We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chinese food in New Hamburg”

Hong's Chinese & Canadian
Ranked #15 of 21 Restaurants in New Hamburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Baden, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“chinese food in New Hamburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Have bought here several times and have never been disappointed. Very good food.Have only done takeout.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heatbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Krazy good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Best Chinese food. The only place i go for chinese great price. Very good sevice.Get it every time I'm in town

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skeyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I agree, JUST TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was a complete waste of money.Overcooked, bland,unedible. Homemade hot sauce?Are you kidding me?That was Franks Hot Sauce right out of the bottle,and what was it doing on the General Taos Chicken? A soggy mess. Never again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Raven444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sorry... JUST TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The only reason we wwent to try this place out was due to the reviews. It was so disappointing! First of all, I'm sure the proprietors are very proud of thir establishment, but if people don't alert them to the flaws then they won't correct them.
Here's the flaws: The table cloth had blood stains on it!
There was dirt and dust everywhere. It was just plain dirty.
The utensils had to be sent back due to being dirty. The second set looked the same.
The food.... horrible. VERY salty! Nothing was made from scratch. It was all processed food.
This, sorry to say, was the worst Asian/Chinese food restaurant I have ever eaten at and if you go I hope you have a better experience.
If I the owners had been rude I would definitely have sent the food back and left. I couldn't even finish my meal, it was so bad. I felt bad for them but out of respect, we just won't return or recommend the restaurant.
There's so much room for improvement. Maybe that's why we wee the only patrons.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank canadasrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I am a real lover of Asian/Chinese food and this is the best I have ever had.
Each dish tastes different. The veggies are always crisp and fresh and the meats tender.
Never too much salt either. Try the home made "hot sauce". It adds some good zip to the food if you like it spicy.
I recommend take out only. You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong's Chinese & Canadian also viewed

New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
 
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
 
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Hong's Chinese & Canadian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing