We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
92
140
96
58
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
140
96
58
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool saint benoit self catering local village out of season la grasse beautiful location resort spa house vineyards corbieres boulangerie wine farm wc sunbathing
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 413 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

On the pictures shown Jardins de Saint Benoit looks like a great place with ample facilities, DO NOT BE FOOLED. On arrival after a long early morning journey, we were told that due to them holding a conference there was no restaraunt facility for other guests and that we would need to find alternative arrangements for the duration of our stay. The bar was constantly deserted and it was almost impossible to find a member of staff to serve drinks. It was not a very welcoming atmosphere in general. The sports facilities are too far away to be usable and as per most things on site not maintained, there was no evidence of ping pong, paddling pool, playground, farm or mini market. The receptionist that we dealt with was vey pleasant and the complex had some very nice parts to it but the whole experience leaves you with a bitter taste. I am just glad that we were only there for three days but I did feel sorry for some of the families that had booked to stay longer as most people would have chosen this location based on the facilities that they claimed to be on offer that were simply not available.
Bungalows were well equipped and nicely decorated but as stated by others air conditioning not usable as it was too noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

For balance, the setting of Le Jardins de Saint-Benoit is exceptional. Nestled in the Corbieres region, next to a lovely little village it could be so good. However, those that run the hotel have absolutely no respect for paying guests. A lot of reviews focus on the odd bit of mess, or residue on the pool. These things don't really affect a holiday, what affects a holiday is when half of the services aren't available.

We arrived and checked in, the house was great, staff polite and we began to make plans for the week. We were then told due a conference booking the restaurant would be closed all week for lunch and dinner.

Given the remote location of the resort this means you either have to drive every day or self cater. Self catering is fine if that is what you have signed up for, but we chose Benoit because of the food offering. If you go to its website it will talk about themed evenings, local produce. All gone. All week. For all of our stay.

Then the conference arrived and were given all of the above, every night as we trudged past reception to our room we had to pass conference delgates enjoying all the things we had also paid for, all the services that attracted us to the resort.

I have never felt so discriminated against.

As a result of the conference the healthy kids club was also cancelled, although the outdoor active kids club actually takes place in one of the houses and involves crafts and not much outdoor activity.

We could not even use the bar as all the tables and chairs had been taken for use by, the conference.

I asked for a meeting with the manager and he never responded. I have tried complaining to Pop Inns and their emails continue to bounce back.

A lot of trip advisor reviews need to be taken with a pinch of salt, some people are more fussy than others. Take it from me DO NOT BOOK THIS RESORT

- NO RESTAURANT
- NO OUTDOOR BAR
- NO KIDS CLUB

THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT PAYING GUESTS

Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We had a super holiday in one of the large 4 bedroomed houses with private pool. We loved swimming in the local river, walking to buy freshly baked croissants in the morning in the local village Boulangerie and visiting local vineyards. The wifi in the area is very weak, so don't depend on it. There are only french TV channels, so bring books & games. The maintenance staff are very efficient & fixed some minor issues with the house when we arrived. It's a great place for families with younger children as there is a large pool and organised activities. We are a family with adult children, so we enjoyed sunbathing, driving to beaches & wine tastings.

Room Tip: A house with it's own pool.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benharessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

180 little villas/houses could be seen as too much, but the setup is actually very nice... the setting around the pool even spectacular with the views on the Corbière countryside.
And the breakfast is great, too!
But the place needs maintenance! And badly! The pool floor is dirty, the sun umbrellas are so shaky (if not broken) that the slightest breeze puts them out of service. No shade on a hot day with kids that just doesn't work. In the house, the sink in the bath room was broken, the knifes in the kitchen don't cut anything and the long chairs at the pool were also to be used in a lie flat position. I could go on, but I would simply like to tell the owners to step up their game if the want this place to be what it could be. Right now it's disappointing!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank aviatortls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2017

We traveled here in August 2014 with our company, Young Living. This was an overnight stop and we wished we had been able to stay longer! The "houses" were beautiful and spacious. I could see us visiting here for a few weeks and feeling like it was a little "village" community. The pool was breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews