We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
67
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top class excellent breakfast off road parking bed and breakfast full english village centre julie bath house
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 71 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

third pleasurable visit to this top class guest house,faultless in every way,spotlessly clean superb breakfast and fantastic hosts Julie and Andrew whom will go the extra mile to cater for your every need looking forward to going back again

Room Tip: take your pick all rooms excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulietNorthYorkshire, Owner at Yew Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

It was good to see you again and pleased you enjoyed the Dickensian weekend. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate it. Look forward to seeing yu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Tucked away in a tiny back street is this lovely guest house. Julie and Andrew made us very welcome and looked after us well. There is a porch for muddy boots and our wet coats were dried for us by the Aga. We were travelling with friends so having a comfortable sitting area beyween our lovely bedrooms was brilliant for sharing an aperatif (wine glasses provided!) and planning the next day. The rooms were both lovely and had everything we needed and some things we didn't (like a bath robe and i-pod dock). Breakfast was lovely with home made bread for the toast and fres fruit along with the usual offerings and some more unusual ones which can be pre-ordered the night before. There are some good eating places in Grassington and this proved to be an excellent base for an all-too-short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlinwizardYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great place nestled at the bottom Gateway to the Dales. Great hospitality, warm & friendly hosts and terrific view from our spacious room. Big bathroom, lovely local shower products also. Walking distance to a beautiful little village with nostalgic buildings, great pubs and shops. We used our B&B as a base for riding our bikes around the dales. Great to have a weather report provided each morning and Our hosts cooked a scrumptious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts; lovely, comfortable bed; good quality breakfast (including fish if you like); really nice bathroom with great organic toiletries. And really close to the main square to boot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Conveniently located within a couple of minutes walk from Grassington village centre and it’s pubs/eating places, this traditional style guesthouse is a good base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. I’d recommend that you check for directions in advance on Google Street View or similar as the house is tucked down a narrow road at the edge of the village. It provides a peaceful setting but you're unlikely to drive-by unless you're lost. There is parking for a few cars on the driveway.

We were running later than scheduled for our arrival after exploring nearby Malham in almost tropical temperatures however Julie was on hand to meet us with some welcome iced lemon water. We had pre-booked the “Green Room” on the first floor level direct by phone at £84 B&B.

It was decorated in a light traditional fashion and with windows to the front and side it was bright and reasonably spacious. We were only staying one night and didn’t unpack our bags however there was adequate wardrobe and drawer space for a longer stay. Tea/coffee making facilities, a small flat screen television, radio/clock alarm and even a hot water bottle were provided - not that we needed the latter. We visited during an unusually hot spell of weather which made for an uncomfortably warm night for sleeping, not helped personally by a very soft mattress. Everyone of course has preferences in this regard and it may be ideal for others!

The ensuite had an electric shower in a compact cabinet - no bath. Lavender toiletries were provided.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor around a communal dining table and included a traditional bacon, eggs, sausage, selection together with a few options which could be pre-selected the night before - e.g. scrambled egg with salmon or smoked fish. Prepared fresh fruit was also available to accompany cereals and homemade jam for the toast. I found the scrambled egg with salmon a bit over salted but breakfast in general was pleasant in the company of fellow guests with Julie & Sandy as hosts joining the conversation.

In the evening we dined at The Foresters Arms in the village which provides a reasonable selection of pub meals.

Overall I’d say that this is a very pleasant looking traditional guesthouse with friendly hosts well located in a peaceful village for exploring the Dales. We enjoyed a hike across to Conistone Dib with lunch at nearby Kilnsey on our second day in the area. Guide maps and advice can be obtained from the helpful local Tourist Information Centre/Gift Shop (where parking is also available for £4 for the day after check-out). The guesthouse also has lots of information about the area in the residents lounge on the first floor if you’ve got the time to browse and see http://www.grassingtonweb.co.uk/walks/index.asp for many suggested trails.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rantinrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews