We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing cottage and great base for the area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Artist's Cottage

holidays to remember
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
holidays to remember
overlooks Mounts Bay relax and look out over the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
holidays to remember
overlooks Mounts Bay
relax and look out over the sea
artists cottage, the perfect seaside cottage
open plan first floor
top of the private, enclosed garden
one man and his dog on the beach below
breathtaking sea views
the well equipped kitchen
airy bedroom with en suite
bathroom/ wet room with walk-in shower
cosy mezzanine
bedroom 3, double bed
single mezzanine bed
sunny garden,  the patio has uninterrupted sea views
summer kitchen & BBQ
south facing, sunny location
the Mount from the garden
pet friendly
Marazion has great family beaches, all within walking distance
sunny, colourful, comfortable interior
one of the most beautiful bays in the world
views of the bay from the patio
unrestricted dog walking beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Martin D
Southampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing cottage and great base for the area”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a photographer I was looking for somewhere relaxing and peaceful as a base to explore Marazion and the wider area and this place was perfect. It is small, quaint and excellently located on the outskirts of Marazion, around five/ten minutes walk from the centre and beach, with a magnificent view of St Michael's Mount from the living area and garden. It is a small property but great use had been made of the space, with a good-sized living area. It is also well-equipped with all the utilities, appliances, cutlery etc. that I needed, and more. To top it all I found on arrival all the aerial for a fresh cream tea, which was just what I needed after a long journey from Hampshire. The parking provided for one car is easy to find as long as you pay attention to the details sent by the owner when you book.

Marazion itself is a delight, and while I expect it becomes quite crowded in high season was lovely at this time of year, even when the weather was a bit sketchy. I would love to return to Marazion in the future, and I can't see any reason why I wouldn't go back to the Artists Cottage when I do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself - unique and homely
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timna2013
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magic cottage”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The setting is spectacular. We spent late afternoons sipping complementary drinks at the end of the little walled garden watching rabbits in the field below, the only thing between us and the Atlantic and St Michael's Mount. Two evenings a week the monastery is floodlit and seems to float like an exotic golden candle. The cottage is charming, exceptionally well-equipped and comfortable. We don't drive so walked or caught buses, but could have happily filled another week, easy to get to Penzance and St Ives and from there, a plethora of places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views, wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week staying in this cottage. Perfect location, with truly amazing views of the sea and St Michael's Mount from the house and garden. Loved the little outdoor kitchen and mini bar - thank you. House is lovely too. Compact but with everything you need. We are a family of four and we did not feel squashed. Kitchen is exceptionally well equipped. Both sofas very comfortable. Our children loved the room above the lounge and having an ensuite on the second floor was great. Wet room was fantastic, really spacious. We were very comfortable. Walk to the main beach was not particularly long, an easy 10 minute stroll each day. We have two young children and we went to the beach everyday and they didn't moan once, which is really saying something. There is another rocky beach closer to the house which we did visit a couple of times to dip in and around the rock pools, but we ended up at the main beach each day as it was close to cafes, toilets etc. Parking space a godsend and just across from the cottage. Totally recommend the cottage and Marazion. Perfect for a great family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padiham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: views and loaction wonderful
Liked least: I could not access the beach without a fair walk
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
The cottage has an unusual and quirky layout but there is adequate space for six, including children. There is also a garden with the most amazing sea views so ample space inside and out. The rooms are fairly small but its a typical traditional cornish cottage.
The coastal path and access to the beach in front of the cottage is under 300 metres from the cottage. We are surrounded by beaches, most are within comfortable walking distance but more than 300 metres away. Perhaps you didn't find the beach infront of the cottage, which is dog friendly all year around, for which I apologise and in future will leave instructions for our guests.
There is designated parking in the private car park opposite the cottage. Photo's and parking instructions are included in the information sent to our visitors and so far no one has had a problem finding it. I am sorry you had difficulty. I will leave contact details of a neighbour, who will be more than happy to give directions, at the cottage for anyone experiencing the same confusion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nosnittap
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beyond our expectations”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay in a beautiful town.
5 minute walk to main square. Good quiet pub right next door. All the mod cons needed for a stay: decent knives, lots of glasses and plates, new laundry machines, great showers.
Olivia had scones & clotted cream waiting for us as well as a bottle of wine.
Great view of St. Michaels mount from both the windows and the private garden.
Overall this was far better than we hoped for--highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt like a home
Liked least: Can't really think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ArtsyAnne
Maitland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional view, delightful cottage!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is enchanting and cozy. There are three levels: a full bathroom with gigantic walk-in shower, laundry facilities and a double bedroom on the ground floor; a tiny kitchen, dining area and lounge on the first floor as well as a small master bedroom with sink and wc; and a mezzanine bedroom which is not designed for tall people. My husband loved the heated towel racks in both bathrooms! The bed in the master is pushed against the wall making it difficult to get in and out of the bed.
The view was beautiful and serene, however the bedrooms are all on the High Street and traffic during the evening is active.
All of the amenities in the cottage are top quality. And the cream tea and bottle of wine provided by the owner on our arrival was certainly appreciated. Having a private, off-street space for the car was wonderful. However we were disappointed that the wifi would not support our iPad although it would most other computers.
The weather which was rainy and very windy during our stay did not allow us to enjoy the summer kitchen and patio dining but the view of St. Michael's Mount floating outside our window more than made up for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whitewashed and soft calm colors used throughout
Liked least: Master bedroom very cramped
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing