We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
9
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsportugalportuguesecarislandcasahousepico
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 24 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at this B&B, and really liked it a lot. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the place is just great, both the house itself as the decoration. Nice breakfast as well. Quite remote though, so a car is needed. I experienced some barking dogs early in the morning. Overall a great stay.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Companion599264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2015

Very nice place in a quiet location, as the street ends at the hotel. Very nice view to the coast and the village of Sao Roque.
We had a very nice and big room, upstairs, with a little french balcony and sea view (and to the island of Sao Jorge). You need to have a car to stay there, because there is only a small snack bar within walking distance. We walked down to the city, it took about 45 minutes.
The owner Norberto is very helpful and the staff is very nice, especially if you try to speak a few words portuguese!
Very good breakfast with local products.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2015

We only spent one night at Casa do Comendador. Our ground floor room had French windows opening straight into the street which overlooked the sea and the island of Sao Jorge. Elegantly furnished, the spotless room felt comfortable and stylish. The breakfast buffet was nicely laid out in an elegant dining room and there was plenty of delicious bread, cereals, fruit, home made jams, cheeses and hams. The house is located in a quiet spot of Sao Roque and felt nicely secluded.

Room Tip: If booking via booking.com, get the hotel to confirm your booking directly.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank swissmissis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent three nights at this B and B.We had a ground floor room overlooking the sea. It was attractively furnished in contemporary style with plenty of hanging and drawer space.The bathroom was modern but rather dark. All the linen was monogrammed which looked very "classy" but the towels were rather thin and not very absorbent.Certainly couldn't be described as fluffy!
The breakfast was very good although the only cooked food was hard boiled eggs.The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is free WiFi in the rather grand sitting room.To get into the building via the main door there is quite a steep flight of steps and even more steps to reach the rooms on the higher floors.
I would say that the main drawback is the relative isolation which means that the only place to eat within walking distance is a snack bar. We were told that they did meals but when we went there, they could only provide a sort of burger and chips because it was the chef's day off! People who went later than we did fared better, because someone decided to ask the chef to come in as there was clearly a demand for meals!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyP1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very well run refurnished old house in a small village, providing an excellent quiet spot for a superb stop in your everyday rush. It is a pleasant house to stay and discover everything that central azorean triangle islands (Faial, S. Jorge, Pico) has to offer. If you don't have your own car, the owners are always very helpful to come and fetch you at the Airport, which is at a direct flight distance (two hours) from Lisbon. Excellent value, with superb views across the sea to São Jorge island. Quality of breakfast is excellent and may include any special request. If you prefer to stay in a separate house, with the same breakfast and house facilities as in the main building, you may rent a two-room house with the same view at a walking distance from the main building, with the same cleanliness. This was our first choice in Pico island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miguel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews