We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Gaultois Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gaultois Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gaultois B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Spent a night in Gaultois in July 2016. If you like to visit out of the way places, away from tourists, this would be it! My 2 friends and I were the only guests at the time we visited. The inn was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We had arranged to have dinner the evening we arrived and breakfast in the morning. Food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KELIZABETHCHIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016

My wife and I visited Gaultois in September and stayed three nights at the Gaultois Inn. It was our plan to visit a less touristy part of Newfoundland to experience modern day out-port life. We were not disappointed. The ferry ride from Hermitage was incredible. We were not prepared for the natural beauty that awaited us as we passed by sheer cliffs that sprang vertically out of the sea. Scenery that easily rivals that of the Gros Morne area of western Newfoundland. Upon our arrival in Gaultois we received a warm and friendly welcome from Susan and her husband Gordon. It is difficult to think that there could be anyone more suited to running this B&B Inn. They, along with the rest of the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and well fed. Gordon gave us a tour of the area and is obviously proud of the community that he leads. This is a wonderful destination that is a Must See/Must-Do for anyone who wants to experience the "Real Newfoundland"

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sgtmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

A gem of an inn in the friendly town of Gaultois. While we arrived by sailboat we enjoyed a fabulous cod dinner, lunch and several pieces of their homemade pies with ice cream. Susan and Mildred were a wealth of information, great cooks and treated us like family. Our time with them was very special... The inn is immaculately clean and tidy.
The town is full of friendly people, always ready to stop and talk and find out where you are from.
We hiked the trail to the abandoned out post of Piccaire, a three mile hike. The path is very well marked, signs even along the way noting the names of the lakes we were passing.
We enjoyed "Gaultois Days", a three day festival which included bingo, games for the youth (plinko, fishing for prizes, ring toss, etc), homemade stew and rolls, bobber races and a dance for the adults.
After spending three days we are leaving Gaultois with great memories.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lavonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Stayed at the Gaultois Inn for 4 nights for work. The staff are very friendly, rooms are very clean, the food was amazing. Staff went out of their way to accomodate me during my visit. The town itself is surrounded by breath taking views and is definitly a visit if your coming to Newfoundland. For a 1.20$ the boat ride itself is worth it, and even a chance to see some wild life.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 or 5 for the greatest view of the beautiful bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank EddyNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

We headed down to the Coast of Bays in mid May, having visited Newfoundland before and wanting to see this lesser-visited part of the island. We were not disappointed.

Granted, driving down the Bay D'Espoir Highway in something other than a 4x4 might add a little excitement thanks to all the potholes, this is a beautiful drive and you should consider stopping off in one of the smaller towns and breaking your journey. We were fortunate enough to see a black bear, moose, and caribou (okay - one was dead) on our travels.

Getting to Gaultois itself requires parking up at Hermitage (might struggle to find a space) and getting the regular passenger ferry service over to Gaultois (then onwards to McCallum), and the trip is a lovely twenty minutes or so with a decent chance of seeing whales late-May/early-June. Didn't cost too much either for the ferry. It's worth asking the ferrymen if they've seen any whales and considering taking a slight detour if so. We found that there were two humpbacks accompanying the evening "shuttles" between Gaultois and Hermitage the night we stayed.

Gaultois is a lovely and colourful outport sadly affected by the downturn of the fishing industry which has caused many of the population to move away in search of work. It's to be hoped the newer salmon fisheries keep providing opportunities, and if anything could be done to reopen the local fish processing plant then this would give this lovely village the boost it needs to sustain the population. In the meantime hopefully tourism can raise its profile as it so deserves.

The inn itself is situated up on the higher parts of Gaultois and has beautiful vistas of the fiords and sea. We were warmly welcomed by everyone and had a lovely dinner. The room was clean and well presented. We were sad to only stay the one night.

The Inn can organise a number of activities (walking tours etc) and it's worth asking about these as part of your booking to get more of an experience of this intriguing place and its people. We however just enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine and the sunset before a nice breakfast the next morning and the ferry back.

All in all this is a place worth travelling to see before the ways of life change further. You won't regret making the trip!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LittleKaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I have visited Gaultois and agree wholeheartedly that this Inn is lovely.

One evening, however, the person at the Inn and some guys on the dock recommended an event at the Town Hall/Civic Centre.

Much appreciated recco, I planned to attend with bells on, believing this might be fun. After dinner, shower and a dress-up, I did just that !

Uhmm ... No.

Not a soul approached or welcomed me. When I extended my hand in greeting to one of a few men, he basically said: "Who the heck are you and where're ya from ?" I told him who, where and about the Inn but it made no matter. Left shortly afterwards, before the melee...

My takeaway was that the residents of Gaultois are not happy or content individuals. Certainly not friendly to strangers, even well-paying ones.

The guys smoking by the rail there, on the wharf, whatever ... were the best kind, for a time. Advised me to go to the town hall event. But after that intro ? ... Noper. Back to the Inn and quick to the ferry boat outta there for me.

Pity.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AlphaEastofCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We have been seduced by the Coast of Bays of Newfoundland and this charming outport of Gaultois in particular...making the trek back from Australia every summer for the past three years we make sure we spend some time at the Inn. Wonderful views, hospitality and all round enjoyment of the landscape and people. This time we made sure we were there for the Annual Gaultois Music festival and danced all night to Shannaganook...we sure had a time :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bluecharminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gaultois Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaultois Inn

Address: #3 Point Road, Gaultois, Newfoundland and Labrador A0H 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gaultois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gaultois
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Gaultois Inn introduce you to Newfoundland's best kept secret:an authentic outport nestled in the Fiordlands of the dramatic Coast of Bays. Your genuine escape begins here.Leave your stress and worries behind and enjoy the warm hospitality of friendly Gaultons in a majestic setting. EXPERIENCE GAULTOIS! You can hike, sea-kayak or canoe...drop your line in to catch a fish or swim in Cluett's freshwater Pond. You can also relax and enjoy a cup of tea or yarn with local residents on the wharf. You can learn a local craft and enjoy the Newfoundland music in the Inn.Nature abounds in this paradise and the moon and stars are close enough to touch at night!Come home to Gaultois - we can't wait to see you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gaultois Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gaultois Inn Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing