We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the place !”
Review of Griesalp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griesalp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiental
Reviewed 29 May 2015

The venue looks ridiculously pretentious and lavish. At the restaurant the waiter does not speak SwissGerman. The Heidelbeertorte tasted terrible...and dated back from a least one or two days before. The two goats looked nice.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank xvdgerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

My son, daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel. Over the past 6 years, I have stayed here 9 nights, including a weekend with my husband. Our previous stays have been lovely and we have always looked forward to coming back. However, this time changed our opinion of the hotel.
When we went to check in, it was evident the hotel was nearly empty. In fact, we only saw two other guests while we were there. As it was raining, we asked if we could stay in the same part of the hotel as the restaurant. The receptionist said no unless we paid to upgrade at a price of 165 Swiss francs for the two rooms (1 double and 1 single). As this seemed a bit exorbitant for an empty hotel, we declined. We were led to the more dormitory like building where the room I shared with my daughter was so small there was no space for two suitcases and two backpacks with our hiking boots and poles. The double bed was pushed very close to the wall so that when getting into bed the person on that side had to scrape against a rough textured wall. The bathroom had no place for toiletries either near the sink or in the tiny shower. It was very cramped. It was definitely a two star, budget accommodation.

As regular visitors to this hotel, we were very disappointed. One would expect that with the hotel almost empty, it would seem reasonable to reward our fidelity.

Room Tip: If your budget only permits for the low priced rooms, opt for one of the other hotels in Kiental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happymountainhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent 2 nights here and loved every minute of it. Herr Schweitzer, the 'boss' , fetched us in a snowmobile and personally prepared us a 4 course meal which was simply outstanding...truffle salad starter, potato saffron 'macchiato' and celery soup duo with blue fin tuna sashimi , main course of entrecôte wrapped in bacon with cumin carrots and potato wedges and finally a raspberry sorbet with vieille prune liqueur served with chocolate brownie and a layered raspberry cheesecake. All paired with great wines.....A morning snow shoe walk was followed by a soak in the outdoor hot tub surrounded by majestic snow mountain views. Finally, sledging back down to the car park the next day completed our fun filled couple of days.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank JHerlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We enjoyed a really relaxing stay at Griesalp. We loved the design of the rooms at Grandhotel Griesalp and the food on the terrace - try the Heidelbeerrisotto! Remarkable is the wooden furniture, the Grand Hotel is filled with antiquitees. Check out as well the lobby / bar area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Well, we had a voucher to spend with TUI, that's how we ended up here. Location was perfect for our romantic getaway, and we loved the choice of hiking routes. The room we had in one of the smaller buildings was just plain gorgeous. I felt like taking some of the furniture home. Things started to get weird when we, like good hotel guests, promptly showed up for dinner. Portions were so tiny, my hubby had to order a full second round (and stick ended up munching some biscuits back in the room). After 2 such dinners, we were sneaking off to neighboring chalet hotels for some nice honest Alpenmakaroni. But what bugged me about this place the most was the fact that the guy who runs the place was really chatty and nice, offered us some hand picked herb tea, and some cream for my hubby's knee -- and the morning we were checking out he was nowhere to be found, and we saw that all these little things he kept offering us showed up as hilariously high extra charges on the bill!!! I'd never felt so cheated in my whole life!

That said, the place it's just beautiful. If go back but for the pretentious prices and management style. They've decided to turn the place into a spa resort, but frankly, I can't really see anyone going there for that reason. It's in the middle of nowhere, with no phone coverage or internet, in a real hikers' paradise. I wish they'd left it the hikers' hotel it is, this new venture off theirs is half baked, they don't have the facilities, nor the guests. All they have to show for it is their scary prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fl0werstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This combination of three hotels into one totally dominates the village. In itself it's OK, but sadly Griesalp now feels more like a resort than a village as a result. Service variable, restaurant OK but nothing special, superior room in what used to be Berghaus Griesalp very nicely renovated with a cowhide and leather theme.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinpique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

It was our second time at Griesalp. We asked for a family room, but were shown two adjacent rooms for lack of any 4-bed rooms. The price quoted was 420 CHF for the night. The rooms were large and comfortable, but tasteless. There were little knick-knacks dangling around and lots of cheap-looking golden objects. So the rate (210 CHF per room) seemed pricey, but reasonable compared to similar hotels in the Swiss mountains. Use of the hot-tub was included. Dinner was good, but scanty, ostentatious and over-priced. The water in the hot-tub was not particularly clean.

The following morning, we were told that the price quoted was not for two rooms, but for one! So 840 CHF in total. This was a total shock, but the most shocking thing was that the manager did not bother to show up to settle this issue with us.

Not a place that I would recommend to anyone! In spite of its glorious location ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank green_epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiental
5.3 km away
Baeren Hotel
Baeren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kiental
24 reviews
8.8 km away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
8.3 km away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Waldrand
Hotel Waldrand
#2 of 4 in Kiental
18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Griesalp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griesalp Hotel

Address: Griesalp 5, Kiental 3723, Switzerland (Formerly Griesalp Hotelzentrum)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kiental
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiental
Price Range: $189 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Griesalp Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 2 m above sea level, Griesalp Hotels enjoys a quiet location at the foot of the Blüemlisalp. It offers a breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi in public areas. All rooms provide a private bathroom, satellite TV and a hairdryer. Some also have a balcony, boasting views of the surrounding Swiss Alps. The Kiental-Griesalp area is an excellent hiking and climbing region. Numerous cross-country skiing trails are close to the Griesalp Hotels. The Griesalp is suitable for both high alpine hiking tours as well as easy snow shoe hiking. Parking is free of charge. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Kiental! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. Couples particularly like the location — they rated it 8.9 for a two-person trip. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Griesalp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing