We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation in a fantastic setting.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of An Taigh Soilleir

An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
An Taigh Soilleir Near Completion April 2012
King size bedroom with ensuite wet room
Double Bedroom
Dining Room
Some of the local wildlife
View of hills to the South from rear of An Taigh Soilleir
The machair and beach
Upstairs Sofa/TV area
Upstairs Sofa/TV area - Sofa Bed
Preparing the kitchen for holidaymakers!
Living Room
Lewis Chessmen
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca F
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation in a fantastic setting.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house is well equipped, extremely clean and comfortable. From every window you get a wonderful view. I stayed in it comfortably with 5 other adults. The number of bathrooms is a bonus. There are 4 toilets. The open plan design makes it a pleasant and easy house to stay in. Good local information was also available in the house. It is in a great location because it is not too far from the ferry port at Lochmaddy. The well stocked local shop is also only a few minutes drive from the house. A lovely stretch of sand at the end of the road is great for spotting oyster catchers and sand pipers. We all enjoyed our stay and will certainly be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything! Could not fault a thing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allylcc
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Taigh Soillier - the perfect base for a Hebridean getaway”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully presented and extremely well equipped cottage which added another dimension to our time in the Hebrides. We even found ourselves looking forward to getting back to the house each day as much as anticipating the adventures of going out and about!
We've visited a lot of holiday properties in the last fifteen or so years and this is easily one of the very best. The whole house is immaculately furnished and decorated and is warm, comfortable, cosy and inviting. Each room is spacious and thoughtfully laid out so easily accommodated my wife and I plus our three lively kids. When the weather was kind enough the outside spaces were really handy too.
The kitchen in particular is exceptionally well equipped and ideally suited to cooking for larger families. The attention to detail is second to none - high quality appliances and utensils combined with a plethora of spices, seasonings, foil, cling film make it a real home from home - all the things I usually have to go out and source on arrival were ready and waiting!
The booking process was quick and easy and the communications from the owner swift, courteous and extremely helpful.
All in all, An Taigh Soillier is an exceptional cottage and I thoroughly recommend anyone travelling to Uist to book it if they're lucky enough to find it vacant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig s
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Classy High quality Accommodation.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a great week in An Taigh Soilleir a very classy high spec house with tasteful well thought out decor.We loved the big well equipped kitchen with gorgeous views.It was almost a pleasure to cook in !

There was plenty of bathroom facilities- no queing for showers, loads of towels.
Great little sitting room upstairs with a fabulous selection of books if you fancy a quiet spot to sit and relax great views of Ben Choroodail,Hecla and Ben More.
Also loved the big enclosed back garden to sit out in something you don't always get in Uist.
We would absolutely love to come back to this house certainly the best we've stayed in in Uist to date.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, layout & quality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TatieSale...
Sale, Cheshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful - Paradise”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This was without any doubt the most peaceful place we have stayed on the South Uist. The beach was less than 10 minutes walk to white sand and blue sea for miles.
This place had everything and more and we cannot find any faults with it at all.
As Graham is aware, he just needs the directions from Loch Maddy ferry to be a little clearer but once found, other than going to buy food and wine, just get walking it is superb for that and the scenery inland is also worth it.
ALL in ALL perfect, peaceful, paradise and Graham could not have been more helpful.
Will we return, you bet we will. Thanks Graham we have such wonderful memories of a week at An Taigh Soilleir.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna h
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent property in a central position”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Had a very comfortable stay at An Taigh Soilleir. Property is very well appointed with everything you need.Very central position for touring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was very clean, very well appointed with good quality furnishings.
Liked least: road in front of property (but not a problem)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best holiday rental in the West”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A wonderful modern well built house which is tastefully furnished with everything anyone could wish for. We were sorry to leave it at the end of holiday! My husband is confined to a wheelchair but was able to access the house with minimal assistance and he really appreciated the space inside as well as the neat wet room(s). We have stayed in many rental properties here and abroad some advertised as wheelchair friendly but none was more suitable than An Taigh Soilleir.
The views of the hills from the kitchen window and of the sea from others was a delight as was the total peace and tranquility of the township.
We were blessed with wonderful sunny warm weather waking every day to sunshine which enhanced the entire island.
Loch Sgiport and the islands of Bernaray(North Uist) and Eriskay are well worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and amenities of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
St Laurent en Royans, France
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We spent a week at An Taigh Soileir in October, and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The key word for house itself is 'quality': furniture, decoration, fittings, bedding and equipment are all top of the range and make for an extremely comfortable base, where you immediately feel at home, and which is ideal to explore the Uists and Benbecula. We particularly appreciated the peace and quiet, both inside (with a separate sleeping area) and out (we even had a glimpse of Northern Lights one evening). A well –stocked supermarket only 5 minutes away was an added luxury in the Isles! If we return to this part of the world one day, this is definitely where we'll stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort. An extremely well-appointed house
Liked least: Too far away to go more often!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing