We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
196
119
25
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
119
25
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small town an hour comfortable bed great value nice hotel fresh fruit few days historic building top notch hotel is located rome airport street courtyard stable english vacation palazzo
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 350 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018

The hotel is located off a quiet street and set in an attractive courtyard. We stayed in a deluxe suite which was on the top floor with views of the countryside and town from a small balcony. The room had a long corridor and was set out on different levels. There was a seating area accessed on the right down several stairs opening out on to a balcony. Further along the corridor there was a second seating area with a bathroom, then the bedroom.

The room was very large although may not be suitable for everyone due to the stairs. The décor was very dated and had a run-down feel. There was insufficient light and it was so dark you could not see the contents of your suitcase even with the lights on. There were only a couple of small windows in the main bedroom/sitting area which were located very high up making it difficult for any one of average height to open or close them. There was no working air-conditioning so the room was too hot even at the end of March.

The bathroom had a bath with a hand held shower which didn’t suit us as we prefer a shower. There was a double sink, but the toilet and bidet were oddly situated on a higher level with the toilet wedged inches away from the vanity making it difficult to use.

The bathroom was also dated and the only amenities supplied were a flimsy piece of soap and two bottles of body wash. No shampoo, conditioner or moisturiser.
Considering this was one of the best rooms this was poor.

The main issue with the room was the infestation of ants. There were a lot of them in the bathroom and to our disgust there were several in the bed when we woke up. Yuk!!!! As we were only staying one night, arrived in the evening and had to check out early we had no time to deal with the issue whilst at the hotel.

The breakfast was disappointing with no hot options or fresh fruit. The coffee was pre-made in urns and awful by Italian standards.

Although the hotel was a disappointment we cannot praise the staff we dealt with enough. Simona helped us organise taxis and assisted with other questions we had as we stayed at the hotel as part of a self-organised bicycle tour. We were also able to securely store our bikes in the hotel’s garage overnight. Simona was friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Her English is excellent and she is an asset to the hotel. She also assisted with a query we had where the hotel’s restaurant La Scuderie (see separate review) had over-charged us by ‘accidently’ adding a second bottle of wine to our bill.

The hotel’s real asset is the front desk and administrative staff. The hotel itself needs updating and needs to offer a better breakfast. For EUR 150 a night for a deluxe room, given the location, dated décor, poor breakfast and ant issue the hotel didn’t offer great value compared to similar properties we have stayed in previously.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio B, Direttore at Hotel Relais Falisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Mr.KV,

We are so sorry you found the hotel poor in its furniture and equipment, we'll take into consideration all your observations trying to improve our quality standards. Our rooms are carefully checked before the Guests arrival: we'll ask to pay more attention on it.
During the breakfast service Guests can ask for either coffee or cappuccino to the staff and have American coffee in our samovar if they prefer.

Thanks for your comments and we are happy you apprecieted our front desk staff.

We send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way to Rome airport and I felt that was just the right amount of time for us. The hotel is a bit quirky - they try to have the hotel's luxurious insignia everywhere possible but then the room didn't have a safe, only had tea but no coffee, had a hodge podge of furniture, a tiny tv, a plastic tiny shower (but you can sit down in it), and a door that if you try to lock from the inside will get jammed and you may struggle to get out. Even though I could hear the upstairs guests, the hotel did have soundproofing on the doors and the windows when closed seemed to keep the noise out. There was a lot of decent sitting areas downstairs and on the patio. The breakfast was ok (pretty bad coffee but an ok selection of breakfast essentials). The service was generally efficient and amiable. The restaurant, which I will review separately, was the nicest part of the hotel!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alizehhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio B, Direttore at Hotel Relais Falisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2017

Dear Mr. Alizeh H.
We are sorry your stay was not as nice as you expected and we'll try our best to improve the quality of our service so thanks for underlining what you think it was not ok.

Hopefully you'll come and see Relais Falisco in the future!

We send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We visited here because of the great reviews, and we were not disappointed. The front desk staff are friendly, and spoke excellent English. The rooms were unique as it is a converted mansion. The parking is inside, so drive in the door off the street to find it. This may not be unique, but it was the only hotel we stayed at that had parking in the courtyard. The restaurant was exceptional.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanB2693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio B, Direttore at Hotel Relais Falisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear Mr.Bryan B.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and your meal at Le Scuderie!
We do hope we'll welcome you at Relais Falisco in the future.

Thanks so much!

We send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Relais Falisco was the perfect starting point for our Umbrian vacation. Driving from Rome, I didn't want to drive too far after flying for 8 hours, so this was a reasonable distance (about an hour). It is located in the enchanting small town of Civita Castellana in an historic building hundreds of years old, a former palazzo. It features an underground spa that you reserve for an hour or so for private enjoyment of a sauna and hot tub. The staff was so accommodating I felt that they were our personal concierge. The town is lively and the local people were out in the streets enjoying life in the piazza nearby. The room was very comfortable and reasonably priced. Their restaurant is top notch as well.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank girlsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio B, Direttore at Hotel Relais Falisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Mr.Girlsingr,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Relais Falisco and had the opportunity to discover a nice small town as Civita Castellana.

We really hope to welcome you again at Relais Falisco.

We send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

This is a very nice old hotel located in a small town. We stayed overnight on our way south and loved everything. Big,comfortable room, nice meal in the courtyard and good value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callisto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio B, Direttore at Hotel Relais Falisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Mr.Callisto,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Relais Falisco and really hope to welcome you again!

Thanks so much for your kind words.

We send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews