We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Beach Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Beach Getaway”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What to say what to say... OH YEAH, this place is beautiful and quite posh (with the little pitcher of lime water in the lobby and such. The restaurant, (pretty much your only option if your staying here) is way expensive. But the beach and water are hot and clean, and it can get crowded, so watch out. So , in closing nice place, bring you sandals but pretty much out of the way of anything, your pretty secluded here. So yah, look at the title.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleGIrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    437
    151
    67
    35
See reviews for
451
522
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I agree with much of the content in other reviews here. The resort is secluded. It is very peaceful and family-friendly. The service was good. The staff was friendly and helpful, but they keep "island time." The food selection isn't great as mentioned, but some of the dishes were really good. Only breakfast is buffet-styled. The other meals are by menu. The grounds were nice and well kept, but not spectacular. The seaweed on the beach didn't bother me. In fact, I think it draws in fish and allows them places to hide. We saw a nice variety of fish on the resort. Gilligan's Island was nice, but rather crowded with a party atmosphere every time we visited.

Now the major complaints.....we felt that the all-inclusive was quite overpriced. Especially since they made it a point that tips were not included. You sign a bill for everything that you order, including drinks. Our room was bad. We stayed in Building 3. Saying that the room needed remodeling would be quite the understatement. The room was not kept clean. There were many battle scars in the room from the ongoing war against mosquitoes. There were some spiders living on the ceiling, but I didn't mind them that much because I saw them as allies in the war. We saw a centipede and a cockroach in the room. During our 5-night stay, the toilet clogged 3 times. The rooms badly need sound proofing. We heard the people above us when they moved furniture, the people talking outside in the neighboring patios, the people talking inside in the neighboring rooms, the people talking in the hallway outside our door, and especially the people getting ice from the ice machine located right outside our room. The loud AC unit did help to drown out all of this noise, when it was running.

In conclusion, fixing up the rooms would go a long way to improving this resort, but we don't see ourselves returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear “disapointed":
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your recent stay at Copamarina Beach Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations. As guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, we take such comments very seriously.

We do offer only fresh produce and seafood (caught daily from local waters) in our restaurants, and our bars are equipped with a full array of standard and top-shelf premium brands (which are rarely available in other all-inclusive packages). We do have several meal plan options available to our guests, including a European Plan or “a la carte”. We do present consumption checks to all guests to maintain inventory controls.

The resort is currently undergoing a $1 million guest room renovation plan that is intended to be completed by November of this year. The renovations will include improved sound insulation between rooms to avoid unwanted noise. We also apologize for the unwanted "visitors" in the room, as a beach front property we put extra efforts on our pest control to keep them in the outdoors areas . Be assured that we have contacted our provider to review the effectiveness of their program.

Additionally, based upon your comments, the ice machine will be relocated to a different area to reduce the noise factor. Once again, we do apologize for the problems encountered during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to make it up to you, please contact me personally if you would like to visit us again.
Kind regards,

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
rortiz@copamarina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Service was good. Shower was leaking and in need of repair. They did come to investigate and said they would repair. If you are looking for rest and relaxation, this is a place to consider!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanetrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
277 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I recently went to Copamarina for 4 nights with my wife. Having been a frequent visitor for the last 18 years, we encountered this resort in better shape and condition than ever. It maintains its Caribbean plantation/South Pacific charm. The rooms are perfectly maintained and daily maid service is outstanding. All of they new units blend right in with the older ones which are kept in mint condition. The general ambiance at the resort is very peaceful and conducive to a graeat romantic getaway or a family vacation. There are two separate pool areas which contribute to different types of vacations. A big plus at Copamarina is the absence of a casino and motorized sports. There are numerous types of non-motorized water sports that can be arranged to be enjoyed at the dive shop. I personally do not dive but the resort is an important PADI base where divers go to several area sites. There are two restaurants, Las Palmas and Alexandra's. The latter was closed during those days but Las Palmas is good. The atmosphere is awesome and the menu is excellent. If you spent many days, be perpared to commute to some of the Guanica and Yauco restaurants, you may get tired of the menu. Breakfast is basically a buffet, unless there are a few folks checked in. You can opt for ordering a la carte. Copamarina feels far away and secluded, but it sits only 15 minutes away from Yauco's american style shopping centers. Las Palmas is a bit pricey but portions are good. If you order iced tea or soft drinks, be prepared to pay for refills; free ones are non existent. There is an excellent public beach adjacent to the property and try to go at least once to Gilligan's Island by boat which can be arranged at the front desk and costs $7 per person. Considering you are already there and the safety of the vessel, it is a pretty good deal. Pack a lunch if you are staying past noon at Gilligan's, a uniquely paradisical offshore island, five minutes away from Copa. Front desk staff will make every effort to makemyour stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: First level rooms are run of the house and second floor ones are upgrades. Sections 3, 4, and 5 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Copamarina March 5-12, 2012. We agree with the complimentary things said here on TA about the resort which is undergoing a million dollar plus update as I learned on Twitter @copamarina. I want to skip right to information I had a difficult time finding out about the resort so your stay can be as relaxing as ours.

Getting to Copamarina: We rented a car (highly recommemded) at the San Juan Airport. Be sure you have a GPS as you will be driving on a 7 lane freeway which is like driving around LAX at rush hour. Have one person monitor the GPS carefully because it is easy to get off on the wrong exit in San Juan. Next you will drive over the mountains on a well maintained highway through terrain like I64 and I77 through West VA, complete with those semi runoff ramps. After you cross the mountains, it becomes drier and resembles the area south of San Jose, CA. Rt. 52 was a good road. Soon you will think you are driving through dry New Mexico followed by oil refineries in Ponce. There was a lot of road construction on 52 and 2 near Ponce, but traffic kept moving. You get a mini tour of the USA going to Copamarina.

The road into Copamarina: We had no trouble finding #333 into the Copamarina. We made sure we arrived in the daylight after reading reviews here. It is twisty, but stay on your side when going around curves and cars can easily pass. White lines are painted on each side of the road. We thought this road was like driving on a country township road in Eastern Ohio. No potholes like Ohio, though! It has a very good surface. As you pass the big park, you will know you are almost there.

Checkin: Very welcoming and well trained front desk staff will greet you and answer any questions. (They have a nice booklet about the Dry Forest Reserve next door.) Don't miss the cold water with limes on a table in the open air lobby. It is very refreshing. Check if your room safe will require an actual key so you don't have to go right back to the lobby.

Laundry: There is one washer and drier which take quarters located near the spa.

Las Palmas Restaurant: This is one of the areas that has recently been completely upgraded. It is beautiful and the views while you drink at the bar or dine are fantastic! There was a large scuba training event going on when we first arrived so dress was very casual--Tshirts and shorts. There was a lovely beachfront wedding Saturday night so some guests were dressed in just a bit more resort style then. All of the fresh seafood dishes were very good. Alexandra's was closed until the weekend , but dishes from it were suggested by the gracious servers each evening. The house green salad was huge and there is enough to share. I also made a meal from the spinach and club salads. The $12 breakfast fruit plate also was a great choice to share. The scrambled eggs portion size can feed a small family. I am still adding fresh, high quality cinnamon to top my homemade oatmeal here at home. Be sure to request it. Thank you, Copa chef! Best of all is the cafe au lait made with Puerto Rico's finest Yaucono coffee. (Yaucono or Alta Grande are also provided in the rooms for the coffeemaker.) You will enjoy the sun sparkling on the water at breakfast and the sound of waves during your candlelit dinners. You can see Jupiter and Venus shining brightly overhead in the wonderful dark skies. And as another reviewer noted, don't miss the coconut Mojitos!

Groceries: The Economart in Guanica is quite the experience! You will see a huge Burger King sign as you drive on 116. Turn down the street right by the Burger King and it will take you down to Ave. 26 de Julio where you will find cars stalking the parking lot for a space. Go around the corner and park down the street by the arena. This is not just a little carryout; it is the grocery store heart of Guanica. We bought drinks, fresh fruits, and food for lunches. People at home warned us about prices in Puerto Rico, but food here in the countryside was priced similar to prices in Ohio. (Gasoline just down the street was 96 cents/liter.) The Yaucono coffee is behind sliding glass doors at the front by the checkout lanes. This coffee sells for $12 dollars for 8 oz. in gift stores in Old San Juan; it is $5 for 8 oz. or $3 for 4 oz. here at the Economart. Other guests said it was locked in cases by the checkouts in nearby Yauco. By the way, the Yauco shopping plaza is right by Rt. 2 so you can very easily find it, too!

Swimming: I was able to swim laps in the main pool. The other pool is 3ft. 6 ins. deep so you can swim the breaststroke down the center. There are great clean hottubs that are not overly hot for meeting other guests and exchanging travel tips. If you want a perfect beach for lengthy strolls, choose Eagle Beach, Aruba or Cancun. If you want peace and a laid back visit, this is the place. We snokeled off the beach and pier. The much discussed sea grass is not slimy like "seaweed" found in Ohio and Michigan. There are plenty of starfish. Children had a great time in tide pools.

Rooms: Bldg. 2 has been updated with new bedding and it looked like new tile floors. Good Wifi is included in the resort fee. We had a new large flatscreen TV with HBO and many channels. It is true that you can hear the neighbors through connecting doors. One night we think someone must have called the front desk at 10 PM, because the newly arrived neighbors tuned their happiness down as if someone had thrown a switch which made us laugh!

We do hope to return with family to the well run Copa some day. We have made a lot of people jealous with our lovely photos. I will be happy to attempt to answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beachreader7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

For those who choose to travel to the south/southwest area of P.R., definitely consider staying at the Copamarina. The resort is located in a very secluded, natural area about 35 minutes west of Ponce and is nicely situated for both a relaxing sit on the beach vacation or the more adventurous explorer types who want to check out the southwest region. The ocean is stunning with a strong caribbean features. The hotel's beach is shallow and breath taking and the hotel's grounds and pool are well kept. The resort's infrastructure is a little outdated and the rooms, overall, are not spectacular. The saving grace for the hotel is that the grounds, restaurant, and surround activities more than make up for the rooms. Customer service is good and has the best intentions. This hotel is 30 minutes from surrounds sites such as Playa Sucia, Cabo Rojo, San German, and Ponce. Overall, very good experience and would strongly consider staying here again if in the area.

Room Tip: The ocean front deluxe rooms aren't that different from the regular ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelorChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found it very relaxing and enjoyable. Room was clean and pleasant. There is grassy seaweed off the beach, but we had no trouble swimming over it or going in off the end of the dock. Adjoining the property is a public beach that has cleared the grass away, and is not much used on weekdays. The food was very good, but menu limited. Not much nearby, so if you are saying long you may get bored with the food and the only nightlife is pleasant conversation. There is calm water (it's inside good snorkeling (take the guided trip), easy kayaking to nearby island, Hobie cats to rent, nice swimming pools, and beautiful grounds to relax on - several species of palms, mahogany, etc (ask at the desk for guide to vegetation). With one minor exception, all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
102.0 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
5.4 km away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
115.8 km away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.1 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
128.5 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
102.4 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing