We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location.”
Review of Hotel Maga Circe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maga Circe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We have just returned after a 7 night stay in Hotel Maga Circe. We loved this holiday and not particularly because of the hotel. The location is spectacular. with incredible views. It is one of those hotels which is difficult to describe. Yes it is dated and lacked proper electric facilities like simple wall sockets for charging mobiles etc. The staff were not all friendly in particular the waiters who in some cases were rude and dismissive of guests. Because we were part of a group we were obliged, each evening, while we were having dinner, to select from a menu for the FOLLOWING evening! To expect a guest to select their meal for the following day while they were still eating their current one, was the most ludicrous and insulting situation I have ever experienced. I cannot understand why guests did not refuse to accept this ridiculous procedure. Having said all that, the food was pretty good. Only one member of staff appeared to speak english and she only worked during the day.The surrounding area of the hotel i.e. the pool, the poolside bar and lounge were first class.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoos and conditioners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you didn't like the way we organize our restaurant service with groups. It's been many years since we have aranged that with the company that hostes your tour in the area and we had no complains until now. We are at their complete disposal in order to reconsider the service.
We are happy that the procedure has not prevented you from appreciating the quality of our food and that you enjoyed the surrounding area.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Although the hotel is beautifully situated- feels like you are on a boat, there is no beach! There is a great pool, however, with a very attentive pool staff. The rooms are very 1960's and so is the air conditioning, which made sleeping a challenge on a couple of very hot nights. The breakfast is very simple, especially compared to most hotels in Italy that include a breakfast buffet. The lunch and dinner menu (the same) is very pricey although the food is quite good and there are no half portions for children nor a children's menu. The bar menu is limited, not too expensive and quite good. In fact, for a hotel listed as kid- friendly, the wait- staff wasn't always friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

A difficult review to write as it's not straightforward so I left it for a while but here goes.

After a week's stay the initial staff attitude, maybe a bit defensive, seemed to open right up and they became very friendly. They were absolutely marvellous in how they took great care of my elderly Mum and I must re-iterate my thanks to them. A broken blind was mended the same day. They're only human, just like us, a "Good morning", "Please" and "thank you" goes a long way. I thought they were great.

Breakfast? - again, it was an OK buffet, but not one you'd talk about when you got home but a terrific terrace sea-front location.

Swimming Pool/Bar area - really lovely. Clean and big. Designated sun loungers are yours for your whole stay so no panic about not getting one. There's also little private beach for you to use.

Here's the rub. The main hotel rooms, reception and dining room need major refurbishment. This is not a question of style or taste but the fabric itself is showing it's age. The prices Maga Circe charge set an expectation level that isn't wholey met. The actual room/bathrooom interior is probably 2 star. The view is 5 star. It's a good hotel that could be great.

Conundrum for the management is: If we can already charge high rates and get the occupancy levels we need/want then what incentive is there to do anything? To be honest, there didn't seem to be no real hotel competition in Circeo San Felice either.

I've come to a conclusion that opinions of this hotel seem to be split between the younger/middle aged visitor and a more "mature" visitor. The latter seem very happy with their experience based on older seaside hotels where the former, younger/middle aged, more travelled? age group seem less convinced.

As I said at the beginning it's a difficlut review to write. The Maga Circe? Great in a few areas. Could do so much better. Hence my 3

Room Tip: The main reason to stay here is the sea view; make sure you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tiger_Tim_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. It really sums our own feeling about our place. But I must add that the interior common areas has been redone completly less than 8 years ago. It is a long period of time indeed, but keep in mind that even if we are open all the year round, we basicly work only 4 months a year so we are surprised that you noticed such a big damage on the fabrics. Most of the rooms have been refurniched even though the style is still the same. Only a couple of days ago a guest complained about it. Funny is she was complaining about forniture that had been bought in May 2017. Sometimes our work is very frustrating exactly because of that kind of judgements.
It is true that we give all our energy to the exteriors, but soon we will also take care of the interiors again and we hope that everybody will see the difference.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

I give it a 3 because you'll be disappointed by the room. Not sure what rooms they have taken pictures of but your room will probably be like the one in my pictures. They do need to be renovated. Our sink was clogged and it smelled like sewer.

You definitely go there for the outstanding and relaxing view. The swimming pool was very nice as well and the staff was very polite.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nonstoferma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

You booked a basic room, which is onE of the 5 different tipology of rooms we offer.
Tripadvisor provide a few pictures taken directly by their own photografer here:
https://www.tripadvisor.it/Hotel_Review-g736282-d574191-Reviews-Hotel_Maga_Circe-San_Felice_Circeo_Province_of_Latina_Lazio.html#photos;geo=736282&detail=574191&aggregationId=106

In case you will come back to San Felice Circeo and decide to bo our guest, we suggest to book a Deluxe room, which boats a a huge french door on the balcony overlooking the sea. Tripadvisor provides some pictures here
https://www.tripadvisor.it/Hotel_Review-g736282-d574191-Reviews-Hotel_Maga_Circe-San_Felice_Circeo_Province_of_Latina_Lazio.html#photos;geo=736282&detail=574191&ff=227127731&albumViewMode=hero&aggregationId=101&albumid=101&baseMediaId=227127731&thumbnailMinWidth=50&cnt=30&offset=-4&filter=4&autoplay=

We are sorry we haven't been informed of the problem to the sink during your staying, we would have tried to solve it or move you to another room.

We are really glad that you liked our outdoor area and our staff.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stayed for one night whilst locally for a wedding and the location of he hotel is definitely the selling point as the views are amazing and I could have stayed a lot longer.

The pool is wonderful and unusual for us being salt water which was a nice change and felt like being in the sea which is just over the wall from the end of the pool and all you can see.

The room was great with air con and clean bathrooms and the best shutters I have ever used as was completely dark in the room and working nights at home would love those.

The sound of the sea whilst waking and having breakfast is delightful and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again in the future

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words, we are very pleased to having been able to offer you a nice staying with us and we hope to have you again at Maga Circe.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Really poor stay at Hotel Maga Circe... from stale croissants to stucked sinks, harsh personnel, and weak air conditioning. The only thing which is top notch is the price: they will charge you everything during your stay. Do not miss this place if you are adamant to ruin your vacation in Italy!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ErPastaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your staying with us, but most of all we are sorry that you didn't speak out your complains during your staying. That really deprive us of any chance to offer a better service. This is mostly important when a guest has a complaint about people working with us. We will be very glad to learn more about that and I kindly ask you to contact our manager via phone or email, you will find our reference on your invoice.
I would like to add that we are not an all inclusive venue, so of course we charge extras.
Thank you for ginving us the chance to explain our point of view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent 12 days at this hotel and
enjoyed every single one of them. This was our fourth stay here, which implies, rightly, that it suits us well.

The hotel is well very well run; every member of staff from reception, to restaurant, to pool, to room is friendly and efficient, in a laid back and endearing way. In particular the restaurant staff are special; they are knowledgeable about wine and are humorous and friendly. The food was delicious, whether it came from the daily menu or the a la carte. Some of the pasta dishes had to be eaten on a regular basis, so tasty were they.

We had sublimely hot and sunny weather and to go to the pool each day, knowing that our towels would be laid out for us, took away any 'sun bed anxiety ' that might otherwise have existed.

We made a great connection with the Mediterranean, by means of our private balcony which was accessed via a wall to ceiling ' window/wall' and via the sea side restaurant. A lot of catamaran-watching went on. We also shopped in San Felice's specialist shops and ran each morning along the promenade.

So, a really relaxing happy, happy time was had. Thanks to everyone who made it so good.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PatBillLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor's users. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felice Circeo
3.4 km away
Hotel Punta Rossa
Hotel Punta Rossa
#1 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
205 reviews
10.8 km away
Oasi di Kufra
Oasi di Kufra
#1 of 9 in Sabaudia
474 reviews
39.2 km away
Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
#1 of 12 in Ponza Island
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
0.6 km away
Circeo Park Hotel
Circeo Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
289 reviews
13.2 km away
Hotel Centosedici
Hotel Centosedici
#3 of 13 in Terracina
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maga Circe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maga Circe

Address: Via Ammiraglio Bergamini 7, 04017, San Felice Circeo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > San Felice Circeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in San Felice Circeo
Price Range: C$114 - C$543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maga Circe 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maga Circe is a traditional 4 star family run hotel in Lazio, set in the beautiful Tyrrhenian coast, a hundred kilometers south of Rome, in the splendid Circeo National Park. Our hotel lies in a quiet, residential area, at the foot of the Circeo promontory and not far from the famous sandy beach of San Felice. The area is so beautiful that, according to the tradition, in Thirties it was chosen to build a large villa by one of Benito Mussolini's son, Bruno. The rooms of our hotel offer a breathtaking view: they are all overlooking the promontory or the sea. Well furnished and comfortable, they are equipped with TV, mini-bar and air conditioning; many rooms even have a panoramic balcony. You can also enjoy our large swimming pool with sea water and our little private sandy access to the sea shore. And besides all this, our hotel offers a large terrace, a beautiful veranda for your business meetings, a large hall for your receptions and events, a nice room with a cozy fireplace to warm your winter evenings... The Hotel Maga Circe in San Felice Circeo has everything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maga Circe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maga Circe Italy/San Felice Circeo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing