We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
30
58
47
36
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
58
47
36
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews some tlc jacuzzi and sauna full body massage beautiful library decent size overnight stop spa weekend grade listed building grounds are lovely went out of her way full english edwardian character products
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 206 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Booked a twin room, decent size with a double and a single bed. Beds comfortable and bedding clean. The room generally could do with some tlc, new coat of paint, some deep cleaning around the shower area etc. The breakfast was lovely, in a good sized room, so you didn't feel crammed in. Reasonably priced, and the ability to bring our dogs with us was a huge bonus. It would be useful to have some advice regarding the hotel, eg WiFi code, breakfast times and evacuation protocol as the reception is not staffed at night. Despite this I would be happy to stay again.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

The good..
Beautiful from the outside & free parking
Breakfast is cooked to order & the tea is good

The bad...
The staff are non existent...
No food... a bar that doesn’t open unless you ask at reception but only till 9pm.. and the drinks are warm.. flat... if you want ice you get an ice bucket to grab with your hands.. decor resembles a nursing home..
don’t dare ask for an iron or hairdryer... I was told they had 1 hairdryer & that was out... I made a fuss & low & beyond anther appeared...
Reception closes at 9pm & you get a side door key.. only problem is there are no light outside the side door which is located up 2 sets of stone steps surrounded by bushes, twigs across a pebble car park.
Rooms locating .. my top tip.. you need sat nav or a nap.. as the building is like a maze.. up a few steps across a random landing up more stairs.. rooms numbers make no sense..
Old fashioned decor... very old!!

The ugly..
Extra pillows had no pillow cases
Toilet is possessed and noisey as was the sink..

And finally
Could be beautiful but needs a lot of modernising.. a lot of cleaning and some staff trying..

Not suitable for people with wheelchairs or problems getting up stairs..
Check your bills as several in our group were overcharged and had additional things they hadn’t had.. drinks etc

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank suleake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Hotel set in Edwardian house, looks like it was last decorated in the 1950s. Needs renovation as sewage smell fills the room after flushing the toilet or turning on shower, shower is designed for dwarves. Good full English breakfast and staff are fantastic

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank GarySavage84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

I'm and optimist so nothing was so bad that it was awful but I did feel it was overpriced considering that most of the facilities on offer aren't available. The staff are lovely and doing their best but it's being run by about 5 people. They don't have the staff to make up the rooms mid stay. They direct you to your corridor rather than taking you to your room. The shower drainage is very poor causing me to stop/start the shower during showering so it doesn't overflow. The pool isn't available until after the breakfast service has finished so no early morning swim. There were no therapist on site for treatments these have to be arrange prior to arrival we arrived on a Friday asking for Saturday and if they could call the therapist to arrange (I don't think they even tried to contact any therapists- A lot of the staff are very young and seem inexperienced to deal with requests as they aren't aware of what they have permission to do or autonomy to problem solve) The restaurant and bar are permanently closed (apart from breakfast which is served in an hour and a half window) and watch out if it rains some of the corridor ceilings were leaking.

That said it's a lovely building, with some beautiful features, just needs an investment in repairs and staff. The staff that were there were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousKitten73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

My sister in law booked us in (party of 4) for a wedding nearby. The hotel has some very good staff, Rachel in reception was excellent. Luckily we read the reviews about no evening meal or a bar that opens. We decided to take our own supply with portable fridges. We would never dream of doing this but the hotel management are clearly not the least bit interested as evidenced by never responding to the reviews. I believe its family run. Can I suggest they pack it in and sell it to someone that actually has a clue on how to run a hospitality establishment,

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews