We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Airigh nam Fiadh by the shores of Loch Bee.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Airigh nam Fiadh by the shores of Loch Bee.
'Peat' road leading from the house to Loch Bee. Loch Bee.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Airigh nam Fiadh by the shores of Loch Bee.
'Peat' road leading from the house to Loch Bee.
Loch Bee.
Airigh nam Fiadh is located by the shores of Loch Bee with the South Uist hills in the distance.
Living Room
Sunrise at Airigh nam Fiadh.
Kitchen/Dining Area
Sunrise from the front of the house.
Dining Area
Airigh nam Fiadh completed early 2013.
King Room
Double Room
Twin Room
Living Room leading to Dining Area
Sunrise on Loch Bee.
Sunset on Gerinish beach.
Visiting deer (view from the front door).
Airigh nam Fiadh from the south, overlooking Loch Bee.
South Uist hills (from the patio door).
En suite shower room.
Main bathroom.
Airigh nam Fiadh.
Ponies at Loch Bee.
Cattle on Gerinish machair.
Airigh nam Fiadh.
Swans on frozen Loch Bee.
Swans on Loch Bee.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Scott M
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Superbly comfortable, equipped to the highest standards in the perfect location, both for its views and for touring the outer Hebs. Being so central makes day trips to anywhere from Lewis to Barra very doable - we even managed St Kilda. Dusk deer visits a big bonus. Already rebooked for next year. 5 out of 5, 6 if that was possible. And the BBQ was built by an expert, so grill with confidence :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty C
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation exceeding all expectations”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were expecting that the accommodation would be good as it had excellent reviews but it still exceeded all expectations. The design and layout of the house were brilliant, it felt very spacious and the windows on three sides offered views over the loch, wild ponies and a variety of birdlife, deer on the hillside and spectacular sunsets. It was equipped with everything you could possibly need and more and its cleanliness could not be faulted. Also the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful .
The location was also excellent as it is virtually in the middle of the island chain offering an ideal base for touring.
The Uists were possibly the most amazing place I have ever visited with endless white sandy beaches and a wonderful display of flowers on the machair - and yellow iris looking stunning in the peat moors. We were even priviledged to see an otter at play, not to mention numerous seals. And our hosts even ordered sunshine for us for most of our stay.
We will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avid-Myrt...
Hants UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic! What a lovely house”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just spent a week at this house & we had a great time, 1st time on the island but won't be our last.
The house looks great on the website but is even better in real life.
Spotlessly clean and well maintained this house was a dream to come back to each day.

Allan the owner was great & very helpful.

The location was good for us at the top of South Uist so in the middle of things.
Trying to think of a negative to put you off, so I will be able to book again but can not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole thing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best self catering cottage we have stayed in.”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The owner is very helpful and friendly but not overwhelming. The cottage is very well equipped, modern, very comfortable, very clean and well decorated and has lovely views to the loch and mountains. The location is peaceful and private and well placed for visiting South and North Uists. We were sorry to leave and have booked again for next year!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All the comforts of the mainland with the peace of the Islands”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A comfortable, new cottage finished to a very high standard, with every modern convenience but in the peace and tranquility of the Outer Hebrides. The owners were very friendly and helpful and always willing to advise on what was going on locally. Deer Pasture is well placed to access both South and North Uist and Benbecula, and we found plenty to do in our three weeks there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious, warm and comfortable
Liked least: There was no knife sharpener for the cooking knives!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
50andhapp...
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having stayed in many self-catering properties, we are used to a wide variety of standards. This house was by far the best house that we have ever booked.
Inside the house was warm, bright, comfortable and quiet. All the interior fittings of the house, including the bathrooms and kitchen were of a very high standard, and beautifully done, everything we could possibly need was provided.
The photographs give a true impression of the views from the sitting room and some bedroom windows which are stunning. We could watch a wide variety of bird life from the windows, as well as deer in the evening. Although there was little phone signal and the internet was slow, this made for a better family holiday. We could play DVDs on the large screen at night.
The house is well placed to reach all of the Uists and we made a day trip to Barra and Vatersay which were beautiful. From the house we could walk to the beach which took about 30 minutes. The beach is stunning, one of the party even swam. The beach is on an army range but there was no live firing during our week, so we had full access to the beach and machair. We also fished in the many small lochs, including in front of the house, having bought a weekly permit. It was still quite cold so although there were a few offers, only one small trout was caught.
We received a warm welcome from the owner and his family, and we felt that they were on hand if we needed any help.
In summary, I would recommend this house to any visitor, you cannot fail to be pleased with it. We were very sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect clean well set out interior.
Liked least: Nowhere to hang the coats.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone180...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing accommodation for comfort and location”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have come to the Uists before and stayed in traditional cottage accommodation, but decided to try out a more modern place this year. I am so glad we did. The house is of excellent quality itself, and the fixtures and fittings are of a high quality with everything you could possibly need. We thought perhaps it would be too big for just two of us, but actually we really enjoyed having the space in the living areas. It is certainly big enough for families too.

Travelling out of season the weather is not always great - but the underfloor heating was extremely effective - so much so we didn't really need to use the multi-fuel stove in the lounge - which was almost disappointing!!! The showers were really good - particularly in the en-suite, and the whirlpool bath was welcome after long walks :)

The location is off the main road down a long driveway making far back enough to not be disturbed by traffic, or anything else for that matter. The house is next to the owner’s croft, and other croft land beside it, meaning the views out of the house were often dotted with animals (sheep, ponies etc) and the property is not overlooked at all. Its position just after Loch Bee is perfect for exploring the area and we managed several walks – the best ones being from a book that was in the house, recommended by the MacDonald’s . We were also supplied with a pair of binoculars after mentioning that we had forgotten ours! Thank you!

Allan, who runs the property, is amazingly helpful and thoughtful and was keen to make sure we had a good stay, yet was not intrusive at all. I think the description of the property online is accurate, and once there, it is even better in person. The photographs supplied on the website reflect how the property actually is. Booking was easy.

We definitely want to come back again to this property- sooner rather than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing