We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a lovely alpine town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We recently stayed here on a Road Scholar hiking tour and it was a great treat. The hotel owner is charming, knowledgeable and one of the hardest working in the hotel business. His two hotels are beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained with love and tradition. The staff are helpful, the meals were excellent and the setting could not be more beautiful. The town offers a great location to immerse yourself in nature while enjoying a historic and beautiful town. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: A corner room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017

Tremendous location, service and rooms. For my family of 6 we had suites 401 and 402. They were impeccable. Clean, with stone walls and wood beams. I felt like I was living in a 200 year old Swiss/Italian Alps home, with all of the amenities of the 21st century. The Gerard family mother and son, as well as the staff, made us feel like we were visiting a friends home. It was incredibly nice. They did everything to exceed our every wish. Each room had an interior and exterior door which gave us access to a little terrace on the street or a private patio in the back. It was perfect for us traveling with children. I felt the prices were very reasonable. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Sixonthego_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I had a single room, a fair size. Bed was a King-sized single (ie. almost, but not quite, a double) and was VERY COMFORTABLE; plenty of storage space in large cupboard with many hangers & several drawers; wall-mounted TV (28cm?); writing table and chair; bedside cabinet; No balcony, no picturesque view from window (but I didn't need one, got the views from the cross-country skiing!); overall cleanliness 7/10; Only noise came from toilet flushing in other rooms! (though this didn't bother me, as I probably went to bed later than most people)

Bathroom: a good size with very good underfloor heating - enough to warm up the whole room not just the bathroom, I didn't need to have the radiators on! large basin; fair-sized shower cubicle with "rain" shower head as well as hand-held removable shower head (BUT mine had 2-3 cracks that water spilled out of, a minor annoyance)

Breakfast: Started at 8am; very good buffet (cheeses, meats, cakes,sliced white & brown bread, croissants, cereals, jams, fruit juices (3 types, all 100% juice), toaster and egg boiler; coffee was good (teas also available)

Evening Meal: We were on a half-board package and this was taken in nearby Hotel Saint'Orso (100m walk), from 19:30 - food generally very good with a really excellent, well stocked help-yourself salad buffet (with many special delicacies as well as the standard salad leaves and vegetables).

Hotel & Restaurant Staff were very friendly and approachable - service, especially at the evening meals, could be a bit erratic, but I was in a large group of around 20 cross-country skiers, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt!

Ski-room was a bit small for waxing, with only one table and anyone collecting their skis would get in your way.

Spa: I hate Saunas and Steam rooms! So only made use of the massage facility - I asked for and got an excellent acu-pressure neck, shoulder & back massage. Other people in my group enjoyed other massages and seemed to like the Sauna etc.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GreggyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

A wonderful experience.... We stayed here with our little hill walking group of 9 adults, for a week from 15th September... What a fabulous little hotel, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, and a bonus to have a spa after a long day in the mountains. I will be back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DenaOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hotel near the centre of town. The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds and excellent showers with rainfall shower heads. Parking is in the nearby council area and is free with a pass from the hotel. Breakfast buffet is good with many choices including fresh boiled eggs and choice of coffee. The restaurant for dinner is not on the premises but at a sister hotel. The only downside is that the rooms can be a little noisy at night if they face the piazza. I would request a room at the rear of the hotel if I stayed there again. All the staff are excellent and very helpful

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank roamingbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Excellent little spa hotel. Stayed there for a long weekend whilst walking in and around Cogne. Great breakfasts and a lovely central location ideal for accessing the whole village. Spa is small but the hotel was not busy and it was a great place to relax after a long day on the hill.
Certainly be going back some time.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boquillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, very calm hotel in the center of Cogne. We arrived late, but it was not a problem. After some ski (ski resort - not very big - is reachable by a free bus), we used the small spa at the 4th floor of the hotel (for free), small but very nice!! Nice breakfast buffer, and a goodbye gift!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntl_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogne
0.3 km away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Cogne
605 reviews
27.3 km away
Parc Hotel Billia
Parc Hotel Billia
#1 of 10 in Saint-Vincent
700 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Eco Wellness Hotel Notre Maison
0.1 km away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#7 of 17 in Cogne
292 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#2 of 6 in Gressan
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita

Address: Dottor Grappein, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Price Range: $154 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing