room and a full breakfast is available for a modest additional charge. The owner was away while I was there but the remaining staff took great care of me. Let them know what ferry you will be on and you'll be met by an ATV to take you luggage up the boardwalk to the hotel. On certain days, you can make a day trip to another outport, McCallum, catching a ferry in the morning and returning the same afternoon allowing about 5 hours there.

Room tip: Ask for a harbor view to make sure you get it.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salvannatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews